We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“46 Days in Paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 1017, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% by Booking Now!
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“46 Days in Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had an early morning flight and decided to stay at the Hampton and were not disappointed. Staff were very friendly and helpful right from arrival, check-in and exit tax service. The room was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable, it was also fantastic to be able to have a warm shower again. Great buffet breakfast in the morning, and if you can't make the 6am breakfast they provide one to take with you in a brown bag, there is also fruit and coffee to go. There are a few restaurants near the hotel if you want lunch or dinner. The shuttle service leaves every 10 to 15 min and its a short drive to the airport, very organized. Great value and excellent way to ease your way back into the North American way.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Eric D, thank you for writing such an awesome review. It is very rewarding whenever our guests write such wonderful things about us because it shows us that we are doing everything right. We are always striving to provide our guests with the highest quality of accommodations and services in order to make their stay comfortable and restful. We hope that by providing them with everything they need, their stay with us will be a perfect hotel experience for starting or ending a wonderful and unforgettable vacation. We are happy that you can pay the airport tax at the hotel, that way, our guests can avoid all the long lines at the airport making their journey back home much more easier.
Once again, thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure having you and we hope to see you back again soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    210
    48
    7
    17
See reviews for
191
209
52
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmetto, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Was delighted to see an effort to decorate for Halloween. It was very well done and I even got a hand decorated iced cookie in the shape of a ghost specially wrapped for the holiday. Take advantage of getting the exit tax paid at this hotel. Saves a lot of time at the airport when lines can be very long. Unlimited, free international phone calls. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Terry H, thank you for such a nice review. It makes us very happy to learn how of how much you liked our Halloween decorations and our cookies since we always try to make our hotel as festive and beautifully decorated as we can. We are very glad of how useful and beneficial you found the services we offer, such as the payment of the airport tax in the hotel so you can avoid the long lines at the airport: also, the free unlimited international phone calls to any place in the world among other things. Our staff strives in providing our guests with the best services and accommodations so they can truly experience a great hotel stay.
It has been a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to see you the next time you visit.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Isidro de El General, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed here the night before a flight. This Hampton was very much like what you would get in the US. The staff was friendly, helpful and accommodating. The beds were comfortable, not too hard, and the bedding plush. The breakfast was great, included proteins and waffles. The airport shuttle was free, and runs every 15 minutes.

Definitely plan to stay here again, next time we have an early flight. One thing to note: The internet is pathetic. Typical speed of 500mbps, spotty service, frequently cuts out. Not adequate for business.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear pioneeraa, we appreciate you posting your review. We are very happy that you found that our accommodations and services were of your liking; that you found your room comfortable and the beds´ mattresses perfectly right for a soothiing and resting sleep. It makes us very proud to learn that the next time you visit the country you are going to stay with us again because it demostrates just how satisfied you are with us and our services. Also, it is great the you liked our complimentary breakfast because we are always trying to include all the different food groups to make it extra satisfactory for all of our guests. We are very sorry about how the wi-fi service was working during your stay but it was due to some updating reparations the hotel was having on those exact days, thank you for letting us know though.
