We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice premisses with a lack for details” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villa San Ignacio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Villa San Ignacio to your Saves list
Villa San Ignacio
Cruce de Grecia y Poas, Cruce de Poas/Cacao, 5 km (3 mi) west of cemetery, Alajuela 394, Costa Rica (Formerly Orquideas Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
FFM
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice premisses with a lack for details”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

We booked the hotel through booking.com and for no explainable reason the hotel owner only expected us 2days later so when we arrived at the hotel in the evening, the hotel was closed as no other guest were staying there.
Thanks to a helpful taxi driver we managed to call the owner who after first suggesting we should go to another place, what we after 20h of travelling and w/o Internet and local phone were not capable to arrange, came back to the hotel. The owner and the staff are very friendly but we never lost the feeling they were not fully prepared for us. We missed a proper explanation to the hotel, e.g. about the fact that coffee is for free the whole day etc.

Having said that the hotel and the premisses are nice, especially the restaurant and the pool area. The breakfast is ok, nothing special though.The room is rather basic, lacking a balkony and any personnel touch and compared to other hotels in CR quite pricy. If you stay there ask for the old name of the hotel as Taxidriver don't know the new name yet.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosePablo, Guest Relations Manager at Villa San Ignacio, responded to this review, November 14, 2014
I am glad that you were willing to wait for me and am sorry that you misunderstood my suggestion to stay nearby in order to not leave you waiting 30 minutes for me to arrive! I did check and we are both correct - your reservation was made for an Oct 30 arrival and you modified the arrival to Oct 29. Unfortunately, we did not receive the modification from the agency. I do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience with us. I think we can improve our breakfast but not lower our rates! If there is anything else you would like to share about your experience and also request the first night complimentary as we offered but failed to deliver - I noticed that you were charge for 2 nights. my email: info@villasanigancio.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has been recently remodeled, yet looks traditional and amazing. I recommend this hotel to anyone trying to get away from the corporate experiences of the Crowne Plaza or Hilton. It is close to San Jose, but far enough to get away from Air plane traffic and a the noise of downtown.

The Villa is clean and the staff friendly and professional. They have great chefs and the cocktails were terrific.

While I came with a friend, this place is perfect for a romantic get away. You will love the environment, cleanliness and best of all Marilyn, the sweet hotel dog that lives on the grounds.

Marilyn came and scratched on our door to get some more
Love from us. The fact that the hotel has Marilyn made me feel at home.

I will be back and recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosePablo, Guest Relations Manager at Villa San Ignacio, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Villa San Ignacio and Pandora. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the setting, the food, the cocktails and most importantly the staff and Marilyn! We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa San Ignacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Ignacio

Address: Cruce de Grecia y Poas, Cruce de Poas/Cacao, 5 km (3 mi) west of cemetery, Alajuela 394, Costa Rica (Formerly Orquideas Inn)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa San Ignacio is located where previously Hotel Orquideas Inn operated for more than 20 years. Both Pandora, our Restaurant and Bar, and our standard rooms have been restored to their original, turn of the century decor. The hotel will open to visitors January 2014, and Pandora, February 2014. The spirit of Villa San Ignacio is a visit to the past with the all of the modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Villa San Ignacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orquideas Hotel Alajuela
Villa San Ignacio Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa San Ignacio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.