We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Xandari” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xandari Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Xandari Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Xandari Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Edmonton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Loved Xandari”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was my second trip to Costa Rica, and my first with Xandari. I was a little worried about trying to find transportation from the airport as we were arriving quite late. I contacted Xandari and they arranged for us to be picked up at a very reasonable rate. True to their word, when we went thru the last doors at the airport, the driver was there waiting. A 15 - 20 minute ride and we were at our destination. The villas are really cute - brightly coloured with eye catching decor. Different than any place I have ever stayed before. A large private patio. There was also a private courtyard in the front that you could access from either the bathroom area or thru the main door. There is a gate you can lock to restrict access to the courtyard. Waking in the morning to the beautiful sounds that you only hear in Costa Rica was refreshing. The birds in that resort are phenomenal and numerous. From the large tree outside the back patio, we could see up close all the little birds that rested there. hummingbirds, tanagers, woodpeckers, - we even seen a Motmot. There are 4 or 5 km worth of trails you can walk, and they are well kept. At one point there are several waterfalls along the trails - well worth the time spent hiking on them. This place is huge, and if you take the time to explore the grounds, you will find orange orchard, a green house, some farm animals, etc etc etc. The staff were always very helpful, very nice and very accommodating. The food was really good. The one thing I didn't like was that shower has a glass wall on the end that looks out into the private courtyard - and if not for that, I would have provided a higher rating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    86
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
114
244
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed two nights on a biking vacation and enjoyed the view, restaurant, pools and staff made our stay very comfortable - wished we had more time but had to move on - would recommend this to anyone traveling in Costa Rica and looking for a great resort. The service and food was great and the chef came to our table to make sure we were taken care of and asked if we needed anything more. Loved the view from out room overlooking San Jose.

Room Tip: every room is great with a view of the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This place was great from beginning to end. The staff was very accomodating and pleasant. The room was beautifully decorated and clean. The resort grounds were amazing. The spa was fantastic. The food was so fresh. To round this up, I would love to go back just to stay at this paradise.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

What an amazing place. I only got to spend one night here, before i left CR. the location is close to the airport, which is great. The service is on point. The rooms are large, private, thoughtful and comfy. We were able to get spa treatments the night we got in, the spa is spectacular! They have little Jacuzzi's overlooking the city, so after massages we sipped wine in our tub overlooking the city, so lovely and relaxing. Highly recommend. We also had dinner at the restaurant there, i was blown away by the food. Super delicious and fresh and ton's of veg options. Also, i was really impressed by the gift shop. They have a beautifully curated little gift shop and it's really affordable! I ended up getting a bunch of nice little gifts for petsitters and parents, beautiful hand made bowl and blankets, for under 50 bucks. I hope i get to go back and stay longer next time. My ONLY complaint was poor wifi in the room. I unfortunately had a bit of work to get done, and the wifi was really slow and only worked on the patio.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed at Xandari for 4 nights in October and it was a fantastic experience. The grounds are maintained to a tee and the views are breathtaking. They have done such a great job restoring natural habitat to what was a coffee plantation, giving us a full taste of the exotic plants and vegetation of Costa Rica.

The property size is great. We spend a lot of time walking through the trails, looking at plants, flowers, waterfalls, vistas, etc. We didn't have time (or money for transportation!) to do any other tours or visit other Costa Rican locations, but we felt like we got a really good taste of the country just by walking Xandari's grounds. The entire property is gated and guarded 24/7. We took a taxi to town a few times and the cab checked in/out of the property, which made us feel very safe.

Changing topics, the hot tubs are amazing. We spent several hours each night at the Sunset Pool hot tub, enjoying drinks and looking out at the night lights of Alajuela. I can't rave enough about the staff. Everyone was very kind and helpful. We were taken to the resort from SJO by a hired car (arranged by Xandari) for a mere $20, which was extremely helpful. We happened to use a Groupon for this trip, which made it a great value for the top-notch experience we received.

The rooms are great. The terraces are spacious, private from the neighboring rooms, and overlook the valley and city. Everything was great!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Beautiful spacious villas, spectacular views from every direction, delicious & fresh food, friendly staff this place had it all! I have no complaints. I went with 5 friends and we rented two villas. I slept on the couch/bed and was fine but I hear the beds were a little uncomfortable but they'd not dare have that keep them from returning. Xandari was everything and more it proclaimed to be on their web site. The complimentary breakfast was extensive and just as good as what you paid for during lunch and dinner which was very reasonable priced. No television in the rooms left us city girls a little void of the background noise but we kept busy swimming hiking and getting spa treatments. My only hesitation is making my review so great that I wont be able to enjoy the intimate environment we enjoyed because my gem will be discovered. Oh I can't wait to go back! and if you do take a walk go to the "Golden Pig restaurant" at the bottom of the hill. It's spanish speaking only but the food was to die for!

Room Tip: We had two villas one seperate sides of the grounds and both were beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartago, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Xandari Resort and Spa is so beautiful. Each room is really a suite, colorful, comfortable, beautiful views of San Jose from private balcony. The Spa is fantastic, and private, comfortable, great spa treatements.
At Xandari there are five waterfalls to walk to, Orchid greenhouse, a little farm where they grow vegetables that are used in the restaruant, beautiful, beautiful gardens, swimming pools, I can go on and on. Not to mention the restaurant.
I will be returning, again, and again, perfect place to get relaxed and centered.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Xandari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xandari Resort & Spa

Address: 1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#2 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xandari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xandari is a 40-acre plantation with botanical gardens, orchid house and over 5 kms of nature trails including five waterfalls. Xandari is the creation of an architect-artist couple, with 24 spacious villas overlooking the Central Valley. Only 20 minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport. In addition, three fabulous swimming pools, including the new 125 ft. long Sunset Pool with a stunning view, and two outdoor jacuzzis. The restaurant serves fresh & healthy continental and Costa Rican menu, featuring many organic fruits and vegetables from our own gardens. Xandari Spa Village is harmoniously integrated with nature and consists of a Yoga Room and five private palm-roofed jalapas with jacuzzi perched on a mountain ridge, where natural ingredients are used in massages and body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Xandari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari Resort And Spa
Xandari Hotel Alajuela
Xandari Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xandari Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.