We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great airport hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 1017, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% by Booking Now!
Ranked #3 of 30 hotels in Alajuela
San Francisco
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great airport hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Friendly service, clean and quiet rooms, convenient airport shuttle, plus free breakfast, snacks, and wifi. Exactly what I needed for a 1-night stay before my 7am flight.

Quick tip: you can pay your Costa Rica departure tax here instead of at the airport. it costs just a few bucks more, but saves you from one more line at the airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Mrs. Sonia D

Thank you very much for visiting our Trip Advisor profile and for commenting on your experience at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton, Costa Rica.

On behalf of management, we want to thank you for choosing our facilities during your stay in Costa Rica. We are happy to know that you had a good stay. Our staff always strives to offer you comfort and convenience. They are great at answering guests' questions, and if they do not know the answer, they look it up for you.

We thank you again for sharing your thoughts and look forward to serving your future travel needs.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    301
    185
    39
    7
    16
See reviews for
172
193
45
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merritt Island, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was one of the nicest Hampton Inns that I stayed in. The location was great, near the airport, and I used their complimentary shuttle to get to the airport. The rooms were well appointed and very clean and well kept.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear MJ P

On behalf of our staff, we want to thank you for choosing our facilities while you were in the country. We are happy to know that everything was convenient for your overnight stay.
We realize that every guest has a choice when traveling and thank you for choosing our Hampton Inn & Suites hotel.
We look forward to serving your future travel needs.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

It was our last night in Costa Rica and we had a 7am flight out the next day, so we needed a solid convenient, quiet hotel near the airport. If that's what you need then Hampton Inn fits the bill.

This Hampton has a local shuttle that can take you to the airport, nearby restaurants, etc. They also have free breakfast included and a little snack store.

The room was quite spacious and the bed was perfect.

They also have plenty of coffee, tea, and hot chocolate in the lounge area that was nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear jep02005


Thank you very much for staying with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton – San Jose Airport in Costa Rica and for the time you took to review our Trip Advisor profile. We are pleased to learn that you found our beds, rooms and staff friendliness satisfactory throughout your stay. In addition, we are really happy to know that you enjoyed our free shuttle to the International Airport. We are aware that every guest has a choice when traveling and we thank you for choosing our hotel.

Looking forward to your next stay,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We only stayed one night on our way out of Costa Rica...I wish we could have stayed longer! The room was big, clean and air conditioned. The staff was friendly and very helpful. They even gave the kids postcards, cookies and took their pictures when we checked in. After traveling all day we were very hungry and very thankful for the endless bowl of fruit in the lobby. Our flight left very early in the morning. The scheduled a shuttle and packed us a breakfast. I highly recommend the Hampton Inn!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Mr. jvanvors

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton – San Jose Airport in Costa Rica and for the time you took to review our Trip Advisor profile. We are pleased to learn that you found our beds, rooms and staff friendliness satisfactory throughout your stay. In addition, we are really happy to know that you enjoyed our free shuttle to the International Airport. We are aware that every guest has a choice when traveling and we thank you for
choosing our hotel.

Looking forward to your next stay,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed here 2 different nights and had a wonderful time. Coffee was superb, rooms very clean. Service was excellent. Breakfast was really great. Some hotels in the states could take a lesson in customer service from this hotel. Can't wait to come back and stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear John L

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton – San Jose Airport in Costa Rica and for the time you took to review our Trip Advisor profile. We are pleased to learn that you found our beds, rooms and staff friendliness satisfactory throughout your stay. In addition, we are really happy to know that you enjoyed our free shuttle to the International Airport. We are aware that every guest has a choice when traveling and we thank you for choosing our hotel.

Looking forward to your next stay,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejuela, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed her for almost 2 weeks for business, and a bit of personal travel. The staff was friendly, helpful, the place was nice, close to the airport and places to eat, clean, very safe, and I LOVED the FREE international calling direct from my hotel room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Mr. John B

Thank you very much for visiting our Trip Advisor profile and for leaving us your comments about your experience at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton, Costa Rica.

On behalf of our staff, we want to thank you for choosing our facilities while you were in the country. We are happy to know that everything was convenient for your overnight stay.
We realize that every guest has a choice when traveling and thank you for choosing our Hampton Inn & Suites hotel.
We look forward to serving your future travel needs.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Spent just one night in this hotel right next to the airport in San José. Room was spacious and clean, bed was very comfortable and despite proximity with the airport room was quiet. Service excellent and great choice at complementary breakfast. Staff very helpful and professional. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Mrs. Tina A

Thank you very much for visiting our Trip Advisor profile and for leaving us your comments about your experience at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton, Costa Rica.

On behalf of our staff, we want to thank you for choosing our facilities while you were in the country. We are happy to know that everything was convenient for your overnight stay.
We realize that every guest has a choice when traveling and thank you for choosing our Hampton Inn & Suites hotel.

We look forward to serving your future travel needs.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Address: Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 1017, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport hotel with everything you need...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San José - Airport. If you're looking for a hotel in the Central Valley, home of San José, Costa Rica’s capital city, look no further. Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton™ is the most conveniently located hotel in the area, just five minutes away from the International Airport, one block away from rental car return centers, and with easy access the Inter-American Highway (which transports you to beautiful beaches, national parks, and free trade areas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Hampton Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.