We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Resort Martino Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Resort Martino Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Resort Martino Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   In front of Zoo Ave | La Garita de Alajuela, Alajuela 2203, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 29 hotels in Alajuela
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Would not recommend!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here coming back from an amazing Costa Rican vacation and this hotel is my only complaint.

They stuck us in the back of the hotel when they obviously weren't full. They put us in a room with two twin beds (we are married) and refused to move us. We were in the very back - if you get room 124 request to move ASAP. There is a tennis/basketball court back there with huge flood lights that shine in the room all night and make it impossible to sleep. I mean it looked like it was 2 in the afternoon all night.

The hotel had a creepy, unsafe feel to it. We were woken up at 3am to a loud banging on the roof - NO IDEA what it was. There were also bugs and dirty walls in the room. The only good part of the stay was the Pizza Bassar (sp?) down the road. Rough night.

The staff was sparse and unfriendly. There are cleaner, safer, more comfortable stays closer to the airport. Book those - not here. If only we could get our $80 and night of no sleep back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adriano_martino, Public Relations Manager at Resort Martino Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the issues you encountered during your visit and that we did not meet your expectations at this time. Please rest assured that this is not a common occurrence and i have move these issues and your comments with the relevant managers who will in turn provide further training to ensure no similar reoccurrence in the future.

Once again I would like to thank you for such valuable feedback that helps us to monitor and improve our standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    45
    26
    24
    18
See reviews for
27
55
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heredia, Costa Rica
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed at Resort Martino on the weekend of my birthday. The hotel is nice and it has a good location. The grounds are nice. However, I expected more out of this resort. The shower in our room was really really small. The towels in the room are hand towels, they only give you large towels if you ask for them. I went to take a shower and the water was cold. After a few minutes trying to figure out if the shower was broken, we called the front desk. It turned out that the faucet was not working properly, it had a little trick to work. The bed it's a bit hard, and the linens are very old! The jacuzzi is located inside of the spa (which I find very inconvenient!). We called to make reservations to use it, but we couldn't because they closed the spa like an hour early on Saturday. On the good side, the pool is awesome, very big and well located. We saw other reviews in which some people mentioned that the restaurant is very bad... We read the menu and saw the prices... Wow! Incredibly overcharged! We ended up going down the street to "La Fiesta del Maíz" and had a huge, delicious dinner for half the price...Breakfast is included. They told us it was served from 7-10 am. We got there at 9:30 and most of the food was gone, so we ended up having coffee with toasts (coffee was cold btw). Now, this hotel is really cheap so basically, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adriano_martino, Public Relations Manager at Resort Martino Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
As a much-valued guest your feedback is important to us as it does help us to improve the services and facilities we provide and I was therefore extremely concerned to read that we did not meet your expectations.

I would like to apologise once again for the disappointments you encountered during your stay and I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to restore your faith in us.

We been doing some changes to improve all our services, hope to see you soon, so you can be happy with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed here a few times and for the price, it is an excellent option. It is about 15 minutes to the airport so good for the start and end of a trip. The rooms are very good for Costa Rica standards, clean, no bugs, comfortable beds, hot water, internet. The style in the rooms is really attractive, feels old world, They have been upgrading over the past few months so the rooms and grounds are getting better. The staff has always been very helpful and pleasant, and patient with our poor Spanish. A real plus is that the restaurant is open from about 4 am until 10 pm. No matter when you arrive/depart you can eat on property. Not many local properties can claim this. They have going all night for the really extreme traveler. The pool is a bit cool, especially since this location doesn't get super hot like the beaches, but it is still refreshing on a warm day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding at Hotel Martino in 2013 and the entire operation from the wedding side was great. The food was amazing, the service was great and the grounds were gorgeous. I got a lot of comments from friends and family that the food was the best ever at a wedding, especially the filet and the tiramisu (included with wedding dinner).

The only issues were with the maintenance of the rooms themselves. The rooms weren't cleaned properly with fans un-dusted and dead insects in the room. In our room and a friend's the shower doors were off the track, rubber gaskets hanging down and broken. The quality of the cabinets in our bridal suite was poor and cheap and they wiggled when touched. In the room where the wedding was they maintenance department had to fix the A/C unit during the reception when it started dripping water onto the dance floor.

