We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal place to start/finish a trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Dolce

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Dolce to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Dolce
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   995 meters west of the church | across from Rancho Maba El Coyol, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 54 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ideal place to start/finish a trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Villa Dolce is not a place to stay for a long time. It is close to the airport (makes it a little noisy).

But is an ideal place for a short passage, at the beginning or at the end of a trip, close by the airport. The outside is noisy, with the sound of planes taking off, BUT the rooms are very well isolated from sound. The air conditioning works well, the room's air is dry and not humid (as I have seen in a lot of place in Costa Rica).

There is a pool and the service was excellent. The owner is italian and makes an excellent pizza.

Overall exactly what we needed at the end of our trip. A clean, quiet place, near the airport to cool off before taking the plane.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    71
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
52
89
30
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Location near airport makes it perfect for spending the night before departure or after arrival. A real surprise to find such an eclectic place right near the airport. Perfect introduction to CR.

Stayed in a room near the pool and it was fine - noise was not a problem, besides, that's what ear plugs are for. Nice pizza at the soda on site. Clean, nice folks. No problems.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I spent my first night in Costa Rica there. That was a good place. The pizza are very good. One problem, the hotel is near one of the big road of Costa Rica ans it's very noisy with all the trucks are driving there, I think it's not the same for all rooms but for me it was not good.

Room Tip: Not take the villa near the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiden, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights after arriving and 2 nights before departing from Costa Rica. Randall was already very helpful during the booking process and even arranged our car hire for us at a good rate.
The rooms are very clean and spacious. On arrival we had one of the larger rooms at the back of the complex with its own kitchen and washing machine, the only drawback here was the proximity to the motorway with loud truck traffic all night long. For our second stay we had a smaller room closer to the reception and this was much quieter.
The hotel has a small pool and its own pizzeria (good pizzas) and they will also arrange for food to be delivered to you from a nearby local Costa Rican restaurant.
Randall also arranged our airport transfers for us both on arrival and departure, it all worked out perfectly.
There is a local bus stop right outside the hotel, and on our first day we took the bus into Alajuela centre to have a look around.
Overall, very friendly and nice people, and we would definitely recommend this hotel for your stopovers.

Room Tip: Number 6 was the quieter room we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Isidro de El General, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This lovely, gated oasis has more to offer than some larger hotels near the airport. Situated in a small neighbourhood 10 minutes from the airport, it is ideal if you want peace and quiet and simple luxury. The rooms are spacious, modern, impeccably clean, freshly painted, beautifully tiled with a hint of European flair. Of course, it stands to reason the owners are Italian and British. Nice bed, nice furniture and really nice towels. Quiet at night.
Randall the manager is a sweetheart and caters to your every need and the restaurant offers REAL Italian pizza. AND, the two dogs and adorable and friendly.
I live here in Costa Rica and sometimes need to stay near the airport waiting for relatives. I will make this my #1 overnight spot for sure. First experience and great experience.
We promise not to be as loud and obnoxious the next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel is very convenient to the airport, secluded from the busy road, safe and friendly. We stayed there our first and last night. The rooms are clean and comfortable, home-cooked breakfast provided, lovely pool, drinks and light dinner available. BUT the best thing was the so helpful and considerate staff, who took care of several details we neglected and assisted us in lots of ways. We really felt cared for, and it was such a good way to begin and end our trip (which was FANTASTIC).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here our first night in CR and found this place with ease. Gated and secure we felt welcome right away. The grounds are lovely and the pool is nice. Had some incredible pizza for dinner and tasty, light breakfast. The rooms are good and AC is not needed as they cool down at night. Very close to the airport and right off the road, yet private and quite. They are quick to answer emails and a pleasure to meet! thanks!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Dolce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Dolce

Address: 995 meters west of the church | across from Rancho Maba El Coyol, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Villa Dolce 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Dolce is a "sweet villa" located at just 5 minutes from the San Jose Airport with direct connection to the new highway 27. The warm and friendly service we offer will make you feel right at home. Come and enjoy lovely rooms and villas with all comforts, a large pool, lush garden, and Italian pizzeria. At Villa Dolce you will find everything you need for a relaxing and comfortable stay in the Central Valley and when flying in and out of Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Dolce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolce Hotel Alajuela
Hotel Villa Dolce Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Dolce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.