We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Rosa de America

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Rosa de America to your Saves list
Hotel La Rosa de America
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at Hotel La Rosa de America and we were very pleased! The hotel had nice rooms, a very impressive restaurant, and a pretty decent pool. The staff was extremely helpful by giving us specific details to get through the San Jose airport and helped us plan one of our day long excursions. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone passing through this area of Costa Rica.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
No problem at all helping you with your tour! We enjoy helping guests get the most of their limited time in this beautiful country! There is so much to see and do - we understand choosing what is best for you can be a challenge!
Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed our Restaurante La Rosa. It is a new addition to Hotel La Rosa and therefore we are still adjusting menus etc based on customer feedback.
We hope you enjoyed Costa Rica as much as you enjoyed your stay with us! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    114
    34
    8
    2
See reviews for
119
167
41
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We arrived in Costa Rica around 4:30, dealt with the fun of picking up our rental car, and made it to the hotel around 6:30. We were greeted upon arrival by a member of the exemplary staff at this small boutique hotel about 15 minutes from the airport. We were tired and ready to decompress and this hotel gave us the perfect environment to do it. The hotel is situated in carefully kept gardens which are clearly well maintained with great pride by the hotel's owners, providing some lovely walks around the facilities. Dinner at the hotel - like most food in Costa Rica - was fresh and delicious, and the room accomodated our family of four easily. The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful, and the owners are clearly proud of their property! We left early the next day as we had a busy schedule, but we were left with a wonderful start to our Costa Rica adventure! We will stay here again when next we come to Costa Rica.

I want to add, there are closer hotels to the Airport. Some are the large chains, some are smaller and look nice...I can't speak for them. The point I want to make though is that if you want to get off the plane and just immediately check in somewhere and relax, you might look elsewhere. But for us, going the extra few minutes to get to La Rosa de America was DEFINITELY worth it. It's only an extra few minutes, and the great treatment we received, the beautiful grounds, the good dinner and the wonderful, home made breakfast, and the overall welcoming hospitality and ambiance of La Rosa made it very, very much worth the extra few minutes it took to get there. It's also very convenient for taking off to Poas, which we did. Very much liked it here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your very honest review of Hotel La Rosa but also our comparison with other options in the very competitive San Jose Airport area.
It is always a pleasure to know that our intentions for creating a specific guest experience is actually felt by the guest - and in such a positive way! You are right! The Owners are proud of La Rosa, and so is the entire team of employees that make La Rosa special.
Certainly we offer a different experience and a very competitive option to the rapid expansion of expensive big chain hotels sprouting up around the airport area.
Again, thank you for letting both us and future guests know about your positive experiences at our hotel! Hope to see you again soon in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed here five years ago on my first visit to Costa Rica and remembered the exceptional service from that time so decided to try again. My wife and I stayed our first and last night of our vacation trip to Costa Rica.

The most exceptional thing about staying here was the help of Alexandra in setting up the rental car for us. She quoted several companies and let me choose the one I preferred (U-Save). As promised the rental car was delivered to the hotel the morning after my check in at 8:30 am and the drop off was arranged back at the hotel almost a week later with no problems at all. She also arranged for our pick up and return to the airport through a local tour company. Both times we were driven by Ignacio, an extremely pleasant fellow and more importantly a safe driver. He was eager to share with us his knowledge of the area and correct my Spanish mistakes in a light hearted and friendly way.

The hotel is only about 15 minutes from the airport but feels like a totally different environment. The property is full of lush tropical trees and plants that make you forget that you are just off one of the main streets in Alajuela, the suburb where the airport is located.

We paid $85 for a room with air conditioning. The room had a television that we did not turn on and a refrigerator that we turned off to eliminate the noise from the compressor. Otherwise the room was fairly basic but clean and comfortable. The chocolates on the bed were about the only extra we found in the room.

The breakfast was very nice, starting at 7:30 am. The fruits were delicious, as we found in all of Costa Rica. Pineapple, mango, watermelon, and bananas were served buffet style. In addition, we enjoyed the banana nut bread and the excellent coffee. We appreciated the packed breakfast on our departure morning since we had to leave before then.

We also ate dinner in the restaurant one night. I order a traditional Costa Rican casado consisting of chicken, rice, beans, fried plantain, and tomatoes. It was very good in a way that made you think you were eating a dish cooked just for you rather than a mass production style meal. The price was reasonable as well.

This is a definitely a place I recommend for travelers needed a place to stay close to the airport but still want to experience a little bit of what Costa Rica is about.

