We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to start our trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Rosa de America

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Rosa de America to your Saves list
Hotel La Rosa de America
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great way to start our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We arrived at this hotel from the airport via the shuttle they arranged for us and we were really tired so it was great to not have to hunt down a car rental. The trip took about 15 minutes and what a lovely place to arrive at! The gardens are really lovely and the artwork on the outside of the buildings is a nice added touch. The staff were really friendly, let us check in much earlier than most places allow, and asked us if there was anything we needed - so nice of them. We really appreciated the extra service.
Our room was very clean, not huge but had everything we needed. The bed looked brand new and was really comfortable. We had a nap in the afternoon and it was very nice and quiet. We stayed for dinner and I had a really tasty Costa Rican dish called a chifrijo which was very filling, and my husband tried the ravioli which was excellent.
The next morning we had a great buffet breakfast and then our rental car was delivered right to the hotel. Thanks to the staff for arranging that for us!
We would definitely come back to this hotel. It is perfect for people like us who like smaller, friendlier hotels - we are not fans of impersonal bigger hotels.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your review! I note that you are from Victoria! A beautiful city... I have lived there for many years myself!
It is very important to us that we attract guests who enjoy the smaller hotel experience and we are glad that we were able to achieve your expectations both in the hotel and the restaurant as well!!
No problem with the early check in! If we can do it, space permitting then we are happy to help!
We hope that you enjoyed your entire trip to Costa Rica and that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    135
    42
    9
    3
See reviews for
146
200
46
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed here on our last night in Costa Rica and we were expecting MUCH more, based on all the good reviews on Trip Advisor.
First, picture dark and dingy motel rooms the size of a college dorm. Then picture the fact that our "superior" room (Room #4) smelled like a dirty ash tray---the stale cigarette smell immediately ruined the experience for me the moment we checked in! The cleaning staff must know about the smell because the other smell in the room was that of heavy cleaner which I imagine was used to try to mask the cigarette smell. There were also small black spots all over the floor that, upon closer inspection, appeared to be multiple chips in the tile floor. However, at first glance it just looked like grime and dirt. Again, NOT a good first impression.

I opened the window in our bathroom to try and freshen our room up but that was a mistake---the back wall must be where people go to smoke because we continued to get wafts of cigarette smoke into our room. We tried to open the window by our bedroom but the same thing happened. SO GROSS.

We checked in around 8:30 p.m. after our drive from Dominical. Despite our directions being fairly simple, the hotel is not well marked on the main road and we drove up and down trying to locate it. We decided to eat at the hotel restaurant, mainly because we didn't feel like driving anywhere. What we should have done is walk down to the little soda right outside the entrance to the hotel because the hotel food was terrible! Definitely our worst meal in Costa Rica. I got a chicken cosado (because how can one mess that up in Costa Rica)--but they did! It was mostly inedible---nothing tasted fresh and the chicken was very salty---the vegetables were very salty too and everything tasted very "processed"--not fresh like all of our other meals on our trip. My husband's meal was the same. He got another chicken dish and it was very salty and processed. He also ordered a mojito that he could barely choke down---it was basically heavy syrup and ice with some sort of herb (not mint).

Because my dinner was so terrible I did not even go to breakfast in the morning. My husband did and said it was ok---said the banana bread was very good but nothing else served was memorable.
Then we took showers. THAT was an experience. My water went from scalding hot to icy cold multiple times without me even touching the handle. The water pressure also varied from barely there to normal water pressure. The water pressure was not as big of a deal as the temperature fluctuation---that is totally unacceptable.

We spent the next day by the pool before heading out to the airport. The pool water too cold to enjoy, but again, not a big deal as I do not expect pools to have heaters in Costa Rica. But once I saw how dirty the pool tiles were I would not have gotten in the water anyways--they really need to be scrubbed! They were dingy and gross and continued with the overall theme of dirtiness in this hotel.

