We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably used to be a really nice place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Resort Martino Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Resort Martino Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Resort Martino Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   In front of Zoo Ave | La Garita de Alajuela, Alajuela 2203, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Probably used to be a really nice place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel is on quite a large property and seems like it was once a very nice hotel. At the moment some of the buildings are starting to run down. The hotel rooms are still pretty nice though. It really isn't that far from the airport either so it was a good place for us to relax at the end of our trip before hopping on the plane to head home.

I would stay there again as the staff are friendly and the price isn't too bad. It isn't a 5 star resort though if that is what you are looking for.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adriano_martino, Public Relations Manager at Resort Martino Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear guest, thanks a lot for your comment, always we want the best service for our customers, that why we are doing some investments in our property, hope next time you will love the results.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    43
    28
    24
    17
See reviews for
27
58
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swannanoa, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The best feature about this hotel, for me, is that it is directly across from the ZooAve, a quiet, lovely refuge for endangered and injured birds, mammals, and reptiles. The hotel appears to be a converted private hacienda, and while the structures and room appointments appear luxurious, management seems to cut corners on maintenance and service personnel. Because of the dramatic design of the pool and terrace area, it is a popular spot for local upper class to celebrate special occasions with great crowds and noise. So beware of a Friday or Saturday stay. Still, a nice location away from but accessible to urban areas and countryside alike.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Martino Hotel in February for 9 days and thoroughly enjoyed this experience. The hotel, near the airport, is centrally located in the country and made traveling to a number of beautiful sights fairly easy. The hotel, grounds and pool are beautiful and very clean.. The hotel is quiet and private. The staff was very friendly and helpful and made us feel at home. Giovanni, the concierge and Onesimo, our waiter, were the best, always cheerful and, when requested, willing to give personal advice about our travels. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: We had adjacent rooms on the second floor overlooking the pool. Because of hotel guests en route to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

A great restaurant and good bar. The pool and spa were very nice and our room was large and clean. The weekend seem to be for the locals, Saturday for weddings and Sunday is the local brunch spot. We were hoping for some quite but after the weekend Monday was for maintenance and they are expanding the property. The gardens could use a bit of tender loving care.

Room Tip: The villas seemed ideal for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Airy, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here at the end of our trip in February 2013. We enjoyed the "old world" charm of the hotel. Some of the facilities are not what one might expect in the US, however, the charm and quiet outweighed any issues with technology. The food was good, the room was charming, the pool was clean and quiet. The grounds were charming and my husband reports that the work out space was more than adequate and fully furnished. We enjoyed our time here. Anyone who doesn't appreciate old world charm should stay at the Holiday Inn Express across the street from the airport. Lots of technology and just like home!

Room Tip: This is a great place if you're looking for peace and quiet and a quick trip to the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, CT
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this "resort" for one night, as our flight back to the States was canceled. It would have been better to stay on a bench at the airport.
This is an outdated facility. We asked for a quiet room with a nice view. We got a view to a parking lot and the noise of construction in another part of the hotel. Our room was shabby and the WiFi and telephone did not work. We called to try to get someone to fix these problems but the meager staff seemed apathetic and nothing was done.
We were assured that a continental breakfast was available beginning at 5.00AM . When we came down at around 5.30AM there was one elderly man hurridly trying to get some coffee made and some fruit and bread on the table. He was as frustrated as we were, and I felt badly for him. Apparently no one told him that breakfast was to be available at 5AM.
Ultimately my husband and I complained and asked for compensation. The disinterested manager told the person at the front desk to offer us an insulting $15.00 off the overpriced cost of our miserable room. Turns out, that was the equivalent price to paying with a credit card rather than cash.
Our dinner at the hotel's "Italian" restaurant was equally dismal. The "home made" ravioli arrived twice, once with the wrong sauce and a second time the ravioli were still semi-frozen under a canned tomato sauce. I gave up and did not have dinner.
Do yourself a favor and do not even think of staying here. Costa Rica is a beautiful country with some fantastic hotels- go elsewhere!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Resort Martino is like an Italian Villa. The rooms are beautifully done in local wood carvings.
The pool is very large and well kept, and the hours are convenient. I particularly appreciated
the early breakfast buffet opening at 3:30 am since I had early travel arrangements. The
hotel is within an hr. drive to Poas volcano and other sights.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Resort Martino Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Martino Hotel & Spa

Address: In front of Zoo Ave | La Garita de Alajuela, Alajuela 2203, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Resort Martino Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten minutes from the airport and Central America's biggest Casino, this resort is located in the central valley of Costa Rica, known for having one of the three best climates in the world. European style pervades guestrooms with Italian tile and fine wood furnishings; balconies, minibars, cable TV, and wireless Internet access. Surrounded by jungle, the property is within proximity of volcanoes, rainforests, and more. On-site amenities include a spa, modern gym, casino, pool, and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Resort Martino Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Martino Hotel Alajuela
Resort Martino Hotel And Spa
Martino Luxury Hotel
Martino Luxury Resort
Resort Martino Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort Martino Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.