We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Resort Martino Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Resort Martino Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Resort Martino Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   In front of Zoo Ave | La Garita de Alajuela, Alajuela 2203, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good option but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Resort Martino is located in Alajuela which is a suberb of San Jose. If you are looking to go in and out of San Jose, this location is not practical. The traffic in and out of San Jose can be intense. The food here is OK at best but the employees are fantastic. There are a few good local options for eating but not much more than that. This is a good place to stay if you don't want to stay in San Jose and only need a night or two. Clean, affordable, and great staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    44
    29
    26
    17
See reviews for
28
58
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atenas, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

my friend and I stayed here 1 night awaiting the beginning of a tour. The good: beautiful grounds, nice big room, The Bad: NO hot water for showers or just washing up, the grounds are extensive but need more maintenance (weeds abound in some areas and some walkways are missing bricks, etc.) The Just OK: restaurant was a bit pricey since I did not find the food all that special, the 'free' breakfast 'menu' listed some items that had to be requested (tea, yogurt, etc.) This is an OK hotel to stay in esp. if you want to see the 'bird zoo', but if you are looking for luxury, try a different place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Highlights:
Beautiful property
Friendly staff

Lowlights:
Bugs in the room
Bar service was very slow
Food quality - average
Proximity to modern restaurants (your own vehicle or taxi is needed for transport)
Equipment in the gym is at least 15 years old and 2 out of 3 treadmills were not working

Recommendations:
Research ahead of time restaurants that you want to visit in the area
Bring your own pest control items
Set your expectations to a budget like hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Hello everybody, I just want to say thank you a lot, we enjoy our experience at the hotel, amazing pool, the food and treatment at the restaurant incredible.

Next time I will try to stay longer, this was my first experience in Costa Rica, ... for sure I will come back, "Pura Vida Ticos" wow.

regards
Tom & Michelle from Virginia

Room Tip: Just walk to zoo ave, is just a cross the street... you will love it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We found this hotel on Expedia as a last minute deal because we got to Costa Rica a couple of days earlier than when our time share in Jaco started. It looked beautiful and it was! In it's day it was probably a 4 or 5 star--now more like a 3 1/2 star. It cost us $20 in a cab fare from the San Jose Airport. The room was spacious with a beautiful covered patio with two leather rockers and a glass toped table overlooking the beautiful pool (very Costa Rican looking). The room and grounds were so quiet we almost felt we were the only ones there at times. It was so beautiful with green and flowers it was like a quiet retreat! There was beautiful wood every where, including beamed ceilings, stairways and trim. The room rate included a full breakfast out on another fantastic balcony. The first course was fresh fruit, breads and sweet bread, then they took orders for eggs and meat. Excellent! The grounds are very tropical and walking around was gorgeous! We saw a huge iguana (bigger than our schnauzer) and a turtle (also bigger than a small dog). It is remote! So if you don't have a car, walking somewhere might not be an option as it is on a very busy two lane street and didn't appear to be close to anything. We walked for several blocks to see if we could spot anything and saw some beautiful homes. As we left (in the opposite direction of our walk) we did notice a little market. We didn't try the restaurant for lunch or dinner. We ordered room service and the food from the restaurant was excellent! It was mostly Italian--and excellent--not too expensive. The pool was beautiful and very quiet. Overall, it was beautiful and a nice addition to our Costa Rican get-a-way. There was a complete spa and gym. We went and looked at them but did not use them. They looked great!

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool, 2nd floor gives a great view of the grounds and has a fantastic balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adriano_martino, Director General at Resort Martino Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you a lot for take some time and share your experience with us, Our staff works endlessly to provide outstanding guest service and keep our resort on excellent conditions, your kind words confirm their efforts and make us work hard to satisfy our guests. We are humbled to have you as a loyal guest and look forward to continuing to welcome you back to our Resort.

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My husband and I visited the hotel this year. At first we really liked it - big rooms, everything from wood, big pool. Sadly most of the big trees are cut, which makes no sense but anyways..
After we switched our first room, because of no warm water, we were suited into another one.

Our biggest problem were the rats in the sealing, which were so loud, that we could not sleep at all - we were staying at a room on the second floor, right under the roof.
The restaurant is nothing special - the food was not so delicious and the service - no comment.. I have to say that this was the only place in CR where I felt discriminated for being a woman- the one waiter would ask only my husband if he needs something to eat/drink etc. I asked the same waiter to bring me a new wine glas, since the one I had was dirty. I dont know if he was lazy or didnt take me serious, but he came back with the same dirty glas, probably before that wiped it with his dirty cloth..

My appologize, I dont mean to be rude but there is no way that Martinos is a 5 stars hotel and there are deffinately better options for staying closer to the Juan Santamaria airport.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adriano_martino, Director General at Resort Martino Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us a review of your recent stay with us. We truly value guest feedback as it allows us to take a step back and reevaluate some of the practices here.

We would like to take this time to sincerely apologize for the shortfalls that you experienced during your stay with us. Our team works very hard to provide great value.

We truly hope that on your next visit, you will return with us, so we can show you the standard of service we provide our guests and show you that your experience was absolutely not the norm here at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here coming back from an amazing Costa Rican vacation and this hotel is my only complaint.

They stuck us in the back of the hotel when they obviously weren't full. They put us in a room with two twin beds (we are married) and refused to move us. We were in the very back - if you get room 124 request to move ASAP. There is a tennis/basketball court back there with huge flood lights that shine in the room all night and make it impossible to sleep. I mean it looked like it was 2 in the afternoon all night.

The hotel had a creepy, unsafe feel to it. We were woken up at 3am to a loud banging on the roof - NO IDEA what it was. There were also bugs and dirty walls in the room. The only good part of the stay was the Pizza Bassar (sp?) down the road. Rough night.

The staff was sparse and unfriendly. There are cleaner, safer, more comfortable stays closer to the airport. Book those - not here. If only we could get our $80 and night of no sleep back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adriano_martino, Public Relations Manager at Resort Martino Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the issues you encountered during your visit and that we did not meet your expectations at this time. Please rest assured that this is not a common occurrence and i have move these issues and your comments with the relevant managers who will in turn provide further training to ensure no similar reoccurrence in the future.

Once again I would like to thank you for such valuable feedback that helps us to monitor and improve our standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Resort Martino Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Martino Hotel & Spa

Address: In front of Zoo Ave | La Garita de Alajuela, Alajuela 2203, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Resort Martino Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten minutes from the airport and Central America's biggest Casino, this resort is located in the central valley of Costa Rica, known for having one of the three best climates in the world. European style pervades guestrooms with Italian tile and fine wood furnishings; balconies, minibars, cable TV, and wireless Internet access. Surrounded by jungle, the property is within proximity of volcanoes, rainforests, and more. On-site amenities include a spa, modern gym, casino, pool, and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Resort Martino Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Martino Hotel Alajuela
Resort Martino Hotel And Spa
Martino Luxury Hotel
Martino Luxury Resort
Resort Martino Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort Martino Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.