We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous little getaway from the cities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Rosa de America

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Rosa de America to your Saves list
Hotel La Rosa de America
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% High Season Discount!
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous little getaway from the cities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed here just one night as it was a 15 minute drive from the airport. The grounds are lush and gorgeous and the cabins are cozy and very clean. There are even individual AC units in the rooms, and a fridge. The staff are bilingual, incredibly nice, and accommodating, and there is a restaurant on site with good food, reasonable prices, and a good wine selection. We had an early morning cab, before reception opened, but the staff left a pack breakfast right by our door for us to wake up to! Very charming and relaxing, and still conveniently located to the airport, I will stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We are always very happy to receive such positive reviews from Costa Rica locals! There are so many choices of accommodation and we recognize that we have high expectations to live up to! Our staff speak fluent Spanish and English and a little French as well.... though the French is very rusty.
We are glad you found our new Restaurante La Rosa to be of good value. This is very important to us as it is a new venture for us, for the first time offering a full a la carte menu in a relaxed but refined atmosphere with fair prices. At least that is the objective!! Postive comments such as yours help us greatly in maintaining our confidence that we are on the correct path to delivering value and customer satisfaction!
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    124
    36
    9
    3
See reviews for
127
179
43
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
edina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This was a perfect spot to recover from the flight to San Jose - beautiful suite for my family which overlooks their pretty garden full of flowers and birds and a lovely pool for swimming. There are a couple of restaurants 2-5 mins walk from the hotel. Our room was clean, quiet and peaceful and my 5 and 1 year old children were very happy. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review of Hotel La Rosa! We appreciate your feedback.
We have recently improved our services here with the addition of Restaurante La Rosa, a full service a la carte restaurant for supper, specializing in Italian, Tipico (local) and a small number of French dishes. So far it has been very popular and we hope it will be a positive experience for all guests during our high season!
We appreciate you taking the time to write your review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This was ouir first stop in Costa Rica after a long journey. Less than half an hour from the airport,
we relaxed as soon as we entered the gated property and saw the beautifully maintained gardens. We loved the individual casitas ( beautifully clean), the staff were so friendly and helpful and we loved the pool. In fact,we were so impressed, we stayed two nights and then booked it again for our return trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Cleanliness is so important to any business but especially a hotel. Thank you for letting us know that our cleaning staff and garden staff are doing their jobs to such a high standard!
For us, the most positive indication of success is when guests return to stay with us due to their experiences at La Rosa. We appreciate your repeat business with us and we hope to see you again in the future should you return to Costa Rica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Nice place, much better than the chain hotels that are so common near the airport. My flight got in late and my friend had to check in even though the reservation was under my name. They were very helpful and flexible in working with us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Hello Rone from Alaska! Thank you for the five star review! We appreciate you taking the time to provide such positive feedback.
We are firm believers that there are way to many "NO we can't" answers in the World today - sadly it seems to be the first response given to most situations. As a smaller hotel, we can specialize in service and providing solutions as well as provide a different flavour and character not present in the chain hotels. We very much appreciate you noticing and letting us know that we are doing a good job achieving this!
We hope your flight back to the North was comfortable. I used to live in the Canadian Arctic for a number of years! Very different to Costa Rica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We arrived to San Jose 7 hours late, but stayed in touch with staff by email as we got diverted to Panama City. We were nervous driving there by rentacar late at nite, given the notorious lack of street signs in Costa Rica, but the directions they sent us worked, The night security guard let us in through the locked gate to a garden oasis, showed us our room, and then offered to bring us two beers! Much appreciated after a very long stressful day. Pleasant breakfast included, and helpful staff gave us directions to the bank and a nearby pharmacy. It is in a residential area, so not easy to find, but a great intro to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Arriving so late, as you did due to flight complications is never pleasant. If we were able to make your arrival into Costa Rica any easier by our service then please accept our thanks for letting us know!
We are very glad that the hotel signs and directions were clear for you. It is a large challenge to provide effective directions to guests in a country that has very few named roads and virtually no postal addresses!!
We do provide detailed directions for guests on our website - specifically the Hotel La Rosa website, both under the Location Tab at the top and again on the actual Reservation page. These directions are printable on on page for the convenience of our guests.
We hope that the remainder of your trip went smoothly and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

What a wonderful experience this past week with a three day stay at Hotel La Rosa de America in Alajuela, Costa Rica! This hotel is very close to the San Jose airport and is a breath of fresh air for any traveler. This is not your "big box" hotel and a refreshing change of pace.

This hotel has individual casitas' that are spotlessly clean and very inviting. As soon as you enter the impeccable gardens and follow the path to Reception, you know you are somewhere special. The gardens are impressive, well maintained and extremely inviting. From the moment of your first encounter with the staff, you know immediately that they live and breathe hospitality. Everyone I met was extremely warm and friendly – going out of their way to say hello and inquire if I needed anything. Well trained and extremely friendly - what else could you ask.

The hotel is buffered from traffic noise (by the garden and border vegetation) and wraps you up like a warm blanket. Breakfast items (fruit, cereals, cheese, coffee, etc,) are complimentary – and if you are looking for a more traditional fare, this is available as well at an extremely reasonable price. This hotel is an excellent value and is now my first choice in Costa Rica - even at twice the price. A real gem and well worth the visit. I will return very soon……….

Room Tip: There is air conditioning available, but I would suggest opening the windows, turn on the ceiling fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
With all the new "big box" hotels being built around the already crowded airport, thank you for recognizing that we are different! We appreciate your comments about our hotel, service, gardens and rooms. We are also happy that you were able to sample our new breakfast a la carte options and found them to be of good value.
Definitely you are welcome to return! I enjoyed talking about Costa Rica, and other various aspects of living here with you.
Just let us know when you are returning and we will make a booking for you!
Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed at the La Rosa de america for two nights prior to my trip across Costa Rica and it was a joy to return for the last night of the trip.
The Manager Grisska was an absolute joy to meet and so very helpful and informative.
The hotel has small cosy individual lodges that are spotless and clean.
The pool though cool is spotless and the gardens very impressive.
I met the owner Robert on my last morning and his advise for the airport was invaluable and a charming guy.
Would go back and stay there tomorrow if not for the fact my work has to pay for the next trip.
Enyoy.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fab !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
As a very service oriented hotel, we appreciate it when guests tell us that we are doing a good job! As Owner, I will personally ensure that my Manager is aware of your comments and that the cleaning staff are aware as well. Our team here maintains a strong interest in guest feedback and they are truly interested in delivering a quality product.
If memory serves, you are a pilot! You just need to convince your work that you need to borrow a plane - there is only a small pond between Costa Rica and England!!!
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. We hope to host you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Rosa de America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rosa de America

Address: 100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rosa de America 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rosa de America is a friendly and peaceful garden oasis conveniently near the San Jose Costa Rica Airport (SJO). With our emphasis on service, we are the vacation home base of choice for many guests visiting Costa Rica. Our staff have a wealth of information about the country and are happy to share that knowledge! The hotel is located on a gorgeous and carefully maintained property, in the sunniest part of the Central Valley - La Garita. We offer a selection of great accommodation options in rooms located around a large carefully maintained tropical garden and sparkling clean swimming pool. Rooms come in Superior and Standard types with Superior rooms having air conditioning, flat screen TV's, bar fridges and more! La Rosa is is ideally suited to guests arriving from a tiring flight and wanting time to adjust to the country in safe, friendly and beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Rosa de America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa De America Hotel
Hotel La Rosa De America Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Rosa de America, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.