We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful secluded hotel- fabulous staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Rosa de America

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Rosa de America to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Rosa de America
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful secluded hotel- fabulous staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed at the La Rosa de america for two nights prior to my trip across Costa Rica and it was a joy to return for the last night of the trip.
The Manager Grisska was an absolute joy to meet and so very helpful and informative.
The hotel has small cosy individual lodges that are spotless and clean.
The pool though cool is spotless and the gardens very impressive.
I met the owner Robert on my last morning and his advise for the airport was invaluable and a charming guy.
Would go back and stay there tomorrow if not for the fact my work has to pay for the next trip.
Enyoy.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fab !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
As a very service oriented hotel, we appreciate it when guests tell us that we are doing a good job! As Owner, I will personally ensure that my Manager is aware of your comments and that the cleaning staff are aware as well. Our team here maintains a strong interest in guest feedback and they are truly interested in delivering a quality product.
If memory serves, you are a pilot! You just need to convince your work that you need to borrow a plane - there is only a small pond between Costa Rica and England!!!
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. We hope to host you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    112
    33
    8
    2
See reviews for
118
161
41
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at Hotel La Rosa de America for three nights at the end of our trip. It is a very clean and comfortable hotel located just far enough off the main road to escape traffic noises. The included breakfast was "continental" style but provided a tasty start to the day. There is a very good soda (small cafe) just down the street. Overall, a great value!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review of La Rosa! We are very happy to have been able to meet all your expectations for a great stay! We have made some changes to the hotel since you stayed with us - designed to serve guests more completely. Our breakfast now has additional side and complete meals that can be purchased direct from the kitchen for a reasonable cost. We have also proudly opened Restaurante La Rosa for supper and we now offer supper dishes, specializing in Italian, Tipico (local) and some French options as well!
Again thank you for your review. We hope to see you again at La Rosa soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Arriving late in Costa Rica I had the option of staying at an airport hotel but preferred heading further out and chose La Rosa for it’s peaceful looking, picturesque gardens. I was given a warm welcome, shown to a clean room, and awoke to a blue sky and chorus of bird song. The breakfast of fresh fruit, bread and cereals was basic but set me up for the day nicely. All in all, La Rosa provided a perfect start to my travels (I didn’t use the pool but it looked very inviting!).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you itchy feet for you review!! We appreciate the risk guests take in selecting a smaller, more personalized hotel over the big box hotels located at virtually every major airport in the World. We are glad that we were able to meet your expectations and that you were happy in your decision to stay with us!
It was our pleasure to host you this green season!
Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed one night before departing C.R. and picked La Rosa on a recommendation of a friend. Nice pool to relax and quiet area. Local sport bar within walking distance with great local food as well. Nothing about Hotel La Rosa de America to complain about, will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We appreciate you staying with us based on a friend's recommendation! This type of word of mouth referral is very important to our business!
We now have our own Restaurante La Rosa open for business so there is no need to have to leave for supper now!
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here simply to be close to the airport for one night. The rooms are small but clean and a for a fair price.
Breakfast is free but we left to the airport before it was served so they made a to-go bag for us which they hand delivered at 4am which was very kind. They arranged for a large taxi to pick us up. I believe it cost $15.00 maybe less to get to the airport.
There is a beautiful garden and a pool. And a few soda's and restaurants walking distance from the hotel. They also have a spa which I was going to go to buy didn't have time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to write a review and for recognizing our fair value as an airport hotel. This is extremely important to us as we want to ensure that we are providing an excellent overall experience for the cost to the traveler.
Normally we have a Restaurant open at the hotel however for the very quiet months of Sept and Oct we have temporarily closed it. It will reopen in November - new and improved! We hope that this did not inconvenience you significantly. As you indicated there is a good "soda" just down the street.
When you return to Costa Rica, you will have to try Spa La Rosa at that time! Our relaxation massages are especially good for un-kinking those travel knots!
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri, Usa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is comfortable, quiet and reasonably priced. It is close to the airport but on the Pacific side of the airport so you do not have to deal with the traffic that complicates getting to hotels on the San Jose of the airport. There is a a typical Costa Rican bar restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your very positive review of La Rosa! You have actually indicated exactly my reasons, many years ago for choosing La Rosa as my entry and exit hotel of choice when I was a business traveler to this beautiful country! The ease of "escaping" to the entire Pacific or North of the country was a large plus as well!
We are glad that you found our pricing to be competitive and very reasonable. Costa Rica is becoming so expensive that it is getting very tough to maintain low prices.
I hope you had a great trip to this country and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This attractive property was clean, comfortable, and well-run. Anyone looking for a first-or last-place to stay on their way in or out of CR might consider this, but should be aware of several things about the property: it is NOT near the airport and a taxi EACH way will set you back about $15, thus adding up to $30 to your night's lodging. The breakfast was unimpressive, considering the price, and was essentially Continental style, with fresh fruit, coffee, cold bread, jam and butter, and the usual cereals. For the price one would expect gallo pinto (rice and beans), eggs, toast, etc.
On the plus side, it was very quiet and peaceful at night, and any hotel in or near Alajuela will NOT be-cars, trucks, and the maldito motos roaring most of the night, televisions and stereos blaring, etc. . All in all a pleasant experience if one wishes peace and quiet, and the airport is less than 15 minutes away. Staff were competent, with good English skills.

Room Tip: All rooms should suit one, but do stay away from the gate on the street, as there may be traffic dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your review and your positive comments about the state of the hotel and the capabilities of the hotel staff!
Location is a very subjective thing - especially in tourism. For physical preciseness, we are 7 km from the airport main terminal. This translates into about a 15 min drive or if you require a transfer, La Rosa is happy to organize a Private Transfer for $15 - payable to the independent driver. As a hotel we do not charge for this service.
You are correct in your analysis of the "risks" associated with sleeping closer to the SJO Airport. Unless one is willing to pay double and stay in a hotel box chain, sleeping anywhere near the airport will result in varying levels of noise, pollution and crime. Without a doubt, all these negative features will be significantly higher then you would experience at La Rosa.

I am confused regarding breakfast. There is no charge for the Tropical Style breakfast. It is free for all paying guests and only $5 for non-paying visitors. We do offer an A La Carte menu as well, where everything from omlettes and American style breakfasts to Gallo Pinto or Huevos Rancheros can be purchased for a very competitive price.
Thank you for the review. We appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Rosa de America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rosa de America

Address: 100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rosa de America 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rosa de America is a friendly and peaceful garden oasis conveniently near the San Jose Costa Rica Airport (SJO). With our emphasis on service, we are the vacation home base of choice for many guests visiting Costa Rica. Our staff have a wealth of information about the country and are happy to share that knowledge! The hotel is located on a gorgeous and carefully maintained property, in the sunniest part of the Central Valley - La Garita. We offer a selection of great accommodation options in rooms located around a large carefully maintained tropical garden and sparkling clean swimming pool. Rooms come in Superior and Standard types with Superior rooms having air conditioning, flat screen TV's, bar fridges and more! La Rosa is is ideally suited to guests arriving from a tiring flight and wanting time to adjust to the country in safe, friendly and beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel La Rosa de America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa De America Hotel
Hotel La Rosa De America Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Rosa de America, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.