We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place of calm when travelling in and out of Costa Rica via San Jose airport” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Xandari Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Xandari Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Xandari Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 hotels in Alajuela
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A place of calm when travelling in and out of Costa Rica via San Jose airport”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Only here overnight before leaving Costa Rica but managed to do the walking trails to the waterfalls in the extensive garden of this hotel built on the site of an old plantation and swam in one of the three pools. The view from the restaurant over the gardens with San Jose city in the distance is stunning and there is a lot of wildlife to see.
The hotel welcome is as friendly as ever as we have found in our 2 weeks here plus the inevitable fruit punch - which was very refreshing. The hotel reception is set in lovely luscious gardens and what strikes you is the fantastic colours that the buildings are painted - bright blue and pinks. There is also loads of brightly coloured art and 'Gaudiesque' mosaic bar and tables.
We had lunch and dinner there. A lovely salad at lunch and a disappointing evening meal for me - trying to have a traditional last Costa Rica meal and my beef with onions was very chewy and tough. At breakfast have the tower of health - a lovely combination of yoghurt, granola and fresh fruit.
Wildlife and gardens means you need to accept there will be loads of bugs especially in the early evening! It seemed flying beetles had a death wish and dive bombed our balcony glass doors between 6-7pm before we went to dinner when we had the lights on in the room.
Rooms are clean and comfortable - no air con but was fine as there is plenty of shade around the villas.

Room Tip: There are lots of paths through the gardens between rooms so ask for one near reception if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    374
    85
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
112
236
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR USA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Short ride to/from airport. We stayed at Xandari on our way back to USA after a week in Costa Rica. We were met at the airport by the Xandari shuttle and a man holding a sign with our name on it. Gorgeous hotel and grounds. We had about 3 hours of sunlight after arriving. That was plenty of time to walk though the grounds of this old coffee plantation (no pun intended). Wonderful botanical gardens. Walked to a waterfall. Enjoyed one of the 3 beautiful swimming pools on the grounds. Our room had wonderful arched, high ceilings. Nice view of the city below. The cool air at this elevation was a welcome break after a week at the ocean. Ate at the restaurant. Good dinner and reasonably priced on the patio with the same wonderful view of the city lights below. The drive through Alajuela was quick but an interesting glimpse at one of CR's biggest cities. Would absolutely stay here again. Probably wouldn't stay more than one night. And.... The staff was excellent.

Room Tip: Make sure you've got a view. If you are staying one night, our room #12 was perfect. Probably wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winipeg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Just returned from a trip to Costa Rica and Nicaragua.

Stayed at Xandari for 3 nights and I have not 1 negative comment. The staff are top notch. Always smiling, always asking if there is something they can do to help.

we only ate 1 breakfast and 1 lunch so I cant comment on the dinner menu.

The included breakfast is great and is more than sufficient for most. Very tasty and very fresh.

if you have a chance to stay there definetly do so. Its just 20 minutes or so from the airport. The airport is actually in Alajuela not San Jose.
5 stars isnt enough.
Thanks for the wonderful service. We will be back

Doug and June

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Not far from the airport, this delightful and peaceful place is built on hillside overlooking Alajuela and in what was previously a coffee plantation. The owners are very ecologically minded and are restoring the area into lovely exotic gardens, enticing back the local birds. Rooms and furnishings and verandah fine, quirky but lovely artwork on the walls, arty but not too comfortable furniture! I'm for all things ecological, but not to the point of making it very difficult if not impossible to get wifi connection! The restaurant was ok, but not inspiring, breakfast disappointing given the room price - quite insulting to have to pay extra to get decent fried eggs! Service fine and friendly staff though....

Room Tip: As near to reception & restaurant as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed here for the last 2 nights if our honeymoon.

We were given a very friendly welcome and shown to our extremely spacious villa.

This hotel is a great place if you want to just unwind and immerse yourself in the relaxing surroundings. It is not a place to go if you want a lot of action. Fortunately we did not.

Pros

Idyllic grounds full of beautiful flowers and interesting artwork.
Great swimming pools x 3.
Excellent food in the restaurant at all meals.
Friendly attentive staff.
Great views and interesting nature trails.

Cons

Not loads to do but that is not really the premise.

We would definitely recommend this place for a few nights!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

A delightful spot to spend a day or many more, Xandari looks down from the hills above Alajuela but remains apart from the busy world below. Beautiful, spacious well tended gardens surround each bungalow. There are trails down the hillside to a series of waterfalls for those who need the exercise and three swimming pools with sunloungers to spare. Colour is everything and the birds that flit and flutter around the garden compete with bright plumage and chattering song. Rooms are beautiful and spacious like the gardens and then there's the restaurant, fine food and a view to match. Maybe this isn't paradise but it's as close as we've been for many a year.

Room Tip: All the rooms are sunny and have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We recently stayed one night at Xandari, returning from our week-long visit to a yoga-surf resort near Santa Teresa, Costa Rica. One night was not enough time to experience all that this tropical paradise has to offer. After a long taxi ride from the airport, we were met at the front entrance by the owner, Sherrill, who offered us a delicious cold fruit drink and explained the many features of the hotel. Then,Sherrill and her assistant, drove us in a golf cart to our brightly painted private casita, surrounded by lush tropical vegetation. Our casita was large, clean with a commanding view of San Jose and the surrounding mountains. The bathroom was huge and included a bright blue curved shower enclosure that faced yet another beautiful private tropical garden.

Our dinning experience was even better. Christian, our server, was absolutely charming, attentive, very professional and seated us at table with a great view of the city lights. We ordered the humus "sampler" appetizer, the catch-of-the-day entrée, and chicken quesadilla. Everything was delicious and expertly presented.

After a delicious buffet breakfast in the restaurant the next morning, we toured the vast, well maintained gardens surrounding the hotel. Such a delightful variety of brightly colored tropical vegetation, garden ornaments, pools and trails - the orchid house is a "must-see". Our only complaint was the lack of a heater in our casita, as the early morning was quite cold. And, as a tall person with an injured back, the concrete platform bed was just too low and I found it very uncomfortable. We would, however, recommend Xandari as a tropical paradise experience with great food and service.

Room Tip: Private casita located at the east end of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Xandari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xandari Resort & Spa

Address: 1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#2 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xandari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xandari is a 40-acre plantation with botanical gardens, orchid house and over 5 kms of nature trails including five waterfalls. Xandari is the creation of an architect-artist couple, with 24 spacious villas overlooking the Central Valley. Only 20 minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport. In addition, three fabulous swimming pools, including the new 125 ft. long Sunset Pool with a stunning view, and two outdoor jacuzzis. The restaurant serves fresh & healthy continental and Costa Rican menu, featuring many organic fruits and vegetables from our own gardens. Xandari Spa Village is harmoniously integrated with nature and consists of a Yoga Room and five private palm-roofed jalapas with jacuzzi perched on a mountain ridge, where natural ingredients are used in massages and body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Xandari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari Resort And Spa
Xandari Hotel Alajuela
Xandari Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xandari Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.