Thank you very much for staying with us and we will look forward to your next visit.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Hampton Inn near the SJO hotel was amazing! The hotel was as clean as can be with fun and colorful Halloween decorations throughout the building. The breakfast was one of the best I've had at a Hampton Inn- all the traditional continental choices plus fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, sausage links, even Costa Rican gallo pinto and tortillas! A delicious and hearty breakfast before we left for the airport. The hotel shuttle was fast and prompt. It was the last night of our honeymoon and the staff was so kind, helpful, and friendly to us. They even gave us a complimentary bottle of wine and a small box of chocolates. How wonderful! I highly recommend this Hampton Inn- I have stayed at dozens of them in the States and this was my favorite :) Also if you are looking for an inexpensive dinner option (the Dennys and Rostipollo aren't cheap)- my husband and I just ordered a pizza for Papa Johns. Very inexpensive and tasty. Didn't even have to leave the hotel since they deliver! Worked great for us since we didn't have a car. Happy travels! Cannot wait to return to Costa Rican one day for an anniversary- I assure you we will be staying at this Hampton Inn for close proximity to the airport and its excellent staff!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Katelyn T, congratulations !!! It makes us very proud and extremely happy that you chose us as part of your honeymoon. We are always trying to provide our guests with the best services and accommodations to make your stay with us be the best hotel stay ever, that way, you can experience first hand how we do care about all of our guests and that we strive to make them as happy and comfortable as possible. We thrive when our guests feel that they are truly welcome and get to see us as friends whom they can rely to get all the things they need to make their stay with us unforgettable. It makes us very happy that you liked our complimentary breakfast so much, we try to cater to every taste, that is why we mix the traditional continental breakfast with tropical fruits that are in season and typical Costa Rican and regional dishes.
It has been a real pleasure having you and your husband stay with us, and the entire team will be expecting you next year for your anniversary.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvord, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I have stayed here several times in the past because its close to the airport but more so because the staff are unreal they are so helpful and friendly, and the proerpty is spotless and we have never had an issue of anyking. This is an awesome prorperty!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Rick O, thank you so much for such a wonderful review. It is always a great source of motivation for the entire staff when our guests feel the way you do about us and our hotel. We are always going above and beyond in providing our guests with the best services and treating them not as costumers but as friends, making them feel very welcome and making sure that they can trust us with absolutely everything they need to make their stay with us an unforgettable hotel experience. We are also very glad that you find that our location is so convenient due to its proximity to the airport (that way you can get more rest and sleep both when you´re arriving and when you´re leaving). Thank you very much for staying with us and the entire team looks forward to your next visit. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golfito, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I was traveling for work and my stay was very short, but I would love to stay longer next time, because I really like the ambiance and the rooms. This hotel is very well located close to the airport and everything you need. We arrived very late at the hotel and the staff was speaking English and the service excellent. I will definitely go back and send my business partners to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Banana-Bay-Marina, thank you for sharing your comments. It is very rewarding for all of us who works at the hotel when our guests appreciate the work we do and they recommend us to friends and associates. We really do thrive when this happens because it demostrates how we strive to provide our guests with the highest quality of services and accommodations besides giving them the warmest welcome so they can always be surrounded by the most friendly and welcoming atmosphere.
We are very glad that you liked your room so much and that you found our location so convenient, with so many advantages for you during your stay.
Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you back again soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have stayed at the SJO airport Hampton Inn numerous times. We are continually impressed with how this hotel is run and the high class customer service provided. Very close proximity to the SJO airport, and a short drive west to the Pacific coast line, or up north to the Arenal volcano area make it a perfect lanching pad for a great time in Costa Rica. Thanks again ! Jodi/Texas

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Jodi/Texas, we appreciate that you took your time to post this review. It makes us very happy whenever we find out how our guests leave feeling so satisfied that they continue staying with us every time they visit the country, it show us that our main goal has been achieved because we strive to make our guests feel so comfortable and welcome that they feel right at home, surrounded by friends who only want to make their stay be the best hotel experience ever; providing them with the best services and the most comfortable rooms so they can be completely satisfied and happy.
That they know for sure that every time they return, they will be coming home and seeing friends that are always more than happy to see them and to serve them with everything they might need. We are also very glad that you find our location so convenient, being so close to the airport and the Interamerican Highway so as you said before, having the hotel as a launching pad for your trip.
Thank you for staying with us and the entire team looks forward seeing you on your next visit. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Address: Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 1017, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport hotel with everything you need...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San José - Airport. If you're looking for a hotel in the Central Valley, home of San José, Costa Rica’s capital city, look no further. Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton™ is the most conveniently located hotel in the area, just five minutes away from the International Airport, one block away from rental car return centers, and with easy access the Inter-American Highway (which transports you to beautiful beaches, national parks, and free trade areas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport
Hampton Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.