We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Location-Feels Like You Never Left Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 1017, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% by Booking Now!
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Minnesota
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Location-Feels Like You Never Left Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a great place to stay near the airport. Very clean and extremely friendly front desk. Free shuttle to the airport. Restaurants nearby in walking distance. Free international calls back to the US and free WiFi. Full breakfast provided in the morning, but they can also pack you a "breakfast to go" if you have an early morning flight. Several rental car agancies are located right next door so convenient if you are dropping off the night before your flight. I certainly wouldn't want to stay here if you want to "experience" Costa Rica, but it was an excellent way to wrap up our trip before we headed back home. It felt like we had 1 foot back in the US before leaving Costa Rica.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Domer90mo, thank you for sharing your feedback. Comments like yours are a great source of motivation for us because it shows us that we are doing a good job providing comfortable accommodations, making our guests feel right at home and offering all the services they need to make their stay the best hotel experience possible. Also, the excellent location of our hotel, less than 1 mile away from the airport and just a parking lot away from great restaurants and car rentals. We really do strive for our guests to have the perfect stay, wether they are starting their vacation or leaving early the next morning, what we want is to guarantee a great night sleep with all the services they require. Thank you for staying with us, we will be waiting for the next time you visit us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    189
    41
    7
    16
See reviews for
177
195
47
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Hampton Inn San Jose Airport is an excellent choice. Safe and quiet. The staff is top notch with smiles and greetings at every passing. Top grade taxi service to almost anywhere is either complimentary for close by spots, like the airport, or a cut above for a trip to nearby attractions and activities. Definitely family friendly. Extra clean room with a perfect bed. Full breakfast buffet is satisfying. Whether one night or a week, this is the right choice.

Room Tip: For an extra $8, I booked a spacious studio with the king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Artie G, reading your review makes us feel extremely proud and satisfied of our work. There is nothing that we like more than to see our guests happy about our accomodations and the services we provide. We are always trying to create a very relaxing and comfortable atmosphere which gives the hotel a very family friendly ambience. As you could see, our rooms are design to create a very cozy feeling to guarantee a peaceful sleep. With the services we offer and the restaurants that are just a parking lot away, we try to provide our guests with everything they need for a relaxing and successful stay. Thank you for choosing us and we hope that you can come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laguna woods, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

A great place to stay with a shuttle to and from the Airport every 10 to 15 minutes complementary. The staff was most helpful, supplied free full breakfast daily, a nice pool area and a computer center/business center readily available. A nice clean room with a comfortable bed and free WiFi made my stay easily recommendable to others. Plus, the price is right.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Gary W W, thank you for posting your review. We are very happy that you found our accommodations and services of your liking, we are always striving to provide a great service experience to all our customers to guarantee their complete satisfaction of their stay with us. Among the many services we offer are the free unlimite national and international phone calls which our guests like very much because they are able to keep in touch daily with their loved ones. Another great service we offer is the bagged breakfast to go for all those guests that have a very early flight before the hotel breakfast is served, so they can have something to eat before their plane departs. We really enjoy taking very good care of our guests because is one of the characteristics that define us as a hotel and which makes us very proud. Thank you for staying with us and for your recommendations, we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I always love staying at Hampton Inns considering we always have a great experience! We stayed here for the last night of our honeymoon to be close to the airport since our flight was leaving early the next day. The hotel is very, very clean and the staff is very friendly! We arrived to the hotel early & before check in time and they prioritized our room to get cleaned so we could settle in. We thought that was great! We always love the complimentary coffee and they even had little to go bags of complimentary breakfast the next morning for us to take.

It's very close to the airport and they have a complimentary shuttle that take guests to and from the airport! Very convenient! We love Hampton Inn :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear KristineDavis, first of all let us congratulate you on your wedding. Thank you for letting us be a part of such a wonderful occasion as is your honeymoon. We are very happy that you found our hotel satisfactory and that it achieved all of your expectations. We strive to provide our guests with the highestt quality of services and accommodations to make their stay an unforgettable experience. We try to comply with everything our guests needs so they will always know that they can rely on us. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you next year on your wedding aniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We enjoyed almost everything about this hotel. The rooms are clean, breakfast was delicious (they even had fresh baked cookies on one of the days we stayed), laundry room was very convenient, and the staff was delightful. Only problem we had was with the Wi-Fi in our room. Luckily, the internet connected perfectly when we used the cord so it wasn't too bad.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel C, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Natasha B

Thank you very much for leaving your comments about your experience with us.

We are happy to know that our location was convenient for your trip and that you enjoyed our shuttle service and hot breakfast. Thank you very much for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - San Jose Airport for your Costa Rica stay.

We are looking forward to having you with us in the future.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had to leave San Jose for our flight home very early in the morning. We wanted to stay close to the airport but still have access to San Jose the day before our flight. This hotel was in the perfect location. It allowed us to pay our departure taxes at the hotel so we did not have to stand in line for the airport. It provided a free shuttle to the airport in the morning. The rental car company had an agreement with the hotel so that we could get a ride back from the rental car company to the hotel for no charge after dropping off our rental car. The hotel provided us with advise and directions of where to eat in San Jose - great recommendation. The room was very relaxing, comfortable bed, free wifi, and all the amenities I needed. It was a very comfortable way to end the trip and I recommend this hotel for when you are flying in and out of San Jose airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Barbara D

Thank you very much for leaving your comments about your experience with us.

We are happy to know that our location was convenient for your trip and that you enjoyed our shuttle service and hot breakfast. Thank you very much for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - San Jose Airport for your Costa Rica stay.

We are looking forward to having you with us in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washinton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Hotel has excellent staff. Always willing to help. Provided me tips to restaurants, rental car, airport taxes, etc. I watched foot ball game with free pizza and drink. Hotel provided a box of morning breakfast to go and air port shuttle.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Kamlesh P

Thank you very much for visiting our Trip Advisor profile and for commenting on your experience at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton, Costa Rica.

On behalf of management, we want to thank you for choosing our facilities during your stay in Costa Rica. We are happy to know that you had a good stay. Our staff always strives to offer you comfort and convenience.

We thank you again for sharing your thoughts and look forward to serving your future travel needs.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Address: Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 1017, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport hotel with everything you need...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San José - Airport. If you're looking for a hotel in the Central Valley, home of San José, Costa Rica’s capital city, look no further. Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton™ is the most conveniently located hotel in the area, just five minutes away from the International Airport, one block away from rental car return centers, and with easy access the Inter-American Highway (which transports you to beautiful beaches, national parks, and free trade areas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Hampton Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.