We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay here again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Resort Martino Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Resort Martino Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Resort Martino Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   In front of Zoo Ave | La Garita de Alajuela, Alajuela 2203, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“I would stay here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Hotel Martino has it all. If you never wanted to leave the property you didn't have to. Great food, an amazing spa, and really nice pool. The entire hotel looks like the movie Scarface's home...fancy statues, marble floors, and sprawling landscape. One bad point...the beds were hard as bricks! And there was a wasp nest near my balcony.

I enjoyed my one night here and would stay again. I would also definitely visit the spa again. I had a 3 1/2 hour treatment and it was amazing!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    44
    31
    28
    18
See reviews for
28
61
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

We traveled witha group of 12 and stayed at the Martino Resort. We enjoyed the gym/spa, the room were clean and had gorgeous wood work, There was plenty of places to relax and enjoy each other as a group. Breakfast was great and the grounds were spectacular. We had internet access to keep updated with work and to post pictures to family on face book. Did I mension that the staff was very friendly and accomodating! Everyone enjoyed their rooms and stay at teh Martino Resort!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandown, New Hampshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

My wife and I visited CR for our 1st time and made Hotel Martino the center of our vacation. The hotel is of European flavor with its setting and decoration. The large pool was a major plus for us as we did set some time aside to just relax and unwind. Most days we were the only couple in the pool.
The restaurant was also great especially when ordering an Italian Entre'. The service and friendliness of both William & Luis made our meals that much more enjoyable.
I want to point out two young individuals at the front desk. Both Manuel and Maleena were extremely patient, helpful and their suggestions in helping to attain various tours worked out perfectly.

My wife and I made use of the on site Spa, and the work out room with dozens of machines helped me keep the calories down. (some of the machines like the treadmills need updating or replacement)
All in all this was a fantastic stay. We did not rent a car and the hotels location made it convenient to local "sodas", the Zoo across the street, bus transportation and starting points for the many tours we enjoyed. Kudos to the owner Adriano and and all the staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

We liked this hotel very much. There is plenty space to run around and relax. The owner Adriano was very friendly. The rooms were big and beautiful, made of wood with tin roofs The pool was big, nice and clean. Their complimentary breakfast was very nice with plenty of local fruit. The staff member Ilyas Borgas helped us call the USA when our credit card was locked accidentally by one of the local ATMs. Thanks to her assistance our credit card was unlocked and we were able to continue our trip. The hotel is almost across the street from the Zoo.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

While the hotel complex is on a busy road, once you enter there, you are completely removed from the outside bustle. The grounds are very spacious and make you feel like your on a country estate. The room itself had a very European feel to it, and was very comfortable and clean. The restaruant was good and the pool was a great place to relax. It was only about a 10 minute drive to the airport, making it a perfect place to stay if you have an early morning flight.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

My husband and I stayed here in Feb/10 for 2 nights, unfortunately. I wish I would have read the reviews first, but he booked it for us. Our room was shabby and when we first arrived in it, we saw a salamander or lizard scurry across the ceiling. There was also a spot of something that I brushed off the pillow without thinking anything of it, but when we came back to the room later there were mouse droppings on the pillow again, along with around various other areas of the room (on the dresser, nightstands, etc). We phoned the front desk and they immediately moved us, no questions asked. The new room was much nicer (a suite) and appeared cleaner (no mouse droppings) and we did not have any problems in it.

We did not eat lunch or dinner there, but the breakfasts were terrible.

The pool area was pretty nice though.

We stayed at several other places in CR and this was the only place we didn't like. Many of the other places were far cheaper, cleaner, and nicer than Martino. We even stayed at a couple little individual bungalows in the jungle that had only screens for windows and such, and we never found a single bug, reptile, or rodent in any of them. I would think if they can keep their rooms clean, a so-called "5-star resort" should also be able to manage.

I absolutely do not recommend this place to anybody.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountains
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

Close to airport. Across street from a little zoo with toucans (main thing we wanted to see in costa rica). Nice rooms. Really good food. Walking trails right outside our room. A workout gym (not too many hotels in costa rica have gyms). A spa right on the grounds. We only got to stay one night but if we ever get back we'll stay here again. Only negative thing is the bathrooms tend to stink (this was a costa rica thing). They don't vent their septic systems very well and the air returns into bathroom and not out roof like our houses in US.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Resort Martino Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Martino Hotel & Spa

Address: In front of Zoo Ave | La Garita de Alajuela, Alajuela 2203, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Resort Martino Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten minutes from the airport and Central America's biggest Casino, this resort is located in the central valley of Costa Rica, known for having one of the three best climates in the world. European style pervades guestrooms with Italian tile and fine wood furnishings; balconies, minibars, cable TV, and wireless Internet access. Surrounded by jungle, the property is within proximity of volcanoes, rainforests, and more. On-site amenities include a spa, modern gym, casino, pool, and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Resort Martino Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Martino Hotel And Spa
Resort Martino Hotel Alajuela
Martino Luxury Hotel
Martino Luxury Resort
Resort Martino Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort Martino Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.