We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great overnighter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 1017, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% by Booking Now!
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence 2014
encinitas, United States
1 review
“great overnighter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

great place to stay on an overnighter, staff is friendly, good brekkie, great shuttle to and from airport, we always stay here on the even flight from the US, great place to start a trip if you need to fly SANSA or Nature the next morning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Justin, thank you for sharing your comments. It makes us very happy to know how much you like our hotel and how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We thrive on our guests´ comfort and enjoyment so it makes us very proud every time you leave so happy and satisfied. It is a pleasure for the entire staff to make our guests feel a warm and friendly atmosphere because it increases their level of comfort and our goal is to provide them with the highest quality of accommodations and services so they can have a totally satisfying hotel experience.
We are also proud to learn that every time you visit the country you stay with us because it demostrates that we have indeed made you happy with everything we provide.
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we will be looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    242
    55
    8
    18
See reviews for
209
247
55
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Great place to stay. Safe, clean, great service from the staff. Breakfast is delicious and the service center lets you print for free! I would definitely recommend this friends. There is also a free shuttle to the airport.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear isander28, thank you for such a wonderful review. It makes us very happy to learn of how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We promise our guests to make their stay with us a great hotel experience and it is very rewarding when we learn of how successfully we have delivered our promise. We are always striving to make our guests feel right at home, providing them with a very comfortable room and all the services they might need such as our complimentary breakfast which you liked so much.
Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you back again soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Very clean, comfortable place to stay while arriving and departing Costa Rica. Shuttle to airport runs every 15 minutes. Price is high compared to other comparable Hampton hotels. One of the hotel staffers encouraged us to pay our departure tax at the hotel (at an additional $4 cost per person) because the "line at the airport is 1-1/2 hours long". We declined and found the line at the ariport is about 5 minutes. I would advise travelers not to fall for this scam. The hotel should get better information so they can advise their guests appropriately.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Sandra J, thank you for sharing your comments. They are very important for us because they provide us with the guests´ point of view regarding our services and accommodatios. We are very glad that you found our hotel very clean and comfortable because providing our guests with the best quality of accommodations is one of our main goals. Sometimes, the line at the airport for paying the departure tax is indeed very long, so some guests rather pay the extra four dollars than to wait for almost half an hour, you were very lucky that you didn´t have to wait that long. We do strive to provide our guests with the best services in order to make their stay with us as restfull and hassle-free as possible, so they can have an incredible hotel experience and always remember us with a very warm feeling.
Thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure having you.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We used this hotel to stay at the night before our early flight the next day, back to the states. The hotel is in perfect condition, has 24 hour security, free parking, a gym, free wifi, free hot breakfast and a free shuttle. You can't ask for anything else. Further as soon as we checked in, we received a call from the front desk asking if we needed anything and if the room was up to par. They have a wonderful coffee/tea/hot chocolate bar open all the time and cookies at the front desk.. YUM! The hotel is walking distance from a Dennys and a casino. You can't beat that! The service, cleanliness, location and amenities make this affordable hotel #1. We will be using it again on our next trip to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Mymzee, thank you for your comments, we really appreciate them since it provides us with insight of our service from the guests´ perspective. It is a great source of motivation for the entire staff to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and the services we provided. We are always trying to satisfy all of our guests with everything they might want or need to make their stay with us perfect. There is nothing we like more than to make you as comfortable as possible and to surround you with a warm and friendly environment to make you feel very welcome, as if you were right at home.
Our caring for our guests´well-being is so important that we even provide them with free unlimited international telephone calls to anywhere in the world so they can always be sure that everything is o.k. back home, which makes them enjoy more their stay with us. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we do hope to see you again soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We like the Hampton Inn because of two reasons: I'm a Hilton Honors member and because of it's location. We like the fact that there is a free 24 hr shuttle to the airport and the fact that it is located next door to two restaurants and a casino.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Mark D, thank you for posting your review. It makes us very happy to learn of how much you like staying in our hotel specially for the convenience of its location. Besides from being less than 1 mile away from the airport, there are several car rentals less than one block away from us, there are the two restaurants and the casino right next door and other restaurants less than 5 minutes away, making us very convenient for our strategic location. But besides our convenient location, we work very hard to provide our guests with the highest quality of accommodations and services so they can always be sure that all their expectations are going to be satisfied.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I have stayed at many of the hotels near the Juan Santamaria airport near San Jose in Costa Rica. After staying at the Hampton, I don't want to ever stay anywhere else. It is in a safe area with restaurants and a mall nearby. The hotel is clean and the staff is always friendly and helpful. Anything you need, they will help you to get it! The free breakfast and coffee and fruits anytime make this an economical hotel to stay at. I highly recommend the Hampton.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear joychris1, thank you for sharing such wonderful review. It is very rewarding and a great source of motivation for the whole staff when we learned that from now on, this is the only hotel that you are going to stay whenever you are visiting the country. We are extremely glad that you found that everything in the hotel was of your liking, starting from the hotel´s convenient location, the cozy and comfortable accommodations, the friendly and complying staff and the services we provide.
We are always trying to give the best hotel experience to all our clients and to make them know that we do deliver all the promises that we offer.
It has been a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope that you will visit us again soon . Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This property does it all the staff is by far the very best I've experienced including the higher end Hilton properties where you would expect the only the best in service. The staff is always warm friendly and willing to make every guest welcomed. They always acknowledge my presence and remind me of my last stay and even have a nick name for me. It's like they can't do enough for the guests!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Charles M, thank you for sharing your review. It makes us very happy to learn of how much you appreciate our staff and the service that they provide you. The entire team always goes above and beyond to make our guests feel welcome, surrounded by a warm and friendly atmosphere so they can feel right at home.
You can be sure that they thrive when they find out how our guests appreciates the job they do to make them feel so welcome. When guests like yourself, stay frequently with us, the staff develops a very warm camaraderie towards them, making them feel as if they have return home.
Thank you for staying constantly with us and the entire staff looks forward to your next stay.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Address: Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 1017, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport hotel with everything you need...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San José - Airport. If you're looking for a hotel in the Central Valley, home of San José, Costa Rica’s capital city, look no further. Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton™ is the most conveniently located hotel in the area, just five minutes away from the International Airport, one block away from rental car return centers, and with easy access the Inter-American Highway (which transports you to beautiful beaches, national parks, and free trade areas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Hampton Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.