We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect! Everything worked the way we were promised.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Rosa de America

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Rosa de America to your Saves list
Hotel La Rosa de America
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect! Everything worked the way we were promised.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We decided to stay at La Rosa because it advertised as being safe, pretty and peaceful. Their advertising was accurate!
We used this hotel for our first stay in Costa Rica and the reception staff were very helpful in giving suggestions and ideas for our trip which we had not completely planned out due to lack of time. We used a couple of their suggestions and were very pleased with their honest help. Definitely the best personal service we found - and that is in a country full of friendly people!
The rooms were a little on the small side, but were very well maintained, totally clean, we had a great sleep and the glass sinks in the bathroom were a nice touch! Also we had a covered deck where we spent much of our time.
We found our first motmot on the property - three of them actually while we were walking around at 6 am with our morning coffee! The garden has all kinds of flowers and fruit trees, some with amazing scents and many have info signs on them.
La Rosa was a great place to rest before we set out to Arenal and our Costa Rican adventure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room behind the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    113
    34
    8
    2
See reviews for
119
166
41
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gulfport, Mississippi
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

The Hotel La Rosa de America was a great place to begin our Costa Rica trip. From the first inquiry until we drove off the property they were more than helpful. Grisska was incredible in helping us get reservations not just for the hotel but for a rental car and for a cell phone. They arranged for transportation from the airport when we arrived late in the evening. The driver (Willy) met us outside the airport doors and got us to the hotel and gave some great insight to things to see and places to go while in Costa Rica. Willy was a fun start to the trip and he even suggested we eat at the wonderful restaurant just down the street from Hotel La Rosa. The room was simple and nice. It's not a high end tourist destination, but it was more than we needed for a night's stay. The breakfast was wonderful, and even though we were up and moving before breakfast was served, we were invited in to the kitchen to get a cup of delicious cafe con leche. From start to finish the service, price, location, and accommodations were excellent.

The greatest part was as we were leaving in our rental car, a member of the staff whom we had not met was driving into the secure parking lot. She smiled and greeted us. Wished us well on our adventure and said, "Just remember...if you get lost, take a deep breath and enjoy the beauty. It's a small country." We never got lost (thanks to the GPS) but we did breathe deeply and enjoy the amazing beauty and the adventure.

Thanks Grisska, et al!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind words! Grisska is a very valued employee to us and it's nice of you to commend her. We do try our very best to give as much help as possible. I do remember you - I was the person driving in that day, and my husband and I own the hotel. We used to stay at this hotel as guests and we fell in love with La Rosa and decided to buy it. We hope you had a lovely trip to Costa Rica and perhaps we will see you again someday!

Alexandra Hick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

For comfort and simplicity in a setting that cannot be beat in terms of natural beauty, La Rosa is the place to stay in Alajuela. While the rooms are simple, clean, and comfortable, the gardens are spectacular. Outside my doorstep stood a magnificent mango tree bearing fruit as sweet as candy. Delicious! Conveniently located, Alajuela and its environs are a short drive away if one turns to the right upon leaving the hotel, as is the marvelous tropical paradise that is Costa Rica if one turns to the left. While there, do not miss the bird sanctuary just up the road, and be sure to stop by the butterfly garden which is even closer to the hotel. Restaurants serving typical Costa Rican fare are also nearby. For a quiet getaway in an idyllic setting, La Rosa de America is just the place. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Hotel La Rosa de America the last week, this week we are visiting beaches of Guanacaste and return next week to stay at the Hotel La Rosa de America, because it is a terrific place to stay in the city because of its proximity to the airport, excellent treatment and cleaning, it makes it an ideal place for vacation and relax.

The rooms are simple, clean and cozy, the pool is beautiful, invites you to enjoy, the rate includes the breakfast, it is delicious. In general the rate is very reasonable for the service received.

The rooms are impeccable, cleaning staff are friendly and helpful.

Around of the hotel you can find restaurants, bars and diferente places to visit, walk or simply rest.

The general staff made ​​our stay comfortable and enjoyable, helped us with information and special menu, is by this that we are eager to return to stay in this hotel, which make us feel at home...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this lovely little hotel for our recent trip to Costa Rica, and it beat our expectations in every way. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We arrived before dinner and were given recommendations where to eat - there were a lot of places really close by. The room was extremely clean and the fresh flowers a nice touch. Our room looked out over gorgeous gardens, extremely well-maintained, and I know a bit about gardening. The pool was clean and nice and big.
Not sure why the other guest gave this a one star - his review sparked me to write this one because we didn't experience anything like that guest did. In fact, I am allergic to gluten, and when I mentioned it, they made every effort to accomodate me. We had no problem with hot water either. The room was a decent size and had a comfortable double bed in it. It would have been nice to have a king, but we were fine. There is no A/C but we didn't feel we needed it.
We woke to the beautiful bird sounds in the morning and had a nice breakfast of fruit, cereal, cheese, buns, eggs, and some amazing banana bread. (according to my husband!) The coffee was really good, too.
We had to kill some time before our flight and the staff graciously allowed us to remain in the room past checkout so we could visit the zoo just down the street. When it was time to go the nice young woman called us a taxi and it was there is just a few minutes.
We were really happy we chose this hotel over one next to the airport, as it was so nice and quiet. We cam expecting the average airport hotel and left with a very warm feeling of having been well-looked after. We'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Our room was small, but o.k. for one night. The pool very dirty. Not really inviting. So we don’t go for a swim but just sit beside the pool and spend the afternoon reading and surfing the internet. Wifi works fine, no hot water.

