We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old with bugs” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Resort Martino Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Resort Martino Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Resort Martino Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   In front of Zoo Ave | La Garita de Alajuela, Alajuela 2203, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
A TripAdvisor Member
“Old with bugs”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Mid Sept 14. Stayed with my husband. First thing that strikes you is hotel is old/ dated. Rooms go for mediterranean feel, walls stained in shades of yellow (aged look), makes it look dirty.
Got up in the middle of the night found roaches roaming the floor and huge ants. Not sure where the 5 star rating comes from.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    43
    28
    24
    17
See reviews for
27
58
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Valley, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We only stayed here once night, but would have liked to stay a week.
Very beautiful location, nice restaurant with friendly service staff, beer and water in our mini-fridge upon arrival. Large swimming pool.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Hotel room was very old and outdated. In all honesty it looked sad. It was however very spacious and high ceiling which made it a little better. It sort of looked like something out of an old Salem movie
Bathroom didn't seem clean but it smelled clean. Maybe very old tiles?

Bed was amazing, and so was the linen.

Room had a small terrace however at night there way too many bugs to stay out.

We had an ok dinner, but very good breakfast. Lot's of fruit and fresh juices.

Pool was pretty cold and pool bar was closed all the time. We had to keep going to the restaurants for drinks. Lots of pool chairs so guests could get comfy. There were quite a few of us there.

Staff was friendly.
Got to say we did get a great price for the night, so it made it worthwhile.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This was booked by tour we were on. First off hotel is in the opposite direction to San Jose city from airport. Tried taking a local bus to Alajuela and then a directo bus to San Jose - cheap and effective if you do not hit typical San Jose traffic in afternoon. Over all hotel had good breakfast and friendly staff along with a nice pool. Please note some of the websites say Martino has a casino but that was not the case. Internet in room was good and overall the room was clean. with old rustic wood furnishings. Hotel also offers a good gym. Did not try the Spa.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

After things fell apart with the place my friend and I were supposed to spend our last nights in Costa Rica, I found Hotel Martino on-line. The price was in reason and nearby. When we got to the hotel and saw our room we were blown away! The price we paid was a steal for the beauty, service and amenities. I checked recently and the price is heading toward what I would expect for a place this nice but I hope I might catch a deal again sometime. If you are looking for something very special and are willing to pay the price this is a resort not to be missed!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

When my husband and I got to our room our first impression was that the hotel needed some updates. Even something as simple as a fresh coat of paint would really help. The room was relatively clean, but there were cob webs in the closet area, and mold on the shower tiles. It wasn't ideal, but the bed linens were crisp so I was okay with it.

Later that night after we'd turned off the TV and my husband was asleep I was quietly reading with a small light and out of the corner of my eye I saw movement. A bat was circling above, the ceiling is vaulted so it was about 13-15 ft high. We both got up and went to the front desk to report the critter. They seemed un-alarmed and sent over someone to take care of it. It was at this same time as we started looking around the room that we noticed several large ants crawling on the floor and walls. We were disgusted, but had already paid for the room through Expedia and figured a different room wouldn't be much better.

Two days later I was getting ready in the room during the day, and am looking around (for bats) and sure enough I see a second one nearly camouflaged hanging on the side of the wood panel ceiling just a foot to the left of the head of the bed. The maid came in and took care of it, she was kind and apologetic, but again as before this didn't seem like it was out of the ordinary. We did not leave our windows open at any point, however they were open when we first arrived, so you can make your own guesses as to how the bats entered.

The final night of our stay I was having trouble sleeping (not too shocking considering) and both my husband agree that we heard something running around in the attic. It seemed kind of big, so it wasn't a bat. I have no clue.

Other things to note:
No coffee pot in the rooms.
The pool is not heated so it's cold in the morning but heats up in the afternoon and isn't so bad. There isn't any music at the pool and the hotel in general was very quiet. At times it seemed like our family were the only people there.
The grounds are pretty, but it's remote, not much to do.
The staff was friendly.
The food was fine (nothing exciting, but not bad). The fresh fruit at breakfast was very good.
The key is connected to the air-conditioning so that you're not able to keep the room cool unless you're in the room.
We had other family members staying at the resort because we were there for a wedding, and none of them had bats in there rooms (I feel that it's only fair to mention that).

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 215.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We just returned yesterday from a weeks stay at this resort and we really have no complaints what so ever. The only downfall I would say is the wi fi was inconsistent in our room. Now we could get wi fi, no problem in the casino and dining area. Also, my husband would have liked a coffee maker in our room, but it was not a huge issue since we could get it at breakfast. We've read a lot of reviews some good and some bad. This is what we experienced and our opinions and everyone has their own expectations on what they want and expect. My husband and I do not have to have 5 star everything. For the price this was a great place to stay. The staff, ALL staff, was wonderful. We know very very VERY little Spanish and they worked with us. Some of the staff new English and some didn't or it was very little. You will find that if they do not speak English well, they will check on you, but they do not try to hold a conversation. We did not find this to be rude, just a barrier in our speaking ability. We were still able to communicate fine. You find a way. We ate breakfast at the hotel, since it was included in the price of our room, every day. It was very good, with fresh fruit, bread, cereal, etc. We were offered eggs if we wanted them, which we had ham and cheese omelet's every day. They were Very good!! You could get scrambled or fried, your choice also. If fruit plates were empty, it didn't take long and they came with another full plate. The room was cleaned every day. We could have ate off the floor. The staff did a wonderful job cleaning. We tried to leave a tip each day for the cleaning staff and they never touched the money. I guess we look at that as trustworthy. We left it all for them on our last day, so they had no choice but to take it this time. There is a safe in the room. They do not have wash/face cloths in the rooms, only bath and hand towels, but when we called the front desk they brought them to us. Not a problem. We had no problems with the water. Had hot water every day. There seemed to be some updating going on the backside of the grounds. We didn't use the Spa, so hard to rate that. We had no bugs in the room at all. In fact we found that we didn't deal with bugs at all during our trip even in the rainforest. That could be because of it being their dry season which is Feb and March?? The Zoo on Zoo Ave was enjoyable to see, which we could walk to. There is also a David's Café there that has good food. There are also a couple other eating establishments in the area which we ate at. Hopefully this helps. We enjoyed our stay and everyone that worked there. We would stay again! This was our first time visiting Costa Rica and they helped make it enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Resort Martino Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Martino Hotel & Spa

Address: In front of Zoo Ave | La Garita de Alajuela, Alajuela 2203, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Resort Martino Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten minutes from the airport and Central America's biggest Casino, this resort is located in the central valley of Costa Rica, known for having one of the three best climates in the world. European style pervades guestrooms with Italian tile and fine wood furnishings; balconies, minibars, cable TV, and wireless Internet access. Surrounded by jungle, the property is within proximity of volcanoes, rainforests, and more. On-site amenities include a spa, modern gym, casino, pool, and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Resort Martino Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Martino Hotel Alajuela
Resort Martino Hotel And Spa
Martino Luxury Hotel
Martino Luxury Resort
Resort Martino Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort Martino Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.