We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stayed here first and last night of our trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Rosa de America

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel La Rosa de America to your Saves list
Hotel La Rosa de America
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“stayed here first and last night of our trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

i enjoyed my stay here at hotel la rosa. the staff was nice and made sure we had a positive experience with them. the first night we stayed in cabin two, which i believe had a regular shower, or at least i had no problem using it. there were some dogs barking in the area, but they stop after a while (not the hotels fault), we just made sure to have the windows shut in the bedroom and bathroom. the night we arrived it was really windy and our door kept shaking, but i was so tired from travel that i passed out anyways. breakfast was nice, a good mixture of things, fruit, eggs, ham, bread roll, banana bread (yum!), coffee, and orange juice.
we had a scheduled pick up from our car rental place that didn't arrive on time, and we were able to use their computer and phone to try and contact them. the staff allowed us to stay on the premises until our shuttle arrived (an hour late!), which was nice because we sat by the pool, and i got to walk around and look at all the beautiful foliage.
the last night we arrived early evening, and received room one...which was missing a television? which in the end didn't matter because we had to wake up early for a flight. it was just strange that our last room had it and this one didn't. the power kept going off, thankfully the alarm had a back up, but we couldnt really tell why it was happening in just our little sector of the property. we were also told that they would bring us a bagged breakfast for the morning, but no one came to our room that night. when we woke up for our flight the bag was waiting for us outside our door. la rosa was nice and scheduled a taxi to pick us up early to bring us to the airport.
i would definitely advise la rosa to update their pamphlet! especially for the restaurant. we would have loved to try it out but i wasn't feeling well, and knew nothing about what was on the menu. overall i had a very good experience and would recommend staying here

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you for your detailed review of La Rosa! We are happy that you and our banana bread became well acquainted! It was no problem to give you a late check-out. We understand that the sometimes less than punctual service delivery of other agencies not associated with La Rosa can be a frustration.
Please allow us to apologize for the lack of a TV in Cabin 1. You are absolutely correct, normally there is one. However, a guest had just dropped a TV (who knows why) and as a result, the picture was scrambled. The TV was deemed unrepairable, and so we had to get a temporary replacement - we just were unable to get it in time for your stay. We are planning to replace the existing TV's in the new Superior Rooms with Flat Screen TVs however this will not be possible for about another month. Until that time, most rooms will still have the smaller old style TVs.
Normally Costa Rica experiences very little in the way of wind. However for about a 2 week period at the end of January, strong outflow winds are common throughout the Central Valley. Unfortunately there is nothing we can do about these winds except constantly keep the pool clean and insure we have options available in case of an interruption in power. Fortunately the electrical provider is becoming more and more capable in providing reliable power to it's customers.
We are glad that our services worked for you and you got your breakfast Go-Bag, and your transfers. Thank you for reminding us about our in Room Pamphlet. The only reason more detail is not included about our restaurant is because the menu is still in flux. As soon as we tailor it most specifically to guest needs, we will get those books updated! In the mean time we are providing menus at reception.
Thank you again for your comments! We appreciate both your praise and your points for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    112
    33
    8
    2
See reviews for
118
161
41
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Valley, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed for one night at this hotel and everything was amazing very beautiful gardens. Waking the singing of the birds was wonderful addition to the spectacular breakfast we had.

I recommend this hotel for people who want to spend a spectacular night.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you for your review! We appreciate the time you took to write back to us! We are pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast so much and even more importantly, our morning La Rosa bird choir cooperated for your further enjoyment!! The revitalization of our Gardens has actually attracted a lot of new bird life, butterflies, and hummingbirds and so we are happy to see guests like yourself enjoying these new members of our La Rosa family!
Again, thank you for taking the time to write us publicly. We appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

This is the fourth time that the Cornell Wind Ensemble (@48 students) has stayed here as part of our performing and service-learning tours. It's proximity to the airport, friendly and accommodating staff, and secure and beautiful grounds make it a must when we visit. My only complaint would be the barking dogs late at night and early morning...but that's Costa Rica!

