We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Anniversary getaway ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xandari Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Xandari Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
Xandari Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 29 hotels in Alajuela
Miami
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Anniversary getaway ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Our stay at the Xandari resort in Costa Rica was magical, the food was exquisite, the people were fantastic, and the views were breathtaking. I would most definitely recommend this resort for couples, it was truly wonderful.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    344
    77
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
98
215
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarchi, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We live just 45 minutes from Xandari and so have visited there on occasion for lunch. During rainy season they have substantially reduced room rates and so we decided to spend the night there to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It was perfect. People from reception met us in the parking lot at our car to assist us, we were immediately offered the beverage of our choice, we were given a room upgrade, and a quick tour of the main building. We were impressed before we even saw our villa. Our villa (#4) could not have been lovelier--totally private, impeccably decorated, great outdoor space, and lots of little touches that made us feel as though we could stay there indefinitely and want for nothing. We visited the spa and were well-pampered. The restaurant was excellent and not terribly expensive. The Xandari staff is amazing--each and every person we dealt with was friendly, caring, and informative. We really felt special and we imagine that all guests do. We walked the trails--the grounds are spectacular with a number of waterfalls, a greenhouse, grazing animals, an orchard--simply lovely. There just is nothing the least bit negative to say about our experience at this place. We will return again and again. Our only concern is that Xandari may not be around forever. Apparently, the owner is in his nineties and there is some concern that his wife may not want to continue to be so involved once he is gone. It would be a huge loss if Xandari was sold or changed in any significant way. I would go there now to avoid any possibility of missing the experience of this idyllic place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

This was our first location on our holiday and we wanted somewhere nice. This was it! The private villas give you privacy and we lost awareness that other people were around. The design is impressive, the pools great and the gardens and maintenance very well cared for. Breakfast was delicious, however room service and the restaurant was a little under par, but I would definitely stay here again! Be prepared for isolation from reality and a perfect location for couples.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had been celebrating my Birthday vacation for 8 days all over Costa Rica and spent our last night at Xandari because it was very close to the International Airport. It was truly a MAGICAL experience from the moment we arrived to the last adios! A true gem at the top of the hill surrounded by coffee plantations with spectacular views of the lush tropical beauty during the day and of the city lights down below at night. We felt we were experiencing a little piece of Heaven as we strolled through the grounds and hiking trails at sunset taking in all the Spectacular vegetation and florals, the amazing statues and all the Beautiful bright colors!! The staff was VERY professional, informative and accommodating! We were greeted in the rain with umbrellas as we were exiting our taxi and offered coffee immediately. (a wonderful touch, sadly, I don't remember her name) Our villa had a spacious patio with a WONDERFUL view of all the tropical paradise and the city below. it was sooooo relaxing and peaceful. We were given a tour of the individual spa huts and introduced to the spa director and lucky spa dog Lucy. (The most pampered dog in all of Costa Rica :-) ) We oooohhhh'd and aaaaahhhhh'd over the couples massage room. What an Incredible view and unbelievably romantic! We can't wait to come back and get to experience some treatments. Christian was our dinner server. Our service couldn't have been any better and our food was delicious! Christian was very engaging and everything about our dining experience was PERFECT!! All staff we came in contact with were friendly, personable, helpful and happy!! We were sad we only had 1 night at Xandari but it was DEFINITELY THE MOST SPECIAL way to end our Costa Rica vacation. We are already planning our trip back to Costa Rica next summer beginning with XANDARI Resort and Spa!!! Very highly recommend to all flying in or out of San Jose airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel one night last week and found it to be a tremendous value. We ate two meals at the restaurant (dinner and complimentary continental breakfast) and both were very good and the views from the restaurant at night and during breakfast were awesome. The included continental breakfast did not include hot items but you can eat as much of the items they offer and everything is brought to your table (full service). They did offer hard boiled eggs and multiple types of cheese and ham and turkey.

The room was very well appointed and clean and offered a great view of the valley.

Every employee we came in contact with was extremely friendly.

I visited several five star hotels in Costa Rica and in my opinion this hotel had the most beautiful vegetation. We also enjoyed the nature trails, the decoration of the rooms and common areas and the grounds in general.

If I am ever again in San Jose, I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here for our last night in CR before heading to the airport the next day as many other traveler's seem to do...I can see why!

The hotel is beautiful with huge villa style rooms overlooking the valley. The spa is a great place to relax, I had the full body massage which I would highly recommend and is carried out in your own private hut with private jacuzzi. Dinner at the restaurant was very good and reasonably priced, the food isn't fantastic but then that seems to be typical of CR.

The only let down of this hotel was the breakfast. For the price we paid I would expect a full breakfast (as we had had at all other hotels we stayed in in CR). Unfortunately the breakfast included in the room rate is only continental and to have the typical CR breakfast (which would have been nice to finish the holiday with) or even an egg is chargeable. The coffee at breakfast was awful (but the coffee in the room was amazing)! This seems a bit ironic since the hotel is an ex-coffee plantation however when complaining to the waiter he said it was out of a machine and it just comes like that...hence we did not buy any coffee here.

Great hotel, location (~20min drive to airport) and end to our holiday, if the hotel sorted out breakfast then it would have been perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We finished a 13 day tour of Costa Rica with a night at Xandari before our flight. It is a wonderful place - great, huge, attractive rooms full of artwork, terrific restaurant, attentive staff, amazing grounds and a spa as a bonus. We ate in the restaurant, hiked the trails, admired the buildings and views and the amazing view of San Jose at night. We would recommend this to anyone going to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: This is a small, boutique hotel. I believe any room will be special. We enjoyed Room 14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Xandari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xandari Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Xandari Resort And Spa
Xandari Hotel Alajuela
Xandari Hotel
Xandari Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela
Address: 1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Business Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xandari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xandari is a 40-acre plantation with botanical gardens, orchid house and over 5 kms of nature trails including five waterfalls. Xandari is the creation of an architect-artist couple, with 24 spacious villas overlooking the Central Valley. Only 20 minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport. In addition, three fabulous swimming pools, including the new 125 ft. long Sunset Pool with a stunning view, and two outdoor jacuzzis. The restaurant serves fresh & healthy continental and Costa Rican menu, featuring many organic fruits and vegetables from our own gardens. Xandari Spa Village is harmoniously integrated with nature and consists of a Yoga Room and five private palm-roofed jalapas with jacuzzi perched on a mountain ridge, where natural ingredients are used in massages and body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Xandari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xandari Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.