We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 1017, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% by Booking Now!
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lapoint, United States
1 review
“What a pleasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

After spending a week in other parts of Costa Rica, what a pleasure it was to arrive at a place that had OUR standards of comfort and cleanliness! The bed was PERFECT, and the staff very accommodating. The fact that we could get a shuttle to the airport at 4:00 AM, AND a take-along breakfast, was a perfect end to our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear John A, thank you for such a lovely review.

Learning that you found your stay in our hotel perfect is music to our ears because that is what we are all about. It is our duty and our pleasure to provide the most comfortable accommodations and the best services to ensure that our guests get everything they need and deserve to make their stay with us a perfect experience.

It was a pleasure being of your service and we hope to see you back again soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    256
    58
    8
    18
See reviews for
229
270
56
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile


I stayed here twice at either end of my holiday in Costa Rice. The convenience of the location to the airport is just perfect. There is a very regular free transport bus between the airport & hotel. Very efficient service with hardly any waiting for the bus to arrive. It literally takes just 3 to 4 minutes to get between the hotel & airport. Just so hassle free.

The staff on reception were very helpful & couldn't do more to assist. The room was of an expected standard design, and exceptionally clean & comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was good with a nice selection.

My experience here was very efficient & just what I need from an airport hotel. No fuss, just great helpful service, clean & comfortable room, good breakfast, & an easy & quick transfer to the airport. There's nothing else needed! I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear HotCharlie, thank you for sharing such nice review.

It is awesome to learn how much you liked everything about our hotel and to know how perfect your stay was, so much so that you are making us your hotel of choice whenever you visit the country. We really do strive to make the hotel the perfect package, offering super comfortable accommodations, great services, a convenient location a the best staff ever, this way, we can assure our guests that they will always get everything they expected and much more from this hotel experience.

It also makes us very glad to learn how much you liked our breakfast and how easy and hassle free your stay was.

It was a pleasure to have you with us and we will look forward to your next visit.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hampton Suites our first and last nights stay in costa Rica. I choose this motel because of the location to the airport and the Tripadvisor reviews which are spot on. Our flights arrived late evening and departed early morning. The motel is conveniently located near the airport, the staff is great and the breakfast is more than ample and quiet tasty. A coffee maker is in the room. The shuttle service was timely and flawless internet service. We will definitely stay here at our next visit to Costa Rica. Car rentals are across the parking lot, so I suggest that major rental agencies (which are locate a fair distance from the airport) can be avoided by having the motel staff arrange for a rental. The friendliness of the staff stood out the most. Larry & Kelly, Georgetown, Texas

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear RoseAlee, thank you for sharing such a nice review of your stay with us. We are delighted to learn how much you loved our hotel, the services we provide, its convenient location, the comfortable and cozy rooms and our staff.

It is also very rewarding to find out that you are going to make us your hotel of choice whenever you visit the country because it means that we did achieve our main goal, which is, to provide our guests with the best hotel experience so that they can completely be sure that they can always trust us with their comfort, satisfaction and wel being.

It has been a pleasure having you and your wife with us, we will look forward to your next stay.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We only checked in late the evening before and were mainly staying due to it's proximity to the airport but it was perfect. Everyone was friendly and the rooms were nice and clean with comfy beds. The breakfast was perfect for a bite to eat before we left. Airport shuttle comes every 10-15 min and you are there in a matter of minutes. Would definitely recommend. Only cons was that wifi in the room was a bit slow, but in the lobby/business area it was much better.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear amy8889, thank you for posting your comments.

There is nothing that makes us prouder than to learn by our guests´ own words that their stay with us was perfect because that is what we strive for. We want our guests´ total and complete satisfaction not only about the comfort of our accommodations, the convenient location, our great services but also about the warmth and friendliness of our personnel.

We want them to know that they can always trust us when it comes for them to have the best hotel experience.

Thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure having you.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

If you need an American hotel close to the airport in San Jose, this is the hotel. Staff were great, clean room, and free breakfast. Rental car company across the street. Free shuttle service to/from the airport. The only down side is occasional jet noise from airport.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear leerwilson64, we really appreciate your nice comments.

We are thrilled to find out that you liked everything about our hotel, starting with its super convenient location, to its great services and friendly staff. Since the hotel was built so close to the airport, the materials used for its construction were special to isolate any incoming sounds no matter how loud they were, that way, we can assure our guests that they will have a restful stay.

It was a pleasure having you with us, thank you for choosing us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Spent one night at the hotel with plans to travel on the next day. Found my reserved ground transportation had been canceled, and the staff knocked themselves out helping me arrange an alternative. This included many attempts to figure out why I was unable to connect my Mac device to the hotel WiFi, changing the keyboard on the business center from Spanish to English (so I wouldn't have to use Alt64 to create @ for e-mail), and finding a driver for the next day. In addition, I was refunded the full price of my night's stay because of the WiFi problem. The hotel provides complimentary van transportation from the airport and breakfast. There are several fast-food type restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Kira L, thank you for posting such a wonderful review.

We feel very proud of our entire staff and how they are always doing everything possible to comply with our guests and with their every need and also helping them if any problem should arise. We sure do want our guests to feel extremely comfortable, with the best accommodations and services but that would not be enough without the pleasure with which our personnel does everything to ensure our guests´ happiness and satisfaction.

It was our pleasure to have you with us and the entire staff looks forward to your next stay.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed at the Hampton by the San Jose Airport to be near our connecting flight to Osa the following day. Great room, staff and breakfast, and the free airport transportation was extremely helpful. Also liked that there were local restaurants we could walk to for dinner.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Pojock, thank you for your comments.

Being so close to the airport is one of our hotels great features which has made it so popular with guests coming either very late at night or very early in the morning: but once that they walk in it almost becomes something secondary when they can see for themselves how cozy and comfortable the hotel is, full of very convenient services and with the friendliest and most helpful personnel ever.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much, it was a pleasure having you with us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Address: Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 1017, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport hotel with everything you need...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San José - Airport. If you're looking for a hotel in the Central Valley, home of San José, Costa Rica’s capital city, look no further. Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton™ is the most conveniently located hotel in the area, just five minutes away from the International Airport, one block away from rental car return centers, and with easy access the Inter-American Highway (which transports you to beautiful beaches, national parks, and free trade areas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport
Hampton Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.