Room Tip: The Suites are nice and far enough away from the pool so the noise is minimal. There is also a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
As always, it is a great experience for us to host Cornell Winds. The first time we did so in 2008 we were pretty concerned about a group so large however now with our expansion it's no problem!
We are proud to be one of your anchor hotels each time you visit Costa Rica. We are honoured that so many Cornell students, upon coming back to La Rosa at the end of the trip called us Their Home in Costa Rica.
All the La Rosa staff very much respect and appreciate the benefit work your group does for promoting musical education here in Costa Rica. Both my manager and I were very happy to have the opportunity to attend your Gala concert this year in Santa Ana!
In regards to the dogs, we have stepped up our campaign to train the owners, as to us, it is their mindset we need to change. The rest will follow. Also, in select rooms, we are installing air-conditioning, This will allow guests to close windows. Our area is very quiet and and as a result any sharp noise can seem magnified.
Again, hosting Cornell is our pleasure! We hope to see you again in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We had an excellent stay in Costa Rica during x-mas and new year 2011.First 2 and the last night we spend at the hotel. We had in advance heard that the hotel was good. Even so it was better than we had thought. The nice english spoken staff had in advance helped us to book a car that was delivered to the hotel in the morning the day after we arrived. The atmosphere was about the same as you can find in a small inn in the English countryside with a personal interest in each guest.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
It was our pleasure to host you at La Rosa! When you come from halfway around the World, we understand that you want to be looked after and not have to worry about the small stuff! We are glad we could help!
The greatest expression of satisfaction a guest can show us is in their desire to return to our Hotel for a second time. Thank you for this loyalty!
We did notice that your rating of our rooms was a little lower. We recognize that some of our rooms are not as large as others. We are doing everything possible to continually improve the appointments in the rooms and to constantly offer new room services.
It was a privilege to be your entry and exit hotel choice for you and your family. We hope to see you in Costa Rica again someday!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We started our 3-weeks travel in Costa Rica with our two boys (nearly 5 and 6 1/2 years old) at La Rosa de America.

We took a family room, large enough but no-fuss. The garden was a nice place for the kids to run around after the flights!

We booked our tours with the owner, and his advices were perfect. We wanted something flexible and that is exactly what we had.

The room was very clean and spacious, but lacks a bit of modernity that should come with this price range I honestly think. It seems that the owner is doiing work on the property every year, so it should improve.

The new restaurant is a nice addition for newly arrived travellers, even if the good local restaurants are not more than 10 minutes walk away. Their included breakfast is very good, and the boys loved their banana bread (and our tour guides too!!).

A very good choice instead of the international brands hotels around the San Jose Airport.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
We are happy to have had the opportunity to host you in La Rosa! We take our role of the First introduction to Costa Rica for many guests very seriously!
Offering advice and suggestions for your trip was a pleasure. There is so much to do and see in Costa Rica, way more than the small size of this country would suggest! It is our hope that each of our guests has a great trip!
In regards to our furniture, you are correct, we are constantly upgrading and improving things. We are currently in the process of creating superior cabins for guests who wish to spend a little more for upgraded facilities including Egyptian cotton sheets and air conditioning.
Thank you for recognizing our new Restaurante La Rosa! Our kitchen staff have worked very hard to develop this restaurant into a successful addition to our Hotel services. We are very glad you enjoyed your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