Room Tip: You may not need air conditioning in the room but it's nice to have as an option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for not only being a repeat guest at La Rosa but for also taking the time to review our services and your overall stay with us both times! We are glad to see that we have improved to five stars from four since your last stay with us in 2008. I hope that when you stay with us next that you will see continued improvement!
Helping guests with honest car bookings, tours, trip planning and general advice is all part of what we focus on to make a difference with our guests. Again, thank you for taking the time to acknowledge our efforts in this! It is a lot of work acting like amateur-travel agents but it is rewarding when our guests get a great trip!
Our Restaurante La Rosa is a new venture for Hotel La Rosa therefore we very much appreciate comments and feedback and have been making many small changes based on guest comments. Positive feedback such as yours is great for us as well as it means that now we don't have to change those casados any more!!! We will definitely let the cook know about your comments as our staff take a very active interest in guest comments online.
Again, thank you for your comments and repeat stay with us. We hope you had another great trip in Costa Rica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliffe, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

What a nice little gem and the perfect place to stay by the airport. Hotel La Rosa de America is a peaceful little place with a friendly staff and all the amenities you need. The grounds are beautifully kept and are within walking distance to a market, a couple restaurants and the town of Alajeula. The breakfast was wonderful and included in the price. The staff was kind enough to set up a taxi the day we had to be to the airport at 4am and put together a nice little “breakfast” care package for us that morning too. We had the pleasure of visiting with Robert, the owner, for a while and he was very friendly and informative. We will definitely be back to Hotel La Rosa de America when we are in Alajuela again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
It was a pleasure to meet you! I hope that your entire vacation in Costa Rica was as enjoyable as your time with us at La Rosa. No problem at all with the breakfast to go - there is very little fit to eat at the airport so having this service for our guests is important!
The La Rosa breakfast has recently been redone in order to offer guests more options. We now have a breakfast buffet free of charge, which is mostly unchanged from when you stayed with us but now we also offer an extended range of for purchase plates as well designed to satisfy the majority of European, North American and Latino guests. Hopefully something for every taste!
Thank you for taking the time to express your experiences in words on this site. We really feel that traveler reviews help not only the hotels, but more importantly, future guests as well.
Hope to see you in Costa Rica again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I booked rooms in this hotel for a group of 16 colleagues that were meeting in Costa Rica for a retreat. We needed a place close to the airport to stay for one night before we took off for our retreat in Sarapiquí. La Rosa de America was a perfect location. The hotel is on beautiful grounds with meticulously maintained gardens. Rooms are clean and comfortable. They served a lovely breakfast (included) and also offer several options for dinner for those that do not want to go out due to fatigue or rain. The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. I would certainly stay here again. I felt very welcome and taken care of. Rates are very reasonable, and Alexandra gave my group a special rate as well. My only regret is that I didn't have time to swim in the very inviting pool! Alexandra also arranged airport pickups for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your very positive review! Your regret about not sufficient time to use our pool is the second most common regret we receive! The most common regret for guests staying with us is not staying long enough! However, we feel the best trips leave us wanting more - so we have to come back again!!!
We appreciate your recognition of our Rates and overall Value. We work extremely hard to ensure our rates are not simply competitive, but actually as low as we can make them, and comments such as yours left on forums like this help us significantly reduce costs. So we would like to pass on some of the appreciation to the hundreds of guests who have taken the time to write in and leave their thoughts over the years!
If you ever return to Costa Rica, definitely let us know! The pool will still be here waiting for you - and we are improving the pool ambiance and surrounding gardens in this moment.
Thanks again for your review. We are happy that your group enjoyed Costa Rica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

For two years in a row, we've made this hotel our last stop before heading home. The grounds are lovely, the dinner was fantastic, and the banana bread is yummy. Our room was so big it fit our family of 5 with a bed to spare!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
The loyalty of our repeat guests is extremely valuable to us. Thank you for both your very positive review of La Rosa, and also for your repeat business! We are glad that you were able to use our increasing service options including our Restaurante La Rosa. Your positive feedback about your meal experiences are especially valuable as this is a fairly new venture for us and as such every bit of guest feedback is of great importance.
We hope that the rest of your trip was as enjoyable as your time at La Rosa and that we will see you again soon in Costa Rica!
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We flew in late to Costa Rica and booked this fairly last minute. We arrived after 10:30pm and left by 11am the next morning. This place was very quiet and very clean. Great pool! I wish we could have stayed here longer. The staff was very friendly and very helpful when we had questions about where to go, etc. Great place!

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was more than we needed. More beds than needed and more space than needed. Not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
It was a pleasure having you stay with us! Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed the pool so much. It has recently undergone a major service repair and is now just returning to it's original state.
No problem with the room upgrade. If we have the available space we do try to automatically bump guests to a higher quality room free of additional cost. Normally the Family Suites do cost significantly more, but that is also due to the increased number of guests usually renting a Family Suite. (thus the extra beds) We are glad that you enjoyed your large room!
Thank you for taking the time to write the review. We appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Rosa de America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rosa de America

Address: 100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rosa de America 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rosa de America is a friendly and peaceful garden oasis conveniently near the San Jose Costa Rica Airport (SJO). With our emphasis on service, we are the vacation home base of choice for many guests visiting Costa Rica. Our staff have a wealth of information about the country and are happy to share that knowledge! The hotel is located on a gorgeous and carefully maintained property, in the sunniest part of the Central Valley - La Garita. We offer a selection of great accommodation options in rooms located around a large carefully maintained tropical garden and sparkling clean swimming pool. Rooms come in Superior and Standard types with Superior rooms having air conditioning, flat screen TV's, bar fridges and more! La Rosa is is ideally suited to guests arriving from a tiring flight and wanting time to adjust to the country in safe, friendly and beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Rosa de America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa De America Hotel
Hotel La Rosa De America Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Rosa de America, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.