On a positive note, all of the staff we interacted with---the man at check-in, our waiter, the night guard, and several cleaning staff--were all very friendly and welcoming. Unfortunately their friendliness did not overcome the overall run down appearance and dirtiness of the property. I would definitely never stay here again and would not recommend anyone to stay here. This was the 4th hotel/B &B we stayed at on our 11 day trip and it was by far the worst (and most expensive!).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
We have reviewed your comments and are quite horrified at your experience. Did you let anyone know while you were at the hotel? You are the second person to raise concern about smoke at the hotel in as many weeks. This has never happened in the past so we will be looking into why. For an unknown reason, we have had a significantly higher number of smokers recently.
Please understand that it is absolutely against hotel policy and in fact Costa Rican law to smoke in rooms. Behind cabin 4 there are nothing except air conditioners - certainly no where to smoke. There has been a lot of cane sugar burning throughout Costa Rica - something that should be illegal and I wonder if this is what you were smelling from the outside? Regardless, we will start informing guests directly that under no conditions is smoking allowed in the rooms.
We appreciate your description of the meal issues. Our dishes are not meant to be heavily salted. In fact we are quite against the policy of over salting food to try to increase flavour unnaturally. Absolutely all our fruits and vegetables are brought in fresh from the market daily as is most of our meat used so I am not certain why you felt things to be processed. We will ensure that the kitchen staff read the comments and try to identify what happened. This is not normal for the hotel.
With respect to the mojito, again, we are not certain as to the issue as we use no syrup, the herb is cut two minutes prior from a mint plant we have on the property, and the drink is mixed as a Costa Rican mojito - different from a Cuban mojito. However, as we certainly recognize that mistakes can happen, we will also forward your concern to the server who prepared this for you.
We will continue to look at the issue you had with hot water in your room. We have found an electrical fault in the wiring to your cabin and we will be replacing the affected parts shortly. We sincerely apologize for this and we appreciate that you brought it to our attention so that it can be fixed for future guests.
We are in the process of replacing all the pool furniture at the hotel with handmade teak furniture. We feel that this will greatly enhance guest experience at the pool. The actual temperature of the pool is a very subjective one and is maintained by the ambient temperature of the air - approximately 25 degrees. Normally, guests find both pool and location very refreshing after coming from the coast as the entire Central Valley of Costa Rica is over 1,000 metres in elevation. Due to limited electrical generation capacity in Costa Rica and the fact that Hotel La Rosa is a green hotel, we do not feel it appropriate to apply pool heaters.
We are very saddened that you did not enjoy your stay with us. It seems like your stay started wrong with the smell of smoke - which for us is very inappropriate and disrespectful of other guests to cause, and then continued with a chain reaction of other issues. It is unfortunate that you did not attempt to contact our very service oriented staff at the front desk to seek a solution. Please know that your concerns are being looked into.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Our room, room 12, was not as shown on the website of the hotel.
We were given a room at the back of the hotel. This entailed us on arrival, after 11pm on our first night, walking in the dark on a very narrow and slippery path. Having had long, International flights delayed due to ice and snow when we transitted through Newark Airport we were really disappointed next morning to see that this was not a normal room of the hotel. It was past the outside toilets, the back of reception and the restaurant. We had no area to sit on and we faced a concrete storage building and a water storage tank that repeatedly kept refilling day and night whilst we were there. On expressing our dismay to the receptionist in the morning we were told that they were full but they might be able to change our room but were unable to say if this was definite and when they would be able to do it. As we did not want to spend the whole day waiting to see if this would happen we had no choice but to keep the room for our second night.