As tired travelers, we were greeted with a kind and warm welcome at Hotel La Rosa. Our flight was two hours late due to an electrical storm; however, the driver was at the airport awaiting our arrival. to transport us to our hotel. He shared many wonderful facts about the area and was eager to share life experiences. We were so pleased with his service that we requested him to take us to the airport the next morning. The charge was $15.00 one-way for two passengers.
There is a huge rush at the airport when people are arriving and hard to know which service to accept. We were glad that we made arrangements a head of time so that we just listened to hear our name called.
After we checked in and taken our room, we opted to use the computer in the lobby to check emails. The receptionist, Maria knew that we were hungry and thirsty. Without hestitation, a tray appeared with coffee for my husband and tea for me with the most wonderful homemade banana bread. From our first two experiences, we knew right away that Costa Rica would offer us the "Good Life." Our bed was fine and the hot shower even better plus we were able to see some of the Sunday night football game.
Do plan to be here during the daylight hours to tour the beautiful gardens and enjoy the pool. We also had a very nice and informative discussion with the owner, Robert Hick. Very impressed that he supports a book program to encourage education. The other staff member that we met was Grisska Elizondo who made sure that we had a breakfast of jjuice, fruit and banana bread to take with us since we were departing before the breakfast hours. Regret that we missed breakfast in a pleasant and quaint diningroom. However, coffee is provided outside the main office.
Would we recommend this hotel? Yes, we would because you start out with the wonderful culture of Costa Rica. We ,ade our reservation through Anywhere Costa Rica which handled everything very well.

Room Tip: All rooms face the gardens and pool. This is a one-story hotel with the parking lot on the other s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a response to us! We are glad you found our Private Airport Service Pickup to be of benefit! Sometimes the wall of people standing at the exit of the Arrivals area at the airport can be a bit intimidating without a friendly face to greet you!
Our staff very much appreciate the online recognition they receive from travellers such as yourselves. In fact our Reception and Cleaning Staff follow quite closely how they are received by guests and of course, comments left such as yours make a big impact on their job satisfaction!
Our book donation project has been highly successful with almost 5,000 books donated to seven schools. It is your support that makes this possible, so the appreciation should go to our guests for taking the time to donate!
Thank you for recommending us! Our repeat and word of mouth guests are a significant and extremely important part of our business! We are glad you had a great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberia, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

I went to stay at this hotel because I have some family that live in Texas and they came to visit me from there. I am originally from Costa Rica and I live 4 hours away from the Alajuela province and since they arrived at the Alajuela airport, we decided to meet at this hotel that is very close by. When I got there the first thing I thought was: " Nice place". When you first enter you can see the green garden and how everthing looks so detailed and clean. It is a small place but it had warm feeling like home. The receptionist, Grisska, was so nice and sweet she even said they were waiting for me and gave me the room key and took me to it. I am usually very picky about hotel rooms specially with the bed sheets because I have had bad expericences in the past, but when I first entered the room I was impressed by how clened the room was and it had a nice smell. I slept like a baby that day and I even dare to say that I slept better than at my own bed at home!!!!! Next day I spent some time with my family at the pool and it was nice and sunny area but I could still go under the trees if I wanted some shade. I loved the vegetation and it made me feel a lot of peace. And what is even better about this place is that is close to everything. We didn´t have a car so it was easy to get a cab and move around. From the hotels I`ve stayed in my own country I can honestly say. This is the best one!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
It is always nice to receive reviews from people living in Costa Rica! Thank you for taking the time! We are very happy that you received the type of experience with which we have been working to achieve for the past five years. It is very important to us that guests not only like their room, or the service, or the pool but they actually feel at home with all aspects of their stay with us! For a San Jose Airport Hotel, receiving recognition for our green surroundings and ambiance is key to our La Rosa Difference as we want guests to be truly able to relax after a long international flight to Costa Rica.
We will ensure that our cleaning staff and hotel manager are made aware of your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Rosa de America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rosa de America

Address: 100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rosa de America 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rosa de America is a friendly and peaceful garden oasis conveniently near the San Jose Costa Rica Airport (SJO). With our emphasis on service, we are the vacation home base of choice for many guests visiting Costa Rica. Our staff have a wealth of information about the country and are happy to share that knowledge! The hotel is located on a gorgeous and carefully maintained property, in the sunniest part of the Central Valley - La Garita. We offer a selection of great accommodation options in rooms located around a large carefully maintained tropical garden and sparkling clean swimming pool. Rooms come in Superior and Standard types with Superior rooms having air conditioning, flat screen TV's, bar fridges and more! La Rosa is is ideally suited to guests arriving from a tiring flight and wanting time to adjust to the country in safe, friendly and beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Rosa de America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa De America Hotel
Hotel La Rosa De America Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Rosa de America, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.