We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so so Happy, beautifull place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Resort Martino Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Resort Martino Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Resort Martino Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   In front of Zoo Ave | La Garita de Alajuela, Alajuela 2203, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 29 hotels in Alajuela
Virginia, Illinois
1 review
“So so so Happy, beautifull place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Hello everybody, I just want to say thank you a lot, we enjoy our experience at the hotel, amazing pool, the food and treatment at the restaurant incredible.

Next time I will try to stay longer, this was my first experience in Costa Rica, ... for sure I will come back, "Pura Vida Ticos" wow.

regards
Tom & Michelle from Virginia

Room Tip: Just walk to zoo ave, is just a cross the street... you will love it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    45
    26
    24
    18
See reviews for
27
55
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We found this hotel on Expedia as a last minute deal because we got to Costa Rica a couple of days earlier than when our time share in Jaco started. It looked beautiful and it was! In it's day it was probably a 4 or 5 star--now more like a 3 1/2 star. It cost us $20 in a cab fare from the San Jose Airport. The room was spacious with a beautiful covered patio with two leather rockers and a glass toped table overlooking the beautiful pool (very Costa Rican looking). The room and grounds were so quiet we almost felt we were the only ones there at times. It was so beautiful with green and flowers it was like a quiet retreat! There was beautiful wood every where, including beamed ceilings, stairways and trim. The room rate included a full breakfast out on another fantastic balcony. The first course was fresh fruit, breads and sweet bread, then they took orders for eggs and meat. Excellent! The grounds are very tropical and walking around was gorgeous! We saw a huge iguana (bigger than our schnauzer) and a turtle (also bigger than a small dog). It is remote! So if you don't have a car, walking somewhere might not be an option as it is on a very busy two lane street and didn't appear to be close to anything. We walked for several blocks to see if we could spot anything and saw some beautiful homes. As we left (in the opposite direction of our walk) we did notice a little market. We didn't try the restaurant for lunch or dinner. We ordered room service and the food from the restaurant was excellent! It was mostly Italian--and excellent--not too expensive. The pool was beautiful and very quiet. Overall, it was beautiful and a nice addition to our Costa Rican get-a-way. There was a complete spa and gym. We went and looked at them but did not use them. They looked great!

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool, 2nd floor gives a great view of the grounds and has a fantastic balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adriano_martino, Director General at Resort Martino Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you a lot for take some time and share your experience with us, Our staff works endlessly to provide outstanding guest service and keep our resort on excellent conditions, your kind words confirm their efforts and make us work hard to satisfy our guests. We are humbled to have you as a loyal guest and look forward to continuing to welcome you back to our Resort.

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My husband and I visited the hotel this year. At first we really liked it - big rooms, everything from wood, big pool. Sadly most of the big trees are cut, which makes no sense but anyways..
After we switched our first room, because of no warm water, we were suited into another one.

Our biggest problem were the rats in the sealing, which were so loud, that we could not sleep at all - we were staying at a room on the second floor, right under the roof.
The restaurant is nothing special - the food was not so delicious and the service - no comment.. I have to say that this was the only place in CR where I felt discriminated for being a woman- the one waiter would ask only my husband if he needs something to eat/drink etc. I asked the same waiter to bring me a new wine glas, since the one I had was dirty. I dont know if he was lazy or didnt take me serious, but he came back with the same dirty glas, probably before that wiped it with his dirty cloth..

My appologize, I dont mean to be rude but there is no way that Martinos is a 5 stars hotel and there are deffinately better options for staying closer to the Juan Santamaria airport.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adriano_martino, Director General at Resort Martino Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us a review of your recent stay with us. We truly value guest feedback as it allows us to take a step back and reevaluate some of the practices here.

We would like to take this time to sincerely apologize for the shortfalls that you experienced during your stay with us. Our team works very hard to provide great value.

We truly hope that on your next visit, you will return with us, so we can show you the standard of service we provide our guests and show you that your experience was absolutely not the norm here at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here coming back from an amazing Costa Rican vacation and this hotel is my only complaint.

They stuck us in the back of the hotel when they obviously weren't full. They put us in a room with two twin beds (we are married) and refused to move us. We were in the very back - if you get room 124 request to move ASAP. There is a tennis/basketball court back there with huge flood lights that shine in the room all night and make it impossible to sleep. I mean it looked like it was 2 in the afternoon all night.

