We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish i could have stayed longer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xandari Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Xandari Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Xandari Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 hotels in Alajuela
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wish i could have stayed longer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

What an amazing place. I only got to spend one night here, before i left CR. the location is close to the airport, which is great. The service is on point. The rooms are large, private, thoughtful and comfy. We were able to get spa treatments the night we got in, the spa is spectacular! They have little Jacuzzi's overlooking the city, so after massages we sipped wine in our tub overlooking the city, so lovely and relaxing. Highly recommend. We also had dinner at the restaurant there, i was blown away by the food. Super delicious and fresh and ton's of veg options. Also, i was really impressed by the gift shop. They have a beautifully curated little gift shop and it's really affordable! I ended up getting a bunch of nice little gifts for petsitters and parents, beautiful hand made bowl and blankets, for under 50 bucks. I hope i get to go back and stay longer next time. My ONLY complaint was poor wifi in the room. I unfortunately had a bit of work to get done, and the wifi was really slow and only worked on the patio.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    365
    83
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
107
232
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed at Xandari for 4 nights in October and it was a fantastic experience. The grounds are maintained to a tee and the views are breathtaking. They have done such a great job restoring natural habitat to what was a coffee plantation, giving us a full taste of the exotic plants and vegetation of Costa Rica.

The property size is great. We spend a lot of time walking through the trails, looking at plants, flowers, waterfalls, vistas, etc. We didn't have time (or money for transportation!) to do any other tours or visit other Costa Rican locations, but we felt like we got a really good taste of the country just by walking Xandari's grounds. The entire property is gated and guarded 24/7. We took a taxi to town a few times and the cab checked in/out of the property, which made us feel very safe.

Changing topics, the hot tubs are amazing. We spent several hours each night at the Sunset Pool hot tub, enjoying drinks and looking out at the night lights of Alajuela. I can't rave enough about the staff. Everyone was very kind and helpful. We were taken to the resort from SJO by a hired car (arranged by Xandari) for a mere $20, which was extremely helpful. We happened to use a Groupon for this trip, which made it a great value for the top-notch experience we received.

The rooms are great. The terraces are spacious, private from the neighboring rooms, and overlook the valley and city. Everything was great!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Beautiful spacious villas, spectacular views from every direction, delicious & fresh food, friendly staff this place had it all! I have no complaints. I went with 5 friends and we rented two villas. I slept on the couch/bed and was fine but I hear the beds were a little uncomfortable but they'd not dare have that keep them from returning. Xandari was everything and more it proclaimed to be on their web site. The complimentary breakfast was extensive and just as good as what you paid for during lunch and dinner which was very reasonable priced. No television in the rooms left us city girls a little void of the background noise but we kept busy swimming hiking and getting spa treatments. My only hesitation is making my review so great that I wont be able to enjoy the intimate environment we enjoyed because my gem will be discovered. Oh I can't wait to go back! and if you do take a walk go to the "Golden Pig restaurant" at the bottom of the hill. It's spanish speaking only but the food was to die for!

Room Tip: We had two villas one seperate sides of the grounds and both were beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penngrove, California, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Xandari Resort and Spa is so beautiful. Each room is really a suite, colorful, comfortable, beautiful views of San Jose from private balcony. The Spa is fantastic, and private, comfortable, great spa treatements.
At Xandari there are five waterfalls to walk to, Orchid greenhouse, a little farm where they grow vegetables that are used in the restaruant, beautiful, beautiful gardens, swimming pools, I can go on and on. Not to mention the restaurant.
I will be returning, again, and again, perfect place to get relaxed and centered.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We live in Costa Rica and fly in and out of SJO a lot. We have always heard good things about the Xandari, but have never had a chance to stay here until recently (for once we were traveling without our two young children). This place is amazing!

Only 20 minutes from the airport, but you feel like you're hundreds of miles away from anything (so much so that it can be very hard to find the first time!) The chains across from the airport are adequate if you arrive late and don't have much time in SJ, but if you arrive early enough or leave late enough, this is where you should stay. Can't think of a nicer spot to start/end my Costa Rican vacation and much more of a Costa Rican experience than staying in a North American chain hotel across the freeway from the airport.

The property is massive, and you feel like you are the only guests...until you go to the restaurant and you wonder where all these other folks are the rest of the time. =) The sunset pool and view is just as pretty as the photo in real life, if not prettier (and we were the only folks out there on a beautiful sunny day). And the twinkling lights of the city at night, unreal.