We have since heard from the manager of the hotel, although our concern was not passed up to management at the time, who expressed regrets that the standard of the outside area of the cabin was not up to the standard of the other areas of the hotel.The hotel has obviously tried hard to improve this area but they were not in place whilst we were there.
However, even with the improvements there is little that can be done to hide the fact that it is the only room at the very back of the hotel away from all the other cabins and without a view of the open and really lovely main garden of the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid room 12. The location is right at the back of the hotel away from the main areas of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
We received your written complaint, and indication to a third party agency that if you did not receive satisfaction, you would write to online agencies indicating your displeasure.
Regardless of this indication, we authorized a 50% refund to you, (your first night free) and two lengthy apologies, both directly and also via the agency from whom you booked. This was followed up immediately with photos showing the dramatic improvement in the cabin 12 area indicating the seriousness with which we have responded to the issues you have raised.
This service and refund was given in the desire to provide satisfaction and extremely fair value for a guest who felt the hotel had not met her expectations, not because of the guest's indication to write negative online reviews if satisfaction was not met. With our lengthy apology and refund was satisfaction not met?
We agree that the state of the garden outside your cabin, combined with the view of the storage shed and water cistern was not up to the standard of our other cabins. The cabin itself however has been modernized and is in many respects better than other cabins inside.
The cabin you indicate is indeed on the reverse side of the property, and we regret that you felt that this was somehow a sleight against you. This was most definitely not the intention nor case. At La Rosa, our primary garden design is to provide small individual gardens to the majority of the rooms, and a large central garden for the enjoyment of all. As indicated in our letter to you, we failed to provide this personal garden to you due to a variety of reasons which is why we felt it appropriate to provide a genuine, detailed apology and compensation as well. Also, as indicated, this failing has been rectified for future guests, and we forwarded photo evidence of this to you, showing the new garden, pathway addition, restaurant patio expansion, cabin 12 private patio, with new deck chairs, beautiful artwork designed to hide the storage area, and the indication of future improvements coming to this cabin and all the remaining standard cabins.
The feeling of being on the opposite side of the hotel is a personal one and we get many guests very appreciative of the privacy and tranquility of being in a room away from any potentially noisy guests. Sadly for us, it is very hard to tell what a guest will likely want prior to booking. Your experience suggests to us that we need to consider a better marketing plan for this room so as to attract people most suited to what the room offers - which is privacy.
Again, we do apologize for the lack of garden and physical improvements in the path and porch areas. We do thank you for recognizing these changes have been made in your comments. Unfortunately, your stay coincided with the beginning of our re-make of the area, and in the midst of the most prolonged drought we have experienced in the La Garita area.
We do appreciate your recognition of the overall garden quality of Hotel La Rosa, and your note indicating your awareness of the improvements to your cabin, however we can not dismiss the feeling that this forum was used manipulatively to guarantee satisfaction and for very personal feelings that are not necessarily representative of the general public.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This was a very pleasant place to stay for one night on my way elsewhere in Costa Rica-- the staff were very helpful, the restaurant had a lot of fruit for breakfast. My two gripes were that we were quoted an incorrect price for the taxi pick up and the pillows were as flat as can be--not a very restful night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

