We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica to your Saves list
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
4km west from SJO International Airport | On the Interamerican Highway, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Aeropuerto San Jose Airport Costa Rica)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Tipp City, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Checked in for one night before returning to US. We were very pleased with the accomodations we had. The room was clean, large enough, the A/C worked great, the bathroom was good and clean, and the bed very comfortable. The service at the desk was great and the staff extremely helpful and personable. They paid for a taxi from the airport and provided mini bus service for several of us back to the airport.
We ate an evening meal at the attached restaurant and found the food and service good.
They have a walking path around the hotel with interesting plants and trees. We didn't use the pool, but it looked very nice.
The quality that we experienced exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    95
    29
    12
    15
See reviews for
51
89
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is spacious and clean. The staff are nice and helpful. The restaurant has great food and offers a free breakfast. Close to airport with secure parking and a remote feel. I will diffently stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a night before my flight home. Very nice hotel. Pool and garden area kept tidy. It was nice to have the last bit of sun in the early evening sitting by the pool. The restaurant staff are very friendly and the food is reasonably priced. Breakfast is limited but enough. Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

This place is dirty and gross. I am happy to get out of the chain hotels and stay somewhere with a little "charm" but the place is just - yuck!

Showers don't drain, hair from other guests, weird smells and lots of noise.

Sure it's close to the airport, but so are a lot of other places, pass this one up!

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I am surprised there are so many good reviews of this hotel. It was a disappointment overall.

PROS:
- yes, it is near the airport with a free shuttle to and from.
- they provided a crib for our infant which was nice.

CONS:
- The pool was too dirty to swim in, the room was not very clean either.
- Walls are thin, we could hear the telephone conversion in the room next to us. The hotel was quite noisy until late at night.
- The restaurant on site is overpriced and one of us got sick after eating here.
- Breakfast starts at 6, but if you have an early flight to catch, they will not give you any light breakfast to go, not even the night before. They were almost offended we even asked, the front desk is not very friendly.
- They have free Wi-Fi, but it does not reach far from the reception area, we did not have it in our room.

This place is OK if you need a place to crash the night before your departure, but I would avoid otherwise.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stayed in the Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica for one night.
1) 4 km away from the Juan Santamaría International Airport
2) Shuttlebus 24 hours
3) Clean and comfortable
4) Value for money
Good choice near the Airport!
One more comment, please improve the wifi in the second floor.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed here one night on arrival to costa rica and two nughts before we left. We arrived in Costa Rica from the UK with no colones as you cannot get them in advance in the UK so the fact that the hotel covers taxi fairs is brilliant. Got there, slept and left the next morning (it was literally a crash pad) however we did have chips and dip which was brilliant! On the way home we were coming from 5 hours on a bus from puerto viejo, hence the two nights as we didnt fancy 24 hrs travelling the next day and we were impressed. We had the chips and dip again (awesome guac) and used it as our base for an alajuela day out. Very pleasant hotel, clean, helpful staff, convenient and a great respite for the weary traveller.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica

Address: 4km west from SJO International Airport | On the Interamerican Highway, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Aeropuerto San Jose Airport Costa Rica)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring free transportation from and to SJO International airport, this comfortable hotel is an ideal base for your trip (3 stars). Those traveling long distances will particularly appreciate the proximity of the hotel to the motorway. The hotel is located in direct proximity to the airport (4.0 km). The reception desk, which is manned 24 hours, also has a hotel safe. The hotel provides free WI-FI in your room or via a wireless connection in public areas. Feel free to enjoy room service or the wake-up facility when staying at the hotel. The hotel operates a suite of business facilities. The friendly team at reception will provide you with more information on the hotel's own car rental offer. Don't worry about finding a parking space, the hotel offers free parking for guests. The rooms benefit from cable television and telephones. All bathrooms are naturally equipped with a hairdryer. Do you want to book a non-smoking room? Are you traveling with your family and do you need a cot? We will gladly cater for your wishes - please indicate them when booking your room. Your room also has a safe. Air-conditioning ensures that the room temperature is always comfortable. Whether you just want to play around or you take your training seriously, the hotel swimming pool is there for you! Forget the worries of the day as you enjoy a relaxing massage. Treat yourself to a meal in the restaurant, with outdoor seating, where diabetics and vegetarians can find tasty dishes too. In the evening we will welcome you to the hotel bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aeropuerto Hotel Alajuela
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.