The whole experience was great, and we would recommend Martino to anyone getting married in Costa Rica. The location is close to the airport and easy to get to in La Garita. The food was definitely the best wedding food we have ever had without question. Just double check the maintenance of the rooms!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Today I returned to Resort Martino Hotel & Spa for lunch with my wife. It is about 25 kilometers from the center of San Josè and only about 10 north west from the airport, less tyhan 10 minutes. It is a large property but it has only 48 rooms, which allows for good service and a quiet ambiance. La Focaccia is their restaurnat on the main floor, with a nice veiw of the outdoor pool and the rooms beyond. I had chicken leg and my wife "penne arrabiata". Food was very good, although I will not say superb. Facilities include large well kept pool, spa, and second level gymnasium with view to the pool and the restaurant. It has a casino, that I did not visit. Paking is large, inside the property with security. Wifi is good and free. It certainly is a place to rest and enjoy, specially if you are not in a hurry or on work trip. I certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairsden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The was a disappointing end to a great 2-week trip through Costa Rica. Our plan was to have an extra day at the end of our trip to "rejuvenate" before flying back to US. The workout gym and jacquzzi was much touted in hotel website and materials, but both were disappointing. Yes, the grounds were pretty. even though was bit of a 'hike' from room to main lodge where restaurant and front desk are. Pool is beautiful, but water too cold to use (no one used it whilewe were there over 2 nights). The gym was huge and looked promising until discovered only open 2 hours in early morning and late evening! Why? "the spa customers downstairs complained about the 'noise' from gym being used"! The equipment, altho impressive in quantity, was old and worn out. only one of the 4 or 5 treadmills even worked, and not very well. No one was around to assist. Really shabby workout/gym room--dusty, worn, yuk. Never even saw the hot tub (which was main reason we picked this place to end our journey)--it was in a private room in the day spa, required a reservation and was only open between 9 am and 6 pm. The Martino was also 7 miles from Alajuela and even farther from San Jose. Hotel staff were barely bilingual and were not helpful in helping us arrange a coffee plantation tour or in providing any information that might have made our last full day and night in CR memorable. Sadly, would not stay there again; definitely not "as advertised"! Also, after 2 weeks of yummy plentiful buffet breakfasts all over the country (Tortuguero, Arenal, Monteverde, tamarindo), Martino's was a little disappointing--kind of like our entire stay!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adriano_martino, Public Relations Manager at Resort Martino Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear guest, thanks for your value comments, this is the best way to know about what our customers are looking for, every single comment is very important for us.
We understand we have to improve a couple things, believe me we are doing some changes to satisfy all the people request.
Hope, at your next trip we can show you how we are improving to complete yours and ours goals regarding your comments.
Thanks a lot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Nice location, nice large room with wooden furniture. Good bedding and very polite staff, helping you all over the day. Reception well informend and concerned if you have any problems.

Very pleasant swimmingpool en almost the best Italian restaurant in Costa Rica (not so expensive as in Italy and very original Italian food!,

Please be aware: almost every weekend there are parties/weddings with loud live music and basses full on This is up to 23.oo h then it,s quiet.

Room Tip: better ask for a room on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Resort Martino Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Martino Hotel & Spa

Also Known As:
Resort Martino Hotel Alajuela
Resort Martino Hotel And Spa
Resort Martino Hotel
Martino Luxury Hotel
Martino Luxury Resort
Resort Martino Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela
Address: In front of Zoo Ave | La Garita de Alajuela, Alajuela 2203, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Resort Martino Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten minutes from the airport and Central America's biggest Casino, this resort is located in the central valley of Costa Rica, known for having one of the three best climates in the world. European style pervades guestrooms with Italian tile and fine wood furnishings; balconies, minibars, cable TV, and wireless Internet access. Surrounded by jungle, the property is within proximity of volcanoes, rainforests, and more. On-site amenities include a spa, modern gym, casino, pool, and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your Resort Martino Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort Martino Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.