The hotel had a creepy, unsafe feel to it. We were woken up at 3am to a loud banging on the roof - NO IDEA what it was. There were also bugs and dirty walls in the room. The only good part of the stay was the Pizza Bassar (sp?) down the road. Rough night.

The staff was sparse and unfriendly. There are cleaner, safer, more comfortable stays closer to the airport. Book those - not here. If only we could get our $80 and night of no sleep back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adriano_martino, Public Relations Manager at Resort Martino Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the issues you encountered during your visit and that we did not meet your expectations at this time. Please rest assured that this is not a common occurrence and i have move these issues and your comments with the relevant managers who will in turn provide further training to ensure no similar reoccurrence in the future.

Once again I would like to thank you for such valuable feedback that helps us to monitor and improve our standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed at Resort Martino on the weekend of my birthday. The hotel is nice and it has a good location. The grounds are nice. However, I expected more out of this resort. The shower in our room was really really small. The towels in the room are hand towels, they only give you large towels if you ask for them. I went to take a shower and the water was cold. After a few minutes trying to figure out if the shower was broken, we called the front desk. It turned out that the faucet was not working properly, it had a little trick to work. The bed it's a bit hard, and the linens are very old! The jacuzzi is located inside of the spa (which I find very inconvenient!). We called to make reservations to use it, but we couldn't because they closed the spa like an hour early on Saturday. On the good side, the pool is awesome, very big and well located. We saw other reviews in which some people mentioned that the restaurant is very bad... We read the menu and saw the prices... Wow! Incredibly overcharged! We ended up going down the street to "La Fiesta del Maíz" and had a huge, delicious dinner for half the price...Breakfast is included. They told us it was served from 7-10 am. We got there at 9:30 and most of the food was gone, so we ended up having coffee with toasts (coffee was cold btw). Now, this hotel is really cheap so basically, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adriano_martino, Public Relations Manager at Resort Martino Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
As a much-valued guest your feedback is important to us as it does help us to improve the services and facilities we provide and I was therefore extremely concerned to read that we did not meet your expectations.

I would like to apologise once again for the disappointments you encountered during your stay and I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to restore your faith in us.

We been doing some changes to improve all our services, hope to see you soon, so you can be happy with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed here a few times and for the price, it is an excellent option. It is about 15 minutes to the airport so good for the start and end of a trip. The rooms are very good for Costa Rica standards, clean, no bugs, comfortable beds, hot water, internet. The style in the rooms is really attractive, feels old world, They have been upgrading over the past few months so the rooms and grounds are getting better. The staff has always been very helpful and pleasant, and patient with our poor Spanish. A real plus is that the restaurant is open from about 4 am until 10 pm. No matter when you arrive/depart you can eat on property. Not many local properties can claim this. They have going all night for the really extreme traveler. The pool is a bit cool, especially since this location doesn't get super hot like the beaches, but it is still refreshing on a warm day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding at Hotel Martino in 2013 and the entire operation from the wedding side was great. The food was amazing, the service was great and the grounds were gorgeous. I got a lot of comments from friends and family that the food was the best ever at a wedding, especially the filet and the tiramisu (included with wedding dinner).

The only issues were with the maintenance of the rooms themselves. The rooms weren't cleaned properly with fans un-dusted and dead insects in the room. In our room and a friend's the shower doors were off the track, rubber gaskets hanging down and broken. The quality of the cabinets in our bridal suite was poor and cheap and they wiggled when touched. In the room where the wedding was they maintenance department had to fix the A/C unit during the reception when it started dripping water onto the dance floor.

The whole experience was great, and we would recommend Martino to anyone getting married in Costa Rica. The location is close to the airport and easy to get to in La Garita. The food was definitely the best wedding food we have ever had without question. Just double check the maintenance of the rooms!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Resort Martino Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Martino Hotel & Spa

Also Known As:
Resort Martino Hotel Alajuela
Resort Martino Hotel And Spa
Resort Martino Hotel
Martino Luxury Hotel
Martino Luxury Resort
Resort Martino Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela
Address: In front of Zoo Ave | La Garita de Alajuela, Alajuela 2203, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Resort Martino Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten minutes from the airport and Central America's biggest Casino, this resort is located in the central valley of Costa Rica, known for having one of the three best climates in the world. European style pervades guestrooms with Italian tile and fine wood furnishings; balconies, minibars, cable TV, and wireless Internet access. Surrounded by jungle, the property is within proximity of volcanoes, rainforests, and more. On-site amenities include a spa, modern gym, casino, pool, and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your Resort Martino Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort Martino Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.