We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pura Vida Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pura Vida Hotel to your Saves list
Pura Vida Hotel
1500 meters north of the Fabrica Punto Rojo | at the crossroads of the village of Tuetal, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 55 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were just here for a night before returning from the states, but were very impressed with the grounds and room. The garden is beautiful, room was great and affordable, and the breakfast was outstanding! We will definitely return on our next trip.

Room Tip: Rainforest room is perfect for a couple or family of three!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    70
    18
    5
    6
See reviews for
156
253
20
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From the complementary taxi ride from the airport, to the beautiful garden setting and comfortable casas of the hotel, to the delicious gourmet dinner and breakfast, and the kind, helpful, knowledgeable hosts of Pura Vida - this place was perfect for us as we began and ended our trip. We rented a RAV4 through Berni and had no issues. My adult kids enjoyed playing fetch with Bandit. We all enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere - it really was an oasis. Their advice was spot-on. Highly recommend your staying at Pura Vida!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the lovely Pura Vida Hotel on our first and last nights in Costa Rica. I highly recommend this charming, beautiful place. The hosts are extremely helpful and the meals that Nhi prepared were outstanding. The owner Berni provides a great deal of local travel information in an amusing and very helpful way. The rooms are comfortable, with high ceilings, large windows and outdoor seating to enjoy the wonderful, tropical landscape.

Room Tip: We loved the Volcano room, but all the rooms look lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There are so many reasons why I recommend staying here and having Berni and Nhi host you on your trip to Costa Rica. I will make a brief list here....10 minuted from the airport and easy transport. Why fiddle with a rental care at the airport when you can simply have it delivered to their place in the AM. The rooms are exactly what you want when you are arriving in a new country...I am not going to list all of the little additions and thoughts that go into their room, but there are many. The food...you are a fool not to allow them to host you for dinner. The food is "fantastic" and they are gracious, kind and entertaining hosts. When I was planning my trip to Costa Rica, our first, and with a 6 and10 year old, Berni was very kind in providing direction for me and helping me along the way. Our arrival was delayed 4 days because a volcano erupted and closed the airport for a day (Nice odds on that one) but Berni accommodated our change of plans and coordinated my rental car. Their website is fantastic and full of useful information that really helped me plan a fantastic trip. Downside? Well it can be noisy there at night with traffic from the city, dogs barking etc but honestly...run with it. I would rather be there then cooped up in a Courtyard Marriot with a rattly air conditioner. We are not fans of traveling to the same places more than once but I can see us back in Costa Rica and will absolutely be visiting Berni and Nhi again.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golfito, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You wouldn't think that a hotel conveniently located near the airport would offer the superior amenities and overall guest experience that you find at the eponymous Pura Vida Hotel. The cabin we stayed in was comfortable, the breakfast of fresh fruit, granola, and yogurt, was complemented by gourmet coffee and served by a professional and attentive staff. All of this offered in a naturally beautiful environment makes Pura Vida Hotel the best choice over chain hotels and any others at which I've stayed in the Alajuela area.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pura Vida is truly an oasis in the middle of Alajuela, Costa Rica. I agree with another reviewer who said commented on being a little concerned when we approached the hotel as the neighborhood was quite crowed (house after house on top of each other and not necessarily a nice area) but once inside the gated property everything else fell away. All you could see was lush greenery, beautiful flowers and gardens. We stayed in the Volcano room and the view was incredible. Will be back!

Room Tip: Average because there were dogs barking in the middle of the night one night and a crazy rooster tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As we approached the hotel we were a little concerned, as the neighbourhood was quite crowded and we had envisioned a more rural setting ( flowers, space, gardens etc). Once we got inside the fence it was beautiful and offered all those things we were looking for. Our room (Volcano Room) had a spectacular view, then we walked the gardens - labelled and varied and healthy looking. the evening meal was spectacular on an open deck. Breakfast was almost a work of art - tasted good as well.
Next day Bernie gave us a botanical and humourus tour. Not sure we could have asked for anything more.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pura Vida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pura Vida Hotel

Address: 1500 meters north of the Fabrica Punto Rojo | at the crossroads of the village of Tuetal, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pura Vida Hotel is located 4km north of the SJO International airport - we provide a free taxi pickup for international arrivals. Breakfast is included and an excellent dinner is available with reservations (or late meals for late arrivals). Touring services include car rentals delivered here, private vans and as much touring advice as you wish - we are experts on Costa Rica. We have arrangements with Toyota Car Rental for deals on car rentals. Our idea is simply that this is a place we would like to stay at when we travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pura Vida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pura Vida Alajuela
Hotel Pura Vida
Pura Vida Hotel Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pura Vida Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.