We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay and only about 15 minutes from the airport.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Rosa de America

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Rosa de America to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Rosa de America
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 29 hotels in Alajuela
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay and only about 15 minutes from the airport.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

If you are looking for a nice place to stay close to the airport that isn't a chain like Days Inn or Best Western this is a great spot. We arrived late and the hotel arranged a pick up for us from the airport as well as transportation for us the next morning to get to the shuttle bus. Room was clean and comfortable. Good shower and a wonderful welcome to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Get a room with an A/C!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for using us as an alternative to the large chain hotels clustered at the end of the airport runway. We are very pleased to have been able to offer you the entry into Costa Rica that you hoped for and that everything worked the way you expected!
Our Air Conditioning is a new service provided by La Rosa and so we are glad to see you valued having it!
Again thank you for your review. We enjoyed hosting you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    111
    33
    7
    2
See reviews for
112
157
40
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We couldn't have been more pleased with the help with received from the owner/staff with booking a tour, getting info on the area and calling taxis. Prior to staying, e-mails were returned promptly. Walking through the door of the room, however, was disappointing. The bedding and curtains were very outdated and mismatched from the upholstery. Even though the room was clean, it had a low class feel. We only received one washcloth for the four of us during our two night stay and the hot water in the shower was frustratingly inconsistent. The first night, we were awakened by a very loud child next door revealing incredibly thin walls. The second night, an extremely loud drumming noise awakened us at 1:30 a.m. (along with the two neighboring units' guests as discovered during morning conversations). It had come from the adjacent property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Hello and thank you for your review! For us, being helpful and knowledgeable are cornerstones of a tourism related business. We are glad we could help you with your trip plans!
I would like to apologize for the lack of facecloths in your room. Apparently there was a misunderstanding among some of the hotel staff as to the purpose of facecloths (they are not common in many local households) and therefore they decided to "change" the rules regarding how many are supposed to be in each room. Please be assured that this has been corrected!
It is regrettable that we were not aware of you having inconsistent water temperature in your room at the time you stayed with us. We have not been able to replicate the problem in the room you stayed in so we are not certain what caused it. We have asked our cleaners to ensure each day to monitor the system.
We regret the experience you had with a noisy child in the room next door and with some noise being generated from the empty lot next to La Rosa. Both situations are uncommon here as most of our guests are considerate after hours. The walls, both interior and exterior wall, are all six inch thick concrete construction filled with reinforcing steel so as to withstand up to a Level 8 earthquake without damage... not that we are hoping to test this...!! However, at night sound travels very easily in our area as there is virtually no other ambient noise (no road noise, music, rude neighbours, engine braking, airplanes etc) and all of our windows are generally left in the open position by our cleaning staff. We find that most noise propagates via these open windows. To address your concern, we have reminded our night staff to ensure that guests respect our quiet hours after 10 pm.
We thank you for your identification of certain issues that you felt were not up to our other standards at the hotel. We are working to continually improve hotel services including the look and feel of our rooms and your comments will help us do that!
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed one night after arriving late from Canada. The hotel staff had arranged a taxi for us and told us the price of the fare in advance. The pick up was smooth, the hotel was clean, breakfast was good. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
It is always good for us to learn that everything went smoothly with a guest's travel arrangements that we assisted with! Thank you for letting us know. We appreciate your time in writing your comments to us.
We noted that though overall you were very happy with your stay, we did not 100% achieve your expectation for the quality/value of our rooms. We have been diligently working to upgrade every aspect of the hotel and now we have completed major upgrades on 85% of our cabins. We are also offering Superior Rooms for only a small amount more, complete with brand new mattresses, beds, very high quality bedding, air conditioning, quality paintings done by local artists etc...
If you are going to return to Costa Rica, please let us know and we would be happy to offer you one of these Superior cabins as an upgrade!
Again, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had a great stay the first night of our trip. If you want to experience Costa Rica, don't book the American hotel chains! The grounds are beautiful and the service excellent. And you can't beat the free breakfast with amazing banana bread, eggs, and fresh fruit. Not all the rooms have air conditioning so make sure you ask if that is what you are looking for. The temperatures are pretty mild so we were ok without.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
We are happy you enjoyed our grounds, property, breakfast and service! It was a pleasure to host you!
With respect to air-conditioning, we are installing it in all our Superior Cabins but as you indicate, due to our favourable climate, it is really not needed at night . Therefore we are not planning to install it in our Standard Cabins so as to give those guests who do not wish a/c to still have that option at a slightly reduced rate.
Again, thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed two nights at the beginning of our trip and one at the end. This is a great hotel, close to the airport but far enough away to be quiet and restful. Breakfast was good, the rooms were clean, the gardens were lovely. The front desk staff were wonderful - very helpful, sweet and friendly.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay so much. The staff here at La Rosa take a very active interest in our online reviews as to a large degree their pride in our hotel defines our success.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we are grateful for your repeat business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scamander, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

From the minute we arrived, we were greeted like family - Grisska and Alexa were so helpful with suggestions of where to visit and where to eat. We were even supplied with umbrellas!
The gardens at La Rosa are truly beautiful, as was the breakfast (included)
The only disappointment we had was that we had only 2 nights there!
Thank you to all concerned. We'd love to visit again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
We appreciate your compliments of our hotel. Our largest "complaint" from guests truthfully is that they did not book extra nights with us so they could see many of the incredible things in our "backyard" and unwind at the same time.
I am happy you liked our highly visible and rather pink signature umbrellas!! Certainly functional, they also stand out!
Both employees you mentioned in your review have now read it and say hi! We do not get a lot of guests from Australia so we are glad to have hosted you.

Best Regards from Costa Rica and we hope you can find a reason to come half way around the World to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

A business associate and I were accomodated perfectly during our stay at this quiet, well run establishment. Though business travelers comprise a minority of their guests, the staff at La Rosa de America are top notch at anticipating and meeting needs. Hotels that specialize in business people rarely deliver like La Rosa De America. From transportation to communication (including perfect WiFi) to bending over backward to make sure our tight schedule was efficient, we could not have asked for more. The safe, tranquil setting was invigorating. Costa Rica travel, for business or pleasure, does not get any better than this.

Room Tip: Everything at the hotel is very reasonably priced - Costa Rica coffee, souvenirs, beverages and snac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for recognizing our competitive pricing policies and our staff efforts at La Rosa. From a businessman perspective, we very much appreciate your positive analysis and recognition of our services and rates. Costa Rica is a very expensive country in our opinion and cost control and efficiency is a very large part of our business model.
We are grateful for the opportunity to host you and we hope to see you again at our hotel! Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Rosa de America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rosa de America

Address: 100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rosa de America 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rosa de America is a friendly and peaceful garden oasis conveniently near the San Jose Costa Rica Airport (SJO). With our emphasis on service, we are the vacation home base of choice for many guests visiting Costa Rica. Our staff have a wealth of information about the country and are happy to share that knowledge! The hotel is located on a gorgeous and carefully maintained property, in the sunniest part of the Central Valley - La Garita. We offer a selection of great accommodation options in rooms located around a large carefully maintained tropical garden and sparkling clean swimming pool. Rooms come in Superior and Standard types with Superior rooms having air conditioning, flat screen TV's, bar fridges and more! La Rosa is is ideally suited to guests arriving from a tiring flight and wanting time to adjust to the country in safe, friendly and beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Rosa de America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa De America Hotel
Hotel La Rosa De America Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Rosa de America, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.