We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stellar service. Unforgettable experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xandari Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Xandari Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Xandari Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Cayman Islands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Stellar service. Unforgettable experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I spent an amazing week at Xandari with 20 other people visiting Costa Rica for a wedding. From pre-arrival assistance with excursion selection to welcome impromptu property tours; from soulful spa experiences to fresh and delicious meals every single day, my time at Xandari was memorable in every way. The employees provided service that was consistently five star: Jose, Alex, Alejandro, Konrad, Lucy and their colleagues are truly committed to making guests feel like their needs are priority and delivering above expectations every single time. The bride and groom were also very pleased with everything from beginning to end. The guest book in the lobby includes reviews from guests who have been returning to Xandari for as long as 16 years. After my experience, I completely understand why. I do plan to visit Xandari again and I am very much looking forward to it. Xandari and the wonderful team there can make your travel desires possible. I confidently recommend this resort and spa.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    85
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
114
239
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

The first two nights of our Costa Rican holiday started at this lovely Hotel and what a place to start. set in the hills above San Jose. Very friendly staff, delicious food served in a dining area with open views to the surrounding countryside beautiful at night.. Lovely comfortable villas set in beautiful grounds. A lovely Spa area and several pools set in different areas so that no one is too far from one. Lovely walks to a waterfall through orange groves and landscaped gardens........We spent our last night here too a great way to end our wonderful tour of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Xandari and it was glorious. The villas are stunning, the food lovely, the staff fantastic,the swimming pool fabulous and the grounds amazing!! The view overlooking the central region was so beautiful and we hope one day to return. After our stay there, we headed south to the Manuel Antonio area and although our hotel was fine, it didn't compare AT ALL to Xandari and we kept comparing everything.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view and apparently each one is a little different. We had #26 and liked that it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Like many hotels in Costa Rica, you arrive through a security gate. They should call the guard St. Peter because this hotel is heavenly. It is situated on a hill with acres of landscaped tropical grounds with trails throughout. There are 3 swimming pools, one called the sunset pool where you can sit and watch the sun set. There are also 3 km of walking trails.
You get 2 keys to your room. One key is for the gate into the gardens outside your room and the other to the room itself. The reason why the garden area is private is because the wall of the shower is glass and you can see the garden right from your shower. The toilet is in a separate smaller room. The room has a small sink and mini fridge. The soft drinks and the small snacks in it are free. You pay for any alcohol that you drink from the fridge.
The sleeping area has a king sized bed, built in bookshelves and a sofa and chairs. The far side of the room opens to a large balcony with a table and chairs and two lounge chairs. The view from the balcony is of the valley below. In the distance you can see Alejuela and the planes landing in SJO airport.
There is a small restaurant with good food in the lobby which also looks out over the valley. There is a conference room on the property in another small art studio. The decor throughout is modern.
We were part of a tour group that stayed for 2 nights in Xandari. We were all in awe of our accommodations. You have got to see it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We arrived somewhat frazzled in the dark after a 15 hour journey and a 20 minute drive from the airport and were taken to a villa with a vast room with attached bath shower and toilet area, huge bed and lots of lounging space. Bright Californian style decor, works of art by one of the owners Picture window overlooking the central valley, lit up at night, with total privacy. Natural air flow which needed investigation of adjustment to cut out draughts. We were too tired to go to the restaurant so had room service which was brought to us by an extremely kind and motherly waitress, just what we needed.
The following morning we called a golf buggy to take us some distance uphill through the beautiful botanical garden to the main building. Very good breakfast choice with same caring waitress with a view over the valley. Very helpful front desk staff who directed us to a walk through the grounds to a waterfall and back to our room. we had an excellent lunch and a walk through the artists studio with more attractive pictures by the owner then a siesta followed by a massage in the spa,whiich we had been charmingly sold by the delightful and amusing receptionist. After an excellent dinner an early night
The following morning early I was taken for a birdwatching walk by Jose from the front desk. we saw clearly nearly 30 species in about an hour.
We left shortly after breakfast.
It was the perfect start to a wonderful Costa Rica holiday and we would have happily stayed a couple of more days at Xandari

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthews nc
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Hard to explain how superb this place is. It was our second visit and was even better than the first, which we found hard to believe. Our villa (23) was paradise. The courtyard, the balcony, the view down to the lights of San Jose, the colorful interior, well, just everything, was perfection. The gardens on the property are just exquisite and the waterfalls hike was thrilling. Lucy, at the front desk, was so friendly and helpful. It was one of the highlights of our entire trip. Don't miss it!

Room Tip: The stand alone prima plus villas are heavenly in all ways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deltaville, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

After a week on the Star Flyer we stayed at the Xandari for two nights to recover our land legs. It's hard to enumerate the many fabulous aspects of this resort. The villas (mostly duplex) with private balconies are staggered amidst a botanical garden of delights: wild orchids, exotic plants and hundreds of fruit trees are everywhere you turn. The view from the open air dining room is exquisite. An artist's touch is evident in the lobby/bar/dining room as well as each room, plus the artist's studio on the grounds. Partakers of a massage or other spa treatment will be delighted by the services, plus the waterfall right outside. Xandari is environmentally conscious, growing many of the organic fruits and vegetables on the menu.

There is a reason walking sticks are available in the reception area: you can expect to walk a lot on beautifully maintained paths, as well as more rugged terrain if you wish to climb over 300 steps to see one of the four waterfalls on the property. If you'd rather relax, ask for a villa near the dining area, or near the spa if you plan to spend time there. (I'm pretty sure they'd send a golf cart to transport you if needed.)

If you're willing to get up early, one of the staff will take you on a guided tour to point out the magnificent birds flying free on the grounds, or other sights you might choose. You can visit the orchid & vegetables greenhouses on your own.

In planning this resort, owners Sherrill and Charlene Broudy were guided by this quote from architect Bertram Goodhue, ‘Make no little plans, they have no magic to stir a man’s heart.’ I for one am very grateful for their vision. My heart was certainly stirred. I shall return!

Room Tip: Villa 9 is near the dining room. Ask what's closer to the spa if you plan to spend time there. J...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Xandari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xandari Resort & Spa

Address: 1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#2 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xandari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xandari is a 40-acre plantation with botanical gardens, orchid house and over 5 kms of nature trails including five waterfalls. Xandari is the creation of an architect-artist couple, with 24 spacious villas overlooking the Central Valley. Only 20 minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport. In addition, three fabulous swimming pools, including the new 125 ft. long Sunset Pool with a stunning view, and two outdoor jacuzzis. The restaurant serves fresh & healthy continental and Costa Rican menu, featuring many organic fruits and vegetables from our own gardens. Xandari Spa Village is harmoniously integrated with nature and consists of a Yoga Room and five private palm-roofed jalapas with jacuzzi perched on a mountain ridge, where natural ingredients are used in massages and body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Xandari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari Resort And Spa
Xandari Hotel Alajuela
Xandari Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xandari Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.