We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel stay at Resort Martino...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Resort Martino Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Resort Martino Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Resort Martino Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   In front of Zoo Ave | La Garita de Alajuela, Alajuela 2203, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel stay at Resort Martino...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Beautiful and quiet location convenient to the airport, without the airport feel. I wanted a nice place to stay while visiting a friend, and this was perfect. I stayed 5 nights and was not disappointed with any part of my stay. The property is well maintained, comfortable room, and very nice helpful staff.

Room Tip: Since there are only two stories, the view of the pool and property is better from the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    44
    29
    26
    17
See reviews for
28
58
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Etters, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife and I had a very relaxing experience at this hotel. Though I have never stayed in the hotels near the San Jose airport we saw several of them up close while meeting for tours. The resort Martino in my opinion was a huge upgrade. The hotels near the airport felt as if they were in an industrial complex. The grounds of the Martino were extremely well maintained with lots of exotic plants & flowers. You felt as if you were in the rain forest and well off the beaten path. The buildings on the property are old but very well maintained, the wooden doors on each room had a different hand-carved motif, the pool is huge & clean - olympic size or bigger. The staff was courteous & helpful. The food at the restaurant was extremely good, many Italian choices and a breakfast buffet. There is an interesting zoo right across the street within walking distance. I would definitely stay here again & recommend it to anyone. All of the tours will come directly to your hotel & pick you up.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Martino was a nice, quiet and off the beaten path. The room was not quite what I expected, nothing like thepics on website, but it was comfortable, had a porch to sit outside and clean. The room they gave us had an ant problem, but they were very accomodating and changed our room immediately. Bathroom was so, so. Pool was very nice but water was cold in June and no one used it. The breakfast, that was included, was great. The staff were very pleasant and accomodating. Conveniently located in front of a refuge and zoo park. I might go back but it would not be my first choice for a night or two.

Room Tip: If you are more than 2 adults, be prepared to get 3 small beds rather than the 2 queen they advertis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed at the Martino Hotel one night before flying home and what a great time we had. The hotel is very beautiful and the staff was professional. The rooms were clean and beautifully furnished. We ate the hotel restaurant and it also was excellent. You will not be disappointed if you stay at this fine hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

My husband and I had stayed at Resort Martino about 7 years ago on our first trip to Costa Rica and had a pleasant stay; we decided to stay there again for a few days before travelling on to the Osa Peninsula on this (our 7th) visit. PROPERTY: Things have changed since our last visit; many of the large trees on the property and on the border with the road have been cut down. The grounds are still pretty but a bit of privacy and the "rain forest feeling" are lost now. The pool is very large, very clean, and surrounded by lounge chairs and hammocks. ROOMS: Our room was large, with air-conditioning, a comfortable queen-sized bed, a leather couch and coffee table, and two comfortable wood-and-leather rocking chairs on the balcony. SERVICE: The young woman at the front desk was very polite and responsive, answering all our questions and arranging physiotherapy and help for my husband after he damaged his foot in a fall and couldn't walk. Golf carts and porters to transport our luggage and ourselves to/from our rooms were easily available and courteous. RESTAURANT: Some of the wait staff were extremely welcoming and friendly, others the opposite; the bartender was surly. The food is quite good (primarily Italian / continental). No Costa Rican fare on the menu, except that gallo pinto is an option at breakfast. Coffee makers and supplies on each floor of the main building were a disappointment as the machines did not work well and supplies. Depending on the morning at least one or more of the following were missing: powdered milk, coffee, water or filters. SLEEP QUALITY: Every night, for 3 nights, the alarm in one of the rooms beneath ours went off at 1:00 a.m.. Every night after a half-hour to hour we called the front desk and they turned it off. When it happened the second night we also alerted the front desk the following morning and they would look after it; the third night it happened again. Very poor sleep all three nights as a result. SUMMARY: The pool and food are very good, but we will try other options for our next visit due to the inconsistent service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Run, do not walk, to this incredible resort, and be sure to stop at orbitz on the way. I was in Costa Rica for business and pleasure and ended up staying at this property for two nights before I headed back to the States. I found an unbelievable deal on orbitz--around $100.00/night. A resort like this in the States would easily cost $300-$400 per night. The room was clean, large, cool with A/C, and comfy. The pool was large and crystal clear, though super cold. The restaurant was terrific, too. I had lunch and breakfast there, but did not try dinner. I took advantage of the spa, too, with pedicure and massage. Very reasonable prices and very friendly. I do remember that the spa robe and shoes were the size of small woman, but I just laughed that off. The grounds are really lovely with beautiful gardens and sidewalks. I'll be back in CR in July and will definitely stay here for 2 nights again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Went there with my wife since it's close to the city and we were not dissapointed, friendly staff, good food. Some birds noises in the roof but later found out it was because they were nesting.
The pool is very cool... very relaxing. Spa Sauna & turkish bath were really great and easy to reserve.

Cons:
Our room was not ready up until 2 PM eventhough the hotel was kind of empty...
Buildings and pool do need some maintenance though (not the Spa).

Room Tip: Request a double bed up front... we were surprised to see we got 2 single beds in our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Resort Martino Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Martino Hotel & Spa

Address: In front of Zoo Ave | La Garita de Alajuela, Alajuela 2203, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Resort Martino Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten minutes from the airport and Central America's biggest Casino, this resort is located in the central valley of Costa Rica, known for having one of the three best climates in the world. European style pervades guestrooms with Italian tile and fine wood furnishings; balconies, minibars, cable TV, and wireless Internet access. Surrounded by jungle, the property is within proximity of volcanoes, rainforests, and more. On-site amenities include a spa, modern gym, casino, pool, and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Resort Martino Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Martino Hotel Alajuela
Resort Martino Hotel And Spa
Martino Luxury Hotel
Martino Luxury Resort
Resort Martino Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort Martino Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.