We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Resort Martino Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Resort Martino Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Resort Martino Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   In front of Zoo Ave | La Garita de Alajuela, Alajuela 2203, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Alajuela
Bel Air, Maryland
1 review
“Wonderful Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Lovely hotel, secure, breakfast was free and awesome! People are super nice and room is very cool! I would definitly suggest this place to my family and friends. I would also go back and stay there. Close to a few tour sites

Room Tip: All rooms were wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Although the restaurant is not listed on TripAdvisor. Some thing has to be said about this place.

The restaurant has great views, outstanding food and friendly staff. The food is fresh and very old-school Italian. The spaghetti frutti di mare was sublime. The pasta was al dente and perfectly seasoned. The saffron risotto was another great hit. Very well balanced and the grain was cooked perfectly.

Overall I would recommend this spot in a heartbeat. You do not have to be a guest at the hotel to enjoy the restaurant.

Price: $20-$25 per meal
Recommendation: Spaghetti Frutti di Mare

Stayed January 2016, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MDalmauDonato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

Martino is a resort, but not the slick US type. It has large, beautifully wood-veneered rooms, a large pool, free breakfast and wifi, an affordable spa service.

On the other hand, the furniture/bathrooms are a bit worn, the breakfast is simple (eggs, beans & rice). The staff is friendly, but relatively sparse. So think well-worn former luxury. If you go in with the right expectations, it's a very nice stay.

It's right across from a great animal park with tapirs, jaguars and monkeys galore. About 10 km from airport, 15 km to downtown on the Hwy 1, 25 km to Poas crater.

Room Tip: Southside building next to pool is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benbrook, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2015

When you first arrive in the entry way you will see immediately all of the interesting wood all through out in this old hotel but kept very well all of these years. Has a very large beautiful pool that you can see from most of the rooms. The food was great as well with a breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: I would ask to be close to the pool, if that is something you like or ask to be away, if not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLandman2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here to stay out of the main city thinking it would be safer and we could get massages on our last day of travel. We scheduled massages which and they only had a massage scheduled for him, not for me. Only one person spoke a little English at the front desk and she wasn't there at the time to discuss. The housekeeping staff has a master key to your lock box rendering it useless. We had issues with it and they had to come and reset it. We had someone call twice and hang up in the evening and later someone used a key to enter out hotel room and run down the hall before we could catch them (we were in the hotel room at the time and they probably noticed the light from the tv and ran off). When we checked out they had an additional restaurant receipt for a meal we didn't have with our hotel room hand written on the top. We tried to tell the man at the front desk about the issues above and he seemed concerned but not too surprised. My husband speaks a little Spanish but almost no one there speaks English at all. I would've preferred to stay overnight in a chair at the airport than to stay here again. I didn't feel safe and they tried to overcharge us intentionally . Another review stated to check your bill over as they like to overcharge rich international travelers. If you wanted to be robbed come stay here.

Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Kimberly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alajuela hotels

Playa Carrillo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

Very large establishment. Friendly staff. Air conditioning not real great and if you actually looked at the walls in your room, YUCK!! Don't touch they were filthy!!! Pool was needing a vacuumed but overall clean of debri. Restaurant was big and most of the food was good.. The caprese salad was a no good for an Italian restaurant

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hexy0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

We needed a last minute room near the airport because we had to leave CR on a day other than what we originally planned. The place we originally booked was full and could not accommodate us. I asked for recommendations and this place was one of them. We had 5 people in our party and needed air conditioning, so our options were limited.

After a very long and late arrival, we were escorted to our villa (number 103). This villa is located way in the back of the property behind some maintenance buildings. I assume this was all they had available because there was some event going on that night.

My husband required assistance to get to the villa because he was on crutches. The hotel had someone with a golf cart give him a ride from our car to the door. This service was very much appreciated since it would have been a long uphill climb for him from the car. There are 3 higher than normal steps up to the door which my husband barely made it up. The villa has nice architecture and could be truly elegant if furnished properly.

The villa has 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, and a combined living room/kitchen. One of the air conditioners did not work well in one of the bedrooms and there isn't one in the common area. There wasn't any hot water in either bathroom. The whole villa seemed to be under furnished. Only overhead lighting as no lamps were provided. The phone did not work, but we were told of this before we took the room. The TV did not have any cable signal. The beds were OK, but the pillows were lumpy. There were bugs in the bedroom and bathroom. The cabinets and drawers in the kitchen were empty. There was no WIFI.

We were provide room service from the menu. The food was only OK. When I called and ordered from the front desk, I was transferred to someone who did not speak English very well. As a result, one of the items we ordered was wrong. There wasn't a table to eat at and there wasn't enough seating in the living room for everyone, so some of us had to eat sitting on the bed.

The next morning I called the front desk, but got no answer. We needed the golf cart again to get my husband to the car. I had to drive to the front to get someone to bring the cart. No "to go" breakfast was available as I thought we had agreed to the previous evening. I had to go in and fill a takeout container with fruit which was the only edible food available.

We didn't try to resolve any of these issue since we were exhausted and had to get to the airport early the next morning. Also, I could not find this hotel in GPS we rented from Vamos we had to get directions. Its kind of across the street from Zoo Ave so that location can get you close.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunFun999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.1 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 654 reviews
2.5 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
2.4 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#17 of 31 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort Martino Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Martino Hotel & Spa

Address: In front of Zoo Ave | La Garita de Alajuela, Alajuela 2203, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Resort Martino Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten minutes from the airport and Central America's biggest Casino, this resort is located in the central valley of Costa Rica, known for having one of the three best climates in the world. European style pervades guestrooms with Italian tile and fine wood furnishings; balconies, minibars, cable TV, and wireless Internet access. Surrounded by jungle, the property is within proximity of volcanoes, rainforests, and more. On-site amenities include a spa, modern gym, casino, pool, and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Resort Martino Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Martino Hotel And Spa
Resort Martino Hotel Alajuela
Martino Luxury Hotel
Martino Luxury Resort
Resort Martino Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing