We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice for your first or last night in Costa Rica” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa San Ignacio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villa San Ignacio to your Saves list
Villa San Ignacio
Cruce de Grecia y Poas, Cruce de Poas/Cacao, 5 km (3 mi) west of cemetery, Alajuela 394, Costa Rica (Formerly Orquideas Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Montreal
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A good choice for your first or last night in Costa Rica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked at this hotel because friends with whom we were travelling had already booked a room there. The hotel is not easy to find, but did provide a map with directions. A nice touch was the confirmation e-mail we received a few days before departure for San José, which offered airport pickup (we did not choose that option because we were both picking up vehicles at the airport). The hotel is a secure facility with a guard at the gate, and the grounds are very pleasant. We had dinner in the restaurant, which was good, and breakfast the next morning by the pool was excellent, with a choice of continental or "desayuno típico" (delicious gallo pinto, eggs, and tortillas). The grounds are not large but are very pleasant, with some active bird life (we're birders) including Rufous-naped Wren, Rufous-capped Warbler, Crimson-fronted Parakeet, Great Kiskadee, Clay-colored Thrush, and so forth. Our room was not fancy or luxurious but perfectly adequate and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosePablo, Guest Relations Manager at Villa San Ignacio, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and the list of birds you saw at the hotel! If you do get to return someday, we may be ready to open up the gate to the lower property where there are trails, lots of fruit trees that also attract birds. We are happy that you choose to stay with us and hope you can return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel had one of the best values for the price of all the places we stayed on our trip. Lovely common areas and pool area with views of the city below. Room was spare, but comfortable with good mattress and bedding, bathroom was small but clean and up-to-date. Nothing was shabby or worn. The staff was attentive and accommodating. I would have stayed longer if our itinerary had allowed.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosePablo, Guest Relations Manager at Villa San Ignacio, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your kind review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and noted the comfortable bed - this was the focus of the upgrade in our rooms this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here after flying from the US, before heading to La Fortuna. We didn't want to stay in a chain hotel in San Jose. We had a little trouble finding the hotel, even though they sent us a map (we had an old crappy GPS - maybe newer ones have this hotel in it).

This hotel is unique, historic, and the grounds are beautiful. The restaurant is adorable and romantic. My husband and I sat on the patio with the lights twinkling in the background. The food was good but not memorable. The mojito was one of the best I've ever had though! All of the staff were very friendly, especially our bartender (I think his name was Tomas).

The room was attractive, but the bathroom so-so - seems like they skipped over the bathrooms when they did the remodel (?). Our bathroom could've been a little cleaner, too. The traffic at night was a little noisy, but we were so tired from traveling, we slept fine with earplugs and the white noise of the A/C (which was nice and cold). There was some water damage on the ceiling which I was surprised to see, given the newness of the renovation. But not a big deal.

I think the price we paid ($85) was appropriate for what we got. I would stay here again and would probably recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosePablo, Guest Relations Manager at Villa San Ignacio, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We appreciate your notes about your stay with us. As we continue, we believe there will always be opportunities to improve. You are correct, in the first remodel phase the only upgrades in the bathrooms are the new Agua Selva toilets that use less than 3 liters of water. Thank you for staying at Villa San Ignacio and we hope you do get the chance to return and, by then we have managed to achieve those improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Deutschland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel because we wanted to visit the volcano.
The villa is really really nice with great furniture and a good sense of style. There are just a few rooms and therefore the atmosphere is quiet and familiar. The rooms are big enough and have air conditioning.
The pool is nice and clean.
In the restaurant is a quite big choice of several meals national and international cuisine and the Pina Colada is great.
The service of the Team is incredibly good and one of the best I have ever seen. They can also help you with managing activities around the area.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for other guests.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosePablo, Guest Relations Manager at Villa San Ignacio, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your recommendation of Villa San Ignacio. We will share you notes about the team at our next staff meeting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

On the Plus side: One can tell a lot of thought has been put into the very recent renovation of this 80 year-old hotel. The result is a very pleasant and restful stay in a hotel with a hard-to-describe feel of serenity. Nice room with stylish bed and cupboard. Wifi is individual to the room (when is the last time you saw that?) and very functional. Good AC and fan. Attentive staff. Nice "tipico" breakfast (served). The communal parts of the hotel (pool, snooker room, chess alcove, restaurant) are very stylish and were renovated with excellent taste. All of this at an unbeatable price.

