We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility and good sleep!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 1017, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% by Booking Now!
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Golfito, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tranquility and good sleep!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I was traveling for work and my stay was very short, but I would love to stay longer next time, because I really like the ambiance and the rooms. This hotel is very well located close to the airport and everything you need. We arrived very late at the hotel and the staff was speaking English and the service excellent. I will definitely go back and send my business partners to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Banana-Bay-Marina, thank you for sharing your comments. It is very rewarding for all of us who works at the hotel when our guests appreciate the work we do and they recommend us to friends and associates. We really do thrive when this happens because it demostrates how we strive to provide our guests with the highest quality of services and accommodations besides giving them the warmest welcome so they can always be surrounded by the most friendly and welcoming atmosphere.
We are very glad that you liked your room so much and that you found our location so convenient, with so many advantages for you during your stay.
Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you back again soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    204
    45
    7
    17
See reviews for
186
201
52
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have stayed at the SJO airport Hampton Inn numerous times. We are continually impressed with how this hotel is run and the high class customer service provided. Very close proximity to the SJO airport, and a short drive west to the Pacific coast line, or up north to the Arenal volcano area make it a perfect lanching pad for a great time in Costa Rica. Thanks again ! Jodi/Texas

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Jodi/Texas, we appreciate that you took your time to post this review. It makes us very happy whenever we find out how our guests leave feeling so satisfied that they continue staying with us every time they visit the country, it show us that our main goal has been achieved because we strive to make our guests feel so comfortable and welcome that they feel right at home, surrounded by friends who only want to make their stay be the best hotel experience ever; providing them with the best services and the most comfortable rooms so they can be completely satisfied and happy.
That they know for sure that every time they return, they will be coming home and seeing friends that are always more than happy to see them and to serve them with everything they might need. We are also very glad that you find our location so convenient, being so close to the airport and the Interamerican Highway so as you said before, having the hotel as a launching pad for your trip.
Thank you for staying with us and the entire team looks forward seeing you on your next visit. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I would like to thank again the very friendly staff at The Hampton Inn San Jose Costa Rica for the always spoiling experience and treatment that we always receive.
Its a very clean and comfortable hotel and on top of that they have a succulent and delicious breakfast menu.
The entire staff is just "unique", they pampered us like babies and guest what? we let them do it ///
My experience with this beautiful hotel is always a big smile of satisfaction at the end of our stay and a lot of hidden tears because we leave behind not Hampton employees but friends.
Thank you
Cesar Rios

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear cesar r, thank you for such an awesome review. It is our pleasure to spoil and pamper our guests because that is one way to make them feel as if our hotel is a home away from home, surrounding them with the most cozy and friendliest atmosphere, because all of our guests deserve the best that the hotel offers. We strive to provide them with the best quality of services and accommodations so they can have the best hotel experience they ever had. It honor us when guests like yourself leave considering us not as employees but as friends because it is the same for us.
We hope that the next time you come you are going to see us, as I said before, as your home away from home. And for us, there is nothing more rewarding than to see the smile upon your face when you leave.
Thank you for staying with us and the whole staff looks forward to seeing you on your next visit. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent the first night of our recent trip to Costa Rica at this hotel and it was better than many Hampton Inns I have stayed at in the states. First, when I arrived to find my luggage lock had jammed and I could not open my suitcase, the staff found a saw and a pair of pliers to help me cut it off. And this was after 8 pm when their maintenance guy had already left for the day. How great is that! Plus, my wife and I were celebrating our anniversary with this trip and we were met with complimentary wine and chocolates. Very sweet. Staff spoke English well and the rooms were very nice with no issues and the breakfast was better than most Hampton Inns. (The pineapple in particular in CR is amazing!) The place is also literally a 3 minute drive from the airport and they offer a free shuttle. So for late night arrival flights or early morning departures, it can't be beat!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear 4ontheroadM, first of all, let us congratulate you and your wife on your anniversary. It is very nice that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that you found your room so clean and comfortable. Our staff is always trying to do everything in their power to make our guests feel very welcome and to help them in any way that they might need so it is very motivating when our guests take notice. We are also very glad that you liked our breakfast because we do try to cater to almost every taste and it makes us very happy that you and your wife did like it. Also, you notice of how convenient our location is, being less than 1 mile away from the airport, having some good restaurants and car rentals just across the parking lot; as a whole, the hotel strives to make our guests´ stay as smooth and relaxing as possible.
Our most sincere thanks for staying with us, and the entire team looks forward to welcoming you back. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes Sur, Heredia, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had to pass one night due a home emergency... it was a terrific night! Very friendly staff we found, comfort beds, clean room.... hot breakfast was great, the Gallopinto and pupusas were excellent (just like home), cereals, fruits, yogurt, wafles were ok... I'd stay again in another home emergency...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear YannerAray, first of all, let me tell you that we are very sorry about your home emergency. On the other hand, we are super happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We are very glad that you liked our complimentary breakfast so much and that you found our rooms so comfortable. Our staff really does work very hard in order to provide our guests with the highest quality of accommodations and services. To make all of our guests feel extra welcome, surrounded by friendliness and the certainty that they are indeed very welcome.
Thank you for choosing us and we hope that you come back again in the near future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed here for one night before our flight home the next morning. An excellent hotel at the San Jose Airport, the room was spacious and clean, beds were very comfortable, the staff was friendly and provided a take-away breakfast package for early flights that was so convenient . There were some resturants nearby you could walk to. A 10 minutes shutlle took us to the airport. Good for one night awaiting your flight and highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear reet02, thank you for posting such a nice review. It is our main priority that our guests get the highest quality of services and accommodations available in order to ensure them an excellent and restful stay. We strive to maintain the strictest standards for providing them with an unforgettable hotel experience, that way, everytime they need a hotel, they can be sure that with us they will find everything they need in a hotel besides from being less than 5 minutes away from the airport which is a very convenient feature. Also, across the parking lot, there are some great restaurants ( Denny´s is open the 24 hours) and several car rentals. In all, we try to make everything easier for our guests, for them to have everything they need in just one place, and at the same time, provide them with comfortable and cozy rooms so they can get all the rest they need. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back again soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The only difference between this and the dozens of Hampton Inn's I have stayed at in the US was the friendlier staff and nicer breakfast area. Treat yourself to a meal across the street at Denny's before heading back into the jungle!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear BrianSix, we appreciate you posting your review. It makes us feel very happy that you found our staff to be friendly and welcoming because besides providing our guests with a very comfortable room and all the services they might need, tthose are the things that make this hotel what it really is. We are always striving to provide our guests with everything they need whether it´s a toothbrush or reservations at a restaurant, we are there to make their stay with us the best hotel experience ever.
That way our guests will know that they can always count on us for everything they need. Thank you for staying with us, and the entire team hopes to see you again soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Address: Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 1017, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport hotel with everything you need...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San José - Airport. If you're looking for a hotel in the Central Valley, home of San José, Costa Rica’s capital city, look no further. Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton™ is the most conveniently located hotel in the area, just five minutes away from the International Airport, one block away from rental car return centers, and with easy access the Inter-American Highway (which transports you to beautiful beaches, national parks, and free trade areas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport
Hampton Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.