We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pura Vida es "pura vida"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pura Vida Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pura Vida Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pura Vida Hotel
1500 meters north of the Fabrica Punto Rojo | at the crossroads of the village of Tuetal, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 53 Alajuela B&B and Inns
jasper,alberta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pura Vida es "pura vida"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My spouse and I had the pleasure of staying for a couple of blissful nights at the start of our first visit to Costa Rica in January 2013 and then fortuitously a night prior to our leaving in February. I find myself at a loss for words to adequately describe the lovely experience , the casitas and grounds were beautiful and the meals were exquisite. The staff were incredible ,helpful, friendly and faultless to a t and the owner operators, Berni and His beautiful wife Nhi were superb, people you wish you could be close friends with for much longer than a too brief visit. The friendly dogs completed the ambience of perfect pura vida. Having Berni arrange a car rental which was delivered to the hotel and left there on our departure removed what is ofttimes a stressful period at the start and end of a holiday, the choice of small, 4wheel drive suv as recommended by Berni being perfect for exploring CR, albeit a necessity on some of the more adventurous parts of our trip. Our only regret is not staying longer and using the place as a base to explore the Central Valley environs, hopefully next time.

Room Tip: We spent our first two nights in the Volcano suite which as its name implied had a great view of Poa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alajuelanorth, Manager at Pura Vida Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hey there Rob, thanks so much for coming and spending the time to review us. We also enjoyed your stay here and your certain sense of humor that keeps life so interesting while sticking a smile on your face whether you need it or not.

I know you agree that life is too short not to find even the oddest things either interesting or really quite funny. Stay warm up in Jasper and say hi to your demiwolf!

We do appreciate your visit.

Berni
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    420
    68
    18
    5
    6
See reviews for
145
232
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

we tried to stay in the orchid room twice but Bernie upgraded us to the volcano and Tucan rooms each time we stayed for the orchid price. the complimentary breakfast is awesome! the rooms are in separate houses across the beautifuly landscaped Gardens within the compound. they do have four nice German shepherds that roam the property. the volcano and tucan rooms were very nice with safes and extra amenities. Berni and Carlos were very helpful orienting us to the new country and answering all our questions. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quepos, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

After nearly a decade of the Pura Vida always being my first and last stop in Costa Rica, I feel qualified to highly recommend your visiting as well. A finer host(Bernie) and superb chief(wife Nhi) you will not find anywhere!
I have hesitated sharing my enthusiasm for finding this instant transition from my urban home in the United States to the calming of the rainforest grounds of the Pura Vida because if It is too well known I will have a difficult time finding a place to stay at the Inn. The dinner must be planned in advance so Nhi can find the freshest foods in the market today and turn them into a memorable meal presented just to you.
I have started bringing tours to Costa Rica to share its rain forest wonders and we always start and end our adventures with a stay and meal at Pura Vida. Bernie has been a good friend and a wealth of solid information in making our tours very successful. Thanks for everything.
Pura Vida,
Everett

Room Tip: All rooms are unique and provide good views of the beautiful grounds and privacy. Bernie has discove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alajuelanorth, Manager at Pura Vida Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks for the review and your continued returns and now your new birding groups. We do appreciate the support of our myriad of returnees each year. This year your group taught me some new things about the big migrations and involvement of organizations I didn't know of.

Life is all about learning. Thanks for coming back again and sharing your good vibes with us all at the Pura Vida Hotel,

Berni
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed here one night at the end of a 2 week trip around Costa Rica. Clean and well designed room with a view - Volcano Room. Was a little noisy in the morning when the traffic, dogs, and roosters started up in the neighborhood. Ate dinner at Jalapenos in Alajuela - excellent recommendation from Bernie, one of the owners of Pura Vida hotel. Bernie hooked us up with bag lunches for breakfast since the our flight was leaving early. He also had a reliable cab ready to go when we needed it! Thanks!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The owners of this quaint yet sophisicated B&B are extremely cordial and accomodating to their guests. The rooms are lovely. The dogs will steal your heart. The grounds are stunning. The meals are second to none. Every time I stay at the Pura Vida I am served fabulous food prepared with the freshest ingredients. Pura Vida is the ONLY place I stay when I travel in and out of the country.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Here's what we loved about the Pura Vida Hotel - it wasn't just a hotel. It was a hotel with pretty rooms, a garden, a wonderful restaurant (one of the best meals of our vacation), and Berni, who helped us with transportation, and made some quite excellent suggestions for things to round out a great vacation. Little things like being able to leave our rental car at the hotel rather than driving it to the office made a huge difference. Definitely recommended to others.

Room Tip: Just look on their web site - the descriptions were very accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

An oasis tucked away in a drab neighbourhood near the airport. Grounds are amazing. Make sure to enjoy Bernie's quirky humour. Breakfasts are a treat and dinners are even better. Bernie's wife is an incredible chef. Excellent wine cellar too. If you want to take advantage of excursions or activities in the area Bernie will make it happen. If you can book Stirling as you driver go for it. He is very knowledgeable and an excellent tour guide.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pura Vida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pura Vida Hotel

Address: 1500 meters north of the Fabrica Punto Rojo | at the crossroads of the village of Tuetal, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pura Vida Hotel is located 4km north of the SJO International airport - we provide a free taxi pickup for international arrivals. Breakfast is included and an excellent dinner is available with reservations (or late meals for late arrivals). Touring services include car rentals delivered here, private vans and as much touring advice as you wish - we are experts on Costa Rica. We have arrangements with Toyota Car Rental for deals on car rentals. Our idea is simply that this is a place we would like to stay at when we travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pura Vida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pura Vida Alajuela
Hotel Pura Vida
Pura Vida Hotel Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pura Vida Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.