On the OK side: Our room was on the 2nd floor (or 1st floor in European count) and had not elevator. Acceptable in my opinion given the type of hotel, but some might object. Restaurant offers lunch and dinner (the latter with live music). Food is good but I wouldn't call it exceptional. Check for unwanted crawling guests in your salad. Location is also more or less convenient depending where you are traveling to and from.

On the Minus side: Only thing we really missed was a fridge in the room. Also, bathroom was unimpressive. I thought the "continental" breakfast was a little weak: toasts and fruits only.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosePablo, Guest Relations Manager at Villa San Ignacio, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for you review and taking the time to include such detail. We really appreciate your feedback and agree that we need add some options to our breakfast and take care in the kitchen prep. If you can stay with us again, please request the refrigerator when you reserve with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFM
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

We booked the hotel through booking.com and for no explainable reason the hotel owner only expected us 2days later so when we arrived at the hotel in the evening, the hotel was closed as no other guest were staying there.
Thanks to a helpful taxi driver we managed to call the owner who after first suggesting we should go to another place, what we after 20h of travelling and w/o Internet and local phone were not capable to arrange, came back to the hotel. The owner and the staff are very friendly but we never lost the feeling they were not fully prepared for us. We missed a proper explanation to the hotel, e.g. about the fact that coffee is for free the whole day etc.

Having said that the hotel and the premisses are nice, especially the restaurant and the pool area. The breakfast is ok, nothing special though.The room is rather basic, lacking a balkony and any personnel touch and compared to other hotels in CR quite pricy. If you stay there ask for the old name of the hotel as Taxidriver don't know the new name yet.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosePablo, Guest Relations Manager at Villa San Ignacio, responded to this review, November 14, 2014
I am glad that you were willing to wait for me and am sorry that you misunderstood my suggestion to stay nearby in order to not leave you waiting 30 minutes for me to arrive! I did check and we are both correct - your reservation was made for an Oct 30 arrival and you modified the arrival to Oct 29. Unfortunately, we did not receive the modification from the agency. I do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience with us. I think we can improve our breakfast but not lower our rates! If there is anything else you would like to share about your experience and also request the first night complimentary as we offered but failed to deliver - I noticed that you were charge for 2 nights. my email: info@villasanigancio.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has been recently remodeled, yet looks traditional and amazing. I recommend this hotel to anyone trying to get away from the corporate experiences of the Crowne Plaza or Hilton. It is close to San Jose, but far enough to get away from Air plane traffic and a the noise of downtown.

The Villa is clean and the staff friendly and professional. They have great chefs and the cocktails were terrific.

While I came with a friend, this place is perfect for a romantic get away. You will love the environment, cleanliness and best of all Marilyn, the sweet hotel dog that lives on the grounds.

Marilyn came and scratched on our door to get some more
Love from us. The fact that the hotel has Marilyn made me feel at home.

I will be back and recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosePablo, Guest Relations Manager at Villa San Ignacio, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Villa San Ignacio and Pandora. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the setting, the food, the cocktails and most importantly the staff and Marilyn! We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa San Ignacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Ignacio

Address: Cruce de Grecia y Poas, Cruce de Poas/Cacao, 5 km (3 mi) west of cemetery, Alajuela 394, Costa Rica (Formerly Orquideas Inn)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa San Ignacio is located where previously Hotel Orquideas Inn operated for more than 20 years. Both Pandora, our Restaurant and Bar, and our standard rooms have been restored to their original, turn of the century decor. The hotel will open to visitors January 2014, and Pandora, February 2014. The spirit of Villa San Ignacio is a visit to the past with the all of the modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Villa San Ignacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orquideas Hotel Alajuela
Villa San Ignacio Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa San Ignacio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.