we stopped in at Rosa de America for one night after our flight from the States. this hotel had arranged our taxi service, $15 and a half hour at rush hour, less then 15 minutes the next morning. they had an agent at the airport for us.
having arrived the dark we ate at the hotel restaurant. the food was fresh and well prepared. There are two local places nearby in quick walking distance.
The staff here was friendly and accommodating.
My only gripe was that the night we were there there were a large number of guests who smoked. I opened the windows for some of the lovely garden air and got a room full of smoke from next door. Perhaps there could be a smoking section of the hotel. there is a/ c, so you can close the windows and keep the fumes out, but coming from the frozen north, I really wanted the outside air.
the rooms here are basic, have all you need, nice clean pool and lovely gardens. a great transition from home to CR to start or end your trip close to the airport without being in a big chain hotel.
breakfast was fresh and yummy, typical CR spread of eggs fruit, cheese, gallo pinto, of course good coffee.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
We place great emphasis on the quality of our service and our garden presentation as we feel that this provides for a stress free entry and exit to Costa Rica. We regret that you had people smoking nearby and who were not polite enough to consider the path of their smoke. It is actually quite rare that we have smokers at the hotel and if there is ever a problem like this again, please let us know and we can help resolve the situation. However, under Costa Rican law it is legal to smoke outside of the rooms. For this reason, along with noise dampening, is the primary reason for the installation of air conditioners and new windows. Ironically, except for March and April, the climate is such that air conditioning is not actually necessary for room cooling!
We are glad that you found all the hotel services to be excellent and that you enjoyed our restaurant as well!
I hope your trip to Costa Rica was relaxing and enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My husband, 11 month old, and I stayed for one night at this hotel after arriving in CR. I appreciated the ease of getting to the hotel as they offered a shuttle service which picked us up from the airport ($20) at 8pm. There is a restaurant on site which had dinner options, though we chose to dine at a little restaurant within walking distance nearby which was a little less expensive and served good, local food. Within walking distance there was also a convenience store and bank, which we found useful, though I would not consider the location to have much else to offer. In the morning they offered breakfast (fruit, eggs, cereal, cheese, coffee) included in cost of stay. The hotel was kind to also offer a playard/crib for my daughter to sleep in without my having to make the request, which was thoughtful. The room itself was fine, nothing fancy if not a bit worn with a large closet, two beds, a ceiling fan and separate bathroom. The premises has a pool, which my husband and daughter enjoyed, as well as a pleasant garden. We didn't have to worry about mosquitos, which was also a plus. Overall, I would consider this an average place to stay at the beginning or end of your trip if you are looking for a budget hotel that offers easy transportation to/from the airport and is family friendly. If you are looking for luxury accommodations this is probably not it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for your review and the detailed list of what you found correct and enjoyable at our hotel. We are actually somewhat confused however as to the last sentence regarding us not being a luxury hotel. Certainly we hope that this was not the perception when you booked with us. We take great care in our marketing and room pricing so as to ensure guest expectations are in line with what is received. We consider ourselves, and are rated as a mid level 3 star hotel. We do attempt to provide 5 star service and gardens - both of which you comment on in your dialogue if not in the radio bubble rating. We appreciate your comments on our services.
Our rooms are smaller than what a luxury hotel would likely provide which is why our pricing is maintained accordingly for a three star hotel despite our gardens, location and service quality. We are continuing with our room upgrades for our standard rooms now that our expansion is completed for 2014. You rented a standard room and have accurately described it in your comments. We are currently in negotiations to improve our remaining standard rooms, add air conditioning, etc but we also want to try to maintain current price levels for our guests.
We hope that you can come back to Costa Rica soon and come stay with us again! This way you can see the improvements that are coming for the room you stayed in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Rosa de America is the nicest place you can find in Alajuela !
You will be able to sleep, relax, and enjoy Costa Rica !
Rooms are very nice, clean and comfortable !
All members of the staff are willing to help you and make you have the best time possible !
Enjoy their delicious breakfast in the morning... for FREE !


I recommend Rosa de America !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you for your review of La Rosa and for your very positive comments concerning our breakfast and overall service! Our primary business is to provide great sleeps for guests and we are very happy to see that we succeeded!
Please return soon - Alajuela is close by! When you come back, ask about our newest cabinas. I think you will really like them!
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
4.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 608 reviews
5.0 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#2 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 295 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#6 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
1.8 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#4 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#10 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Rosa de America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rosa de America

Address: 100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rosa de America 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rosa de America is a friendly and peaceful garden oasis conveniently near the San Jose Costa Rica Airport (SJO). With our emphasis on service, we are the vacation home base of choice for many guests visiting Costa Rica. Our staff have a wealth of information about the country and are happy to share that knowledge! The hotel is located on a gorgeous and carefully maintained property, in the sunniest part of the Central Valley - La Garita. We offer a selection of great accommodation options in rooms located around a large carefully maintained tropical garden and sparkling clean swimming pool. Rooms come in Superior and Standard types with Superior rooms having air conditioning, flat screen TV's, bar fridges and more! La Rosa is is ideally suited to guests arriving from a tiring flight and wanting time to adjust to the country in safe, friendly and beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel La Rosa de America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa De America Hotel
Hotel La Rosa De America Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Rosa de America, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.