This hotel has in the hotels listing a restaurant icon which they don’t have, so in the evening we take a taxi and drive to Martino Resort which has a good Italian restaurant. Although is is just a mile away from Rosa de America we don’t feel like walking in the dark because there is no sidewalk. Moreover the taxi is very cheap, just 1000 Colones (2$)

My wife is vegan, meaning no animal products at all. No meat, no milk products, no honey, and so on. Hotel La Rosa de America made no extra effort to accommodate my wife’s dietary requirements in the breakfast included with the room, despite being given notice in advance of our arrival.

There is no a/c inside the rooms and the weather was hot, and after paying $80 for that room we had to pay $20 more for a taxi from the airport and another $20 to get to sansa airport. That is total of $120 for a very basic bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, May 28, 2011
We did an exhaustive search of March to find when this guest stayed with us, but did not find anything in our records or emails. There was no record of a vegan dietary request, and we checked all the way back to January! We would really appreciate it if this guest could give us a few more details so we could find them in our records.
We are sincerely disappointed that this guest did not feel their stay lived up to what they were looking for. We take any criticism extremely seriously, and if the guest was experiencing any trouble we would have immediately remedied the situation as quickly as possible. Perhaps the guest did not mention these issues to us? If a room has a hot water issue, usually it just means the gas tank is empty and we have to flip a switch to go to the new tank. In March we did have 2 incidents of the pool going green due to a reduced PH problem, which we rectified immediately, but of course it does take the pool a couple of days to rebalance and go back to its usual crystal colour. We do apologize to this guest that they had to experience that during their stay. The pool was safe to swim in, but we agree the colour was not as it should have been.
Also, we have catered to different food allergies and sensitivities in the past, and continue to make our best efforts to help guests with dietary needs, if we are asked ahead of time. We do understand that many people have special needs in this regard. We do have a restaurant for breakfast, and for special group bookings we offer catered service. There are so many restaurants within just a few blocks of us for guests to choose from.
This guest stayed with us during the hottest month of the year (March), and we did experience a heat wave during that time where temperatures were unseasonably warm. Normally A/C is not required in this area of the country.
Also, the taxi the guest took to the airport was a little expensive; normally a taxi costs about $15. This cost is reasonable for a hotel that is close to the airport but not right on top of the airport noise. Hotels that include a shuttle are usually higher in price range to cover the cost. We do offer a shuttle service for $15, which guarantees that the guest won’t be taken advantage of by a taxi.
Again, we are saddened that this guest did not enjoy their stay, as we continually strive for perfection and we always wish for each and every guest to have a comfortable, trouble-free stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

Alajuela is a logical place to stay after arriving or just before leaving the airport, but from what I saw is pretty uninspiring on it's own. Don't be disuaded. The Hotel La Rosa is a fenced in arbor of mango trees and tropical greenery, with a great pool and walking distance to a butterfly garden and zoo that are great for kids. A bank and restaurant are also nearby. Our room was exceptionally clean (as they are in most hotels in CR) but had new, soft linens and updated bathrooms with basin sinks. Try to find that at this price point. Staff were inviting and helpful - couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms closest to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Rosa de America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rosa de America

Address: 100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rosa de America 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rosa de America is a friendly and peaceful garden oasis conveniently near the San Jose Costa Rica Airport (SJO). With our emphasis on service, we are the vacation home base of choice for many guests visiting Costa Rica. Our staff have a wealth of information about the country and are happy to share that knowledge! The hotel is located on a gorgeous and carefully maintained property, in the sunniest part of the Central Valley - La Garita. We offer a selection of great accommodation options in rooms located around a large carefully maintained tropical garden and sparkling clean swimming pool. Rooms come in Superior and Standard types with Superior rooms having air conditioning, flat screen TV's, bar fridges and more! La Rosa is is ideally suited to guests arriving from a tiring flight and wanting time to adjust to the country in safe, friendly and beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Rosa de America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa De America Hotel
Hotel La Rosa De America Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Rosa de America, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.