We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xandari Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Xandari Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Xandari Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 hotels in Alajuela
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I can't rate this hotel highly enough. If you have an early flight, it is only 15 minutes from the airport (20-25 mins during the day), yet the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in a gorgeous mountain setting. Stunning artistic rooms with thoughtful touches like cutlery/plates, free minibar (non-alcoholic) and boxed breakfast for those with an early start. 2-3 hours' worth of attractive hiking trails through jungle & orchards on the premises (though be prepared for quite a few steps!). Excellent food and cocktails. Wonderful pool. Equally perfect for honeymooners and families, and a wonderful place to end (or start) a Costa Rican trip. Easily the nicest hotel we stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    374
    85
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
112
236
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights at Xandari on arrival in Costa Rica and it was the perfect wind down after busy work weeks and to set us up for the adventures ahead elsewhere in Costa Rica. The hotel do offer advice on tours, but as we had planned those for later in the trip we took full advantage of time to relax. The hotel was ideally situated, only 20 minutes from San Jose airport and yet on arrival you would not know this. The views we had from our "cottage" were stunning, looking out across the valley to the mountains beyond. The staff were wonderful, friendly and efficient and willing to accommodate including driving us or our drinks between hotel and rooms when we didn't want to carry! We loved the grounds which are so well laid out and a joy to "lose" yourself in. I could not find fault with our accommodation. Brightly colored, light and airy and well serviced. It was incredible waking up and literally opening eyes to such splendid views with the huge windows, then walking into the fabulous shower room - one of my favourite things about the rooms - with its own garden! Spa service was excellent - we took advantage of the full afternoon package and pools were lovely - clean and a nice design, again with amazing views. I would definitely return, and hope to soon.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We spent two nights at Xandari because it was so close to the airport. We just loved it, its hard to believe its only a half an hour drive from the airport. The hotel and views are outstanding. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The food is of a very high quality. We had a day spa which was total, pampering luxury. This is a tropical paradise and highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent our last two days in Costa Rica at Xandari because it is close to the airport, yet seemed to offer a beautiful setting for a nice last experience. It is located at the top of a mountain with a sweeping view of the central valley and Alajuela. Beautiful grounds with good hiking to five different waterfalls. It feels a little like Big Sur in the 60s, with lots of vibrant colors and interesting architectural elements and shapes. Our room, or casita, was quite nice, although a good hike to get to the restaurant (this was only a problem after dinner when we had forgotten our flashlight and had to take the road). It's very low lighting at night. There was a huge family group there, about 25 or 30 people of all ages, from young to old, and they dominated the restaurant, with three or four large tables taking up the spots that would have normally been for couples. The staff managed well, however. The food in the restaurant was good, not great, and reasonably priced. The complimentary breakfast buffet was good--fresh fruit and breads. We arranged a volcano tour through the hotel (it is very close to Poas Volcano), which was interesting. If you don't have a car, you are pretty much stuck at the hotel, as there is nothing else around it. We didn't do any of the spa services as they seemed very expensive, but the setting looked nice. I think two days is plenty here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had no knowledge of Xandari before booking our villa for the last two nights of our vacation other than a recommendation from the Moon Costa Rica guide. We thought it sounded nice and that it would be good to be close to the airport. We were so happy with everything about the resort that we can't wait to go back and stay longer! The view from our villa (the Star) was amazing! My husband and I spent a lot of time just sitting on the terrace enjoying the sights and sounds. The whole family enjoyed exploring the grounds and hiking to the waterfalls. We were happy with the complimentary breakfast and found enough to be satisfied without ordering further from the menu. We enjoyed dinner in the restaurant and found the prices to be quite reasonable and the food delicious. Complimentary soft drinks, juices, bottled water, and cookies in the villa was an unexpected delight. My daughters and I found several things in the gift shop that we couldn't go home without -- very high quality. The staff was friendly, professional, and so helpful. It was a lovely gesture that our breakfast for our early morning departure was packed and ready for us to take back to the villa as we finished dinner on the last night. I had read this was an offered service, but we hadn't even asked! So thoughtful! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Xandari is perfect paradise. The architecture, the art, the incredible botannical gardens, the paths that wind through the hilly jungle and the gardens, the waterfalls, the view of San Jose's nightime lights sparkling below, the lovely restaurant that uses fruits, vegetable & herbs raised in the gardens, and the gracious staff... all make for a wonderful experience. We stayed in villas 23 and 24 and had absolutely no complaints or suggestions for improvement. The owners, an architect and an artist, have certainly realized their vision of a beautiful environment where parts flow together so well. The website photos hardly do it justice. The price is quite reasonable for the quality of the stay. This was our 5th hotel in a Costa Rican trip and by far the best for adults.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Xandari's property is extremely beautiful, with sweeping views of the valley and colorful architecture. We did not stay there as guests but went to their spa. I had a wonderful hot stone massage and pedicure. Very relaxing. I think I will stay there the next time I am in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Xandari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xandari Resort & Spa

Address: 1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#2 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xandari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xandari is a 40-acre plantation with botanical gardens, orchid house and over 5 kms of nature trails including five waterfalls. Xandari is the creation of an architect-artist couple, with 24 spacious villas overlooking the Central Valley. Only 20 minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport. In addition, three fabulous swimming pools, including the new 125 ft. long Sunset Pool with a stunning view, and two outdoor jacuzzis. The restaurant serves fresh & healthy continental and Costa Rican menu, featuring many organic fruits and vegetables from our own gardens. Xandari Spa Village is harmoniously integrated with nature and consists of a Yoga Room and five private palm-roofed jalapas with jacuzzi perched on a mountain ridge, where natural ingredients are used in massages and body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Xandari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari Resort And Spa
Xandari Hotel Alajuela
Xandari Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xandari Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.