We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel, good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica to your Saves list
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
4km west from SJO International Airport | On the Interamerican Highway, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Aeropuerto San Jose Airport Costa Rica)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“good hotel, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

i stayed here for one night. The hotel is close to the airport like 5 min drive. They offer a free shuttle to the airport, what they do is they pay for your taxi, so if you are in the airport get a orange official taxi and let them know you are going hotel aeropuerto and you dont have to pay. They only give a free shuttle on your check in and check out.
Service was good, from Juan carlos in the restaurant to David and the rest of the front desk people.
They were very flexible and willing to help with all of our request. The pool is nice, breakfast its good. They have a bar and business room.
Their rooms are okay, kinda outdated but for the price is okay. Wifi in the lobby!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAeropuerto, Owner at Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Dscr9 thank for staying with us and for the good review posted, I David and the rest of the hotel’s front desk team thank you for speaking good of the service provided, currently we are continuously working on the renovation of our rooms & entire property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    82
    21
    12
    11
See reviews for
50
72
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

With some renovation, this place could be first class. Service is friendly and professional. Service to and from the airport is reliable (Hotels pays for a cab from, and provides a van to), and the grounds and pool area are pleasant. Rooms, however, show their age and wear. Overall, however, a decent value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAeropuerto, Owner at Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Writer9 thank for staying with us and for the good review posted, we always try our best to provide excellent service to our guest and we are continuously working on the renovation of our rooms & entire property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wi
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Although we arrived late and left fairly early, Hotel Aeropuerto more than me our needs. As they advised we took an orange cab from the airport which the hotel paid. For some reason, the two of us were given a room with 3 double beds which was not fancy, but more than met our needs. Cold beverages in lobby fridges were available for purchase. The substantial breakfast was served in a pleasant airy room. Although we did not have time to use it, the pool looked inviting. Desk personnel were professional, friendly and helpful. Later in Costa Rica we met expats who said they stayed there regularly when flying in and out of San Jose.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAeropuerto, Owner at Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear meandering5 thank for staying with us and for the good review posted, we are glad our transfer service meet your needs, probably the room was given to you because the rooms is bigger and the front desk is always looking to pamper the guest we thought you were going to enjoy more space unfortunately the bigger room was not good for you, we have an extensive list of recurring customers as you saw during your journey in the country. We hope to have you again in the future with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We arrived quite late at SJO and nothing could be simpler than to just get in a cab and have them take you right to this hotel. Fall into bed and get up the next morning to a very pleasant breakfast. The rooms are a little dated and since Costa Rica is so humid, they are a little funky. But they were very clean. After we ran the humidifier and air conditioner for a bit, they were more comfortable. Definitely a good value, especially for tourists headed north out of town the next day - no dealing with the traffic near SJO.

Room Tip: If you are only staying one night - what does it matter?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAeropuerto, Owner at Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Quilter149 thank you for your review and is good to know you were satisfied with our 24/7 free shuttle and breakfast, regarding the room’s humidity we are always rotating the dehumidifiers through the rooms in order to avoid this situation. Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedham, Maine
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Spent one night here after arriving on late flight. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was average with bright flourescent lights. Pool is very nice and complimentary breakfast was also good. Room cost about $100/night and is about 8 minute ride from airport.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAeropuerto, Owner at Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Arowhed, thank you for your good rating, we will pass your comment to the staff to let them know they are doing a good job.
Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, Uk
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We arrived in San Jose Airport at 10.30pm after travelling for twenty hours so we were weary and just wanted to get our heads down. What could be easier than following the clear instructions from the hotel to take a taxi (they even described the uniform of the driver) to the hotel and they would pay the fee. We were soon in our pleasant clean room overlooking the pool and we slept well. The next morning we had a good breakfast and a smart minibus took us to the airport - again free. Very convenient and really good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

The staff is nice, the hotel is clean and the shuttle to the airport is free and on-time. The decor is dated and the pool needed a good cleaning (unlike the last time we stayed here). But for convenience and price, I'd probably recommend it and stay here again.

Room Tip: The whole place is set back from the road with walls surrounding the property, so any room is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica

Address: 4km west from SJO International Airport | On the Interamerican Highway, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Aeropuerto San Jose Airport Costa Rica)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring free transportation from and to SJO International airport, this comfortable hotel is an ideal base for your trip (3 stars). Those traveling long distances will particularly appreciate the proximity of the hotel to the motorway. The hotel is located in direct proximity to the airport (4.0 km). The reception desk, which is manned 24 hours, also has a hotel safe. The hotel provides free WI-FI in your room or via a wireless connection in public areas. Feel free to enjoy room service or the wake-up facility when staying at the hotel. The hotel operates a suite of business facilities. The friendly team at reception will provide you with more information on the hotel's own car rental offer. Don't worry about finding a parking space, the hotel offers free parking for guests. The rooms benefit from cable television and telephones. All bathrooms are naturally equipped with a hairdryer. Do you want to book a non-smoking room? Are you traveling with your family and do you need a cot? We will gladly cater for your wishes - please indicate them when booking your room. Your room also has a safe. Air-conditioning ensures that the room temperature is always comfortable. Whether you just want to play around or you take your training seriously, the hotel swimming pool is there for you! Forget the worries of the day as you enjoy a relaxing massage. Treat yourself to a meal in the restaurant, with outdoor seating, where diabetics and vegetarians can find tasty dishes too. In the evening we will welcome you to the hotel bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aeropuerto Hotel Alajuela
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.