We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel by the airport with incredible staff and a warm atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica to your Saves list
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
4km west from SJO International Airport | On the Interamerican Highway, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Aeropuerto San Jose Airport Costa Rica)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel by the airport with incredible staff and a warm atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

I've stayed at this hotel 5 different times and each time the staff took incredible care of me. They're very genuine people who truly love to help. The rooms are comfortable, budget hotel style with two queen-sized beds in each. They serve a good breakfast in the morning and the free taxi to and from the airport is a big plus! The restaurant serves excellent food and is definitely worth eating at. I've eaten at a few other restaurants in the area, and the quality was much better at this hotel's restaurant than the others - and it was the same price.

Room Tip: The rooms that face the pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    84
    25
    12
    12
See reviews for
50
79
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

This hotel is a great place to stay for late arrival and early departures from San Jose. The taxi's take you right to the hotel which is 5 minutes away and are paid for by the hotel. The same on departure. The rooms are clean and basic. There is a restaurant in the hotel and the food is very good. Breakfast was included. The staff at the desk were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We stayed at this hotel the first and last nights of our vacation because we had a late
flight in and an early flight out of San Jose. They provide airport shuttle and will take
care of getting a rent car dropped off at the hotel. That made the rent car situation much
easier - not having to drive out of an airport late at night or having to turn in a car early
in the morning. You get a real Costa Rican flavor instead of the "chain hotels". We felt
we received good value for a hotel that was reasonably priced. We'll certainly stay there
again if our flights are early/late.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Colorado
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

The staff was very helpful. We stayed there when we arrived and also when we departed. When we arrived, the person at the desk called our rental car company and arranged for them to pick us up. They were very helpful with suggesting routes and had good knowledge of the country. Everyone we talked to was fluent in both Spanish and English. The breakfast was good. We would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

This is absolutely the most convenient hotel to the airport, a few minutes away and easy to navigate for those renting a car. However, it is a very modest hotel-think Motel 6. The beds and furnishings are marginal, the grounds are not extensive,it's on a busy street and the pool is cold. The restaurant was decent, staff was friendly and helpful, and there was easy free internet. Unless you need to stay somewhere coming or going from the airport, I would not recommend this as a vacation destination.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

I would personaly not recommend, although my stay was very short. This place definitely needs to be refreshed especially the dreadful carpet. Oldish place with absolutly no charm. We chose the place to be close to the airport, but in Alajuela you're always close to the airport. So no seanse. Rooms itself are OK. Beds are good and enough space.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waitakere City, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

I've been traveling to Costa Rica for almost 20 years now, and I've made Hotel Aeropuerto my beginning and end to each trip. Conveniently located only a few km from SJO International Airport, the friendly staff at Hotel Aeropuerto have made me feel welcome each and every time I've been there. Little touches like the flower blossoms on the towels, or a friendly smile have made me feel right at home.
Their swimming pool is most inviting too. Plenty of chairs in the sun or in the shade.
The restaurant is not to be missed either. The food is excellent, and the breakfast buffet will satisfy even the hungriest appetite.
If you're looking for a hotel that truly embodies the 'pura vida' spirit, give Hotel Aeropuerto a try.

Room Tip: All their rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica

Address: 4km west from SJO International Airport | On the Interamerican Highway, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Aeropuerto San Jose Airport Costa Rica)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring free transportation from and to SJO International airport, this comfortable hotel is an ideal base for your trip (3 stars). Those traveling long distances will particularly appreciate the proximity of the hotel to the motorway. The hotel is located in direct proximity to the airport (4.0 km). The reception desk, which is manned 24 hours, also has a hotel safe. The hotel provides free WI-FI in your room or via a wireless connection in public areas. Feel free to enjoy room service or the wake-up facility when staying at the hotel. The hotel operates a suite of business facilities. The friendly team at reception will provide you with more information on the hotel's own car rental offer. Don't worry about finding a parking space, the hotel offers free parking for guests. The rooms benefit from cable television and telephones. All bathrooms are naturally equipped with a hairdryer. Do you want to book a non-smoking room? Are you traveling with your family and do you need a cot? We will gladly cater for your wishes - please indicate them when booking your room. Your room also has a safe. Air-conditioning ensures that the room temperature is always comfortable. Whether you just want to play around or you take your training seriously, the hotel swimming pool is there for you! Forget the worries of the day as you enjoy a relaxing massage. Treat yourself to a meal in the restaurant, with outdoor seating, where diabetics and vegetarians can find tasty dishes too. In the evening we will welcome you to the hotel bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aeropuerto Hotel Alajuela
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.