We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG I can't believe this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xandari Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Xandari Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Xandari Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“OMG I can't believe this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Like many hotels in Costa Rica, you arrive through a security gate. They should call the guard St. Peter because this hotel is heavenly. It is situated on a hill with acres of landscaped tropical grounds with trails throughout. There are 3 swimming pools, one called the sunset pool where you can sit and watch the sun set. There are also 3 km of walking trails.
You get 2 keys to your room. One key is for the gate into the gardens outside your room and the other to the room itself. The reason why the garden area is private is because the wall of the shower is glass and you can see the garden right from your shower. The toilet is in a separate smaller room. The room has a small sink and mini fridge. The soft drinks and the small snacks in it are free. You pay for any alcohol that you drink from the fridge.
The sleeping area has a king sized bed, built in bookshelves and a sofa and chairs. The far side of the room opens to a large balcony with a table and chairs and two lounge chairs. The view from the balcony is of the valley below. In the distance you can see Alejuela and the planes landing in SJO airport.
There is a small restaurant with good food in the lobby which also looks out over the valley. There is a conference room on the property in another small art studio. The decor throughout is modern.
We were part of a tour group that stayed for 2 nights in Xandari. We were all in awe of our accommodations. You have got to see it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    88
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
115
249
16
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We arrived somewhat frazzled in the dark after a 15 hour journey and a 20 minute drive from the airport and were taken to a villa with a vast room with attached bath shower and toilet area, huge bed and lots of lounging space. Bright Californian style decor, works of art by one of the owners Picture window overlooking the central valley, lit up at night, with total privacy. Natural air flow which needed investigation of adjustment to cut out draughts. We were too tired to go to the restaurant so had room service which was brought to us by an extremely kind and motherly waitress, just what we needed.
The following morning we called a golf buggy to take us some distance uphill through the beautiful botanical garden to the main building. Very good breakfast choice with same caring waitress with a view over the valley. Very helpful front desk staff who directed us to a walk through the grounds to a waterfall and back to our room. we had an excellent lunch and a walk through the artists studio with more attractive pictures by the owner then a siesta followed by a massage in the spa,whiich we had been charmingly sold by the delightful and amusing receptionist. After an excellent dinner an early night
The following morning early I was taken for a birdwatching walk by Jose from the front desk. we saw clearly nearly 30 species in about an hour.
We left shortly after breakfast.
It was the perfect start to a wonderful Costa Rica holiday and we would have happily stayed a couple of more days at Xandari

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthews nc
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Hard to explain how superb this place is. It was our second visit and was even better than the first, which we found hard to believe. Our villa (23) was paradise. The courtyard, the balcony, the view down to the lights of San Jose, the colorful interior, well, just everything, was perfection. The gardens on the property are just exquisite and the waterfalls hike was thrilling. Lucy, at the front desk, was so friendly and helpful. It was one of the highlights of our entire trip. Don't miss it!

Room Tip: The stand alone prima plus villas are heavenly in all ways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deltaville, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

After a week on the Star Flyer we stayed at the Xandari for two nights to recover our land legs. It's hard to enumerate the many fabulous aspects of this resort. The villas (mostly duplex) with private balconies are staggered amidst a botanical garden of delights: wild orchids, exotic plants and hundreds of fruit trees are everywhere you turn. The view from the open air dining room is exquisite. An artist's touch is evident in the lobby/bar/dining room as well as each room, plus the artist's studio on the grounds. Partakers of a massage or other spa treatment will be delighted by the services, plus the waterfall right outside. Xandari is environmentally conscious, growing many of the organic fruits and vegetables on the menu.

There is a reason walking sticks are available in the reception area: you can expect to walk a lot on beautifully maintained paths, as well as more rugged terrain if you wish to climb over 300 steps to see one of the four waterfalls on the property. If you'd rather relax, ask for a villa near the dining area, or near the spa if you plan to spend time there. (I'm pretty sure they'd send a golf cart to transport you if needed.)

If you're willing to get up early, one of the staff will take you on a guided tour to point out the magnificent birds flying free on the grounds, or other sights you might choose. You can visit the orchid & vegetables greenhouses on your own.

In planning this resort, owners Sherrill and Charlene Broudy were guided by this quote from architect Bertram Goodhue, ‘Make no little plans, they have no magic to stir a man’s heart.’ I for one am very grateful for their vision. My heart was certainly stirred. I shall return!

Room Tip: Villa 9 is near the dining room. Ask what's closer to the spa if you plan to spend time there. J...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Driving up to the main building through exotic flowering trees and shrubs creates a wonderful first impression. This continues. The whole hotel has been beautifully thought out and designed. It is an art-lovers dream, mosaics, carvings, wall hangings and paintings everywhere. Lots of lovely architectural touches in the beautiful rooms. The restaurant has excellent food and very friendly staff. There are three big swimming pools - so you nearly always have one to yourself!
There are good walks all over the extensive grounds. Can't say a word against it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodden Town, Grand Cayman
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

My husband and I chose Xandari to get married this month and it was the best joint decision we have made thus far. Firstly, the grounds are gorgeous. There is literally no reason to leave. There are pools, orchards, waterfalls, and if that isn't enough, they will arrange off site tours for you as well. Second, the food is impeccable. There is something for everyone and the freshness practically radiates off the food. Last but not least, the customer service is 10/10. Juan, Juan Jose, Alexander, and Konrad took care of us and our guests and went above and beyond the call of duty to assist in any way necessary.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We actually thought we were staying closer to San Jose, but chose this place based on our friend's recommendation. It is just beautiful. We were given room 20 which at first glance seemed okay, but it had no wifi,no curtain, a small bathroom and a very chilly feeling. We asked for another room and got a room closer to the spa. It was magnificent. The bathroom was huge and the view was incredible. We took a hike on the very well marked and maintained trail on the property. It was somewhat challenging and not a mere stroll on flat paths. Wear good shoes, it was worth the time and effort. Breakfast is good with fresh orange juice, dinner is fine, too!

Room Tip: Try to get a room near the spa or at least look at a second room if you are not satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Xandari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xandari Resort & Spa

Address: 1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#2 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xandari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xandari is a 40-acre plantation with botanical gardens, orchid house and over 5 kms of nature trails including five waterfalls. Xandari is the creation of an architect-artist couple, with 24 spacious villas overlooking the Central Valley. Only 20 minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport. In addition, three fabulous swimming pools, including the new 125 ft. long Sunset Pool with a stunning view, and two outdoor jacuzzis. The restaurant serves fresh & healthy continental and Costa Rican menu, featuring many organic fruits and vegetables from our own gardens. Xandari Spa Village is harmoniously integrated with nature and consists of a Yoga Room and five private palm-roofed jalapas with jacuzzi perched on a mountain ridge, where natural ingredients are used in massages and body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Xandari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari Resort And Spa
Xandari Hotel Alajuela
Xandari Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xandari Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.