The staff was all very friendly and accommodating, you can tell they enjoy working there. Since the owners are an architect and an artist, the villas are as spectacular. And no two are alike. Lucy was so helpful and sweet during the reservation process, as well as Konrad at the spa who set up a sunset massage + jacuzzi for our anniversary. They were both very prompt answering my questions and very organized, it was very appreciated and made for a wonderful day for us.

We enjoyed our stay so much we immediately booked my parents for the night before they were leaving SJ and they loved it as much as we did. We will definitely be back - highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: We loved our Ultra Villa Plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Great place to stay! We stayed here during the rainy season (sept 2012) but it rained for about an hour or 2 each day about the same time 1-3pm.

The grounds of the resort are beautiful! Tons of plants and birds to see. The paths are wide and well lite for walking. You are surrounded by beauty! We did not go into the pools as the days were not hot enough for us to warrant use of the pools. They are large and very well maintained. We would've made use of the jacuzzi during the day as it seemed warmer naturally than the pool but we had our 4 month. The trails at the resort are well maintained and well lite, We walked it with our 4 month old in tow. We also picked fruit off the trees and ate it while walking( oranges and starfruit). The villas aren't insulated so if you get chilly easily like I do, bring warm clothes for bedtime and slippers to wear around the villa as the floors are tiled. I would also suggest bringing a small portable grill ( george formman or the likes) and going to the supermarket as it can get costly eating out and the taxi's back and forth.

Taxi
As far as taxi's I would also recommend taking the metered taxi's with the meter being at the top of the front window so it can be seen throughout your trip. The "hired" cars through the resort are at least double the cost for transportation. Use at your discretion.

Restaurant
The resort restaurant ( the only place to eat at the resort) was great. The fruit and veggie select varied daily. The costs are typical of an average restaurant dinner meals are between $10-20 each. Lunch $5-10. Breakfast is AMAZING! FREE! YUMMY! Yogurt, granola, fresh muffins, fresh fruit, coffee, tea, bagels, veggies, cheese, ham and chicken lunch meat slices. A great variety all for free! We loaded up on the yummy free breakfast daily. They have other things for sale pancakes, bacon, eggs at a reasonable cost. Again average cost of a meal in the US. The staff is amazing! We stayed 6 days and each day the staff welcomed us with warm smiles.

Ants
The only reason why I did not give the resort 5 stars is because of the ants. Yes, we were warned about the ants from the staff and tried (very hard) to keep food away and clean the floors and tables of food and drinks to not welcome the ants but they still come. They are the typical little black ants that come during the summer (sugar ants) but they are annoying. At night I made my husband check the sheets to make sure they were not in the bed. I still found it difficult to sleep just knowing that they still climb about and get into everything!

tv
no tv or internet in the rooms but they offer a variety of books for reading and they offer playing cards also. The resort does have a tv and a computer with internet access in the main lobby.

Room Tip: villa 4 has a direct path from the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed here on our last couple of nights because it was a short drive to the airport for our departure. Xandari is a coffee plantation, so we took the walking tour of the plantation. The room was incredible and the view was awesome. Our room was so private and we felt like we were the only ones on the property. The bathroom overlooked a wonderful garden, which the whole room was open in glass and surrounded by gardens on the outside. You enter a locked gate to your patio, which had about a 12 foot wall surrounding your courtyard for privacy. We also enjoyed a wonderful couples massage and afterward we enjoyed a spa that overlooked the city...breathtaking. I would love to go back someday for a longer stay....a must stay for anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Xandari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xandari Resort & Spa

Address: 1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xandari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xandari is a 40-acre plantation with botanical gardens, orchid house and over 5 kms of nature trails including five waterfalls. Xandari is the creation of an architect-artist couple, with 24 spacious villas overlooking the Central Valley. Only 20 minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport. In addition, three fabulous swimming pools, including the new 125 ft. long Sunset Pool with a stunning view, and two outdoor jacuzzis. The restaurant serves fresh & healthy continental and Costa Rican menu, featuring many organic fruits and vegetables from our own gardens. Xandari Spa Village is harmoniously integrated with nature and consists of a Yoga Room and five private palm-roofed jalapas with jacuzzi perched on a mountain ridge, where natural ingredients are used in massages and body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Xandari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari Resort And Spa
Xandari Hotel Alajuela
Xandari Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xandari Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.