We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves to be No 01” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 1017, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% by Booking Now!
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Deserves to be No 01”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I can only echo the previous reviewers comments. Perfect attention to detail. Not sure if all Hamptons are like this, but finally an airport hotel managed to score full marks on my list. Everything the airport / transfer traveller needs: close to airport, free 24h shuttle, free wifi, free 24h coffee station with 4 types of brewed coffee, free breakfast, free international phone calls to ANY country, nice pool with neat garden to relax after travel.

It is located opposite the car rental depot, so ideal to leave the family at the pool while the car is rented or returned. Plane noise in rooms marginal. Airport not very busy, so even next to pool was not a problem.

I loved the fact that all my pet hotel-hates were absent: the pool fence has a proper child-safe latch; resident tour operator in the lobby made efficient arrangements to get us to Montezuma by ferry and minibus; Denny's and Casino next door; ice machine on each floor; 24h convenience shop in lobby selling beer, cold drinks, snacks and even a few frozen meals to heat in the room's microwave; each room has bar fridge, microwave, minisafe, iron and ironing board, proper detachable hangers WITH hooks, A/C is not operated by room key, so can be left running while out, portable base for laptop use in the bed, soap holders at both bath AND shower height, outward curved shower curtain to increase curtain distance while showering, 4 towels and extra toilet tissue without having to ask, - 10 out of 10!! Well done Hampton. We had to leave too early for breakfast, but they had breakfast packs ready to take along.

Can't remember seeing any plates or cutlery, so this could be the only negative, but I'm sure they will lend you from the kitchen.

Room Tip: The King room with sofa bed is significantly larger, but even the standard King room was a decent si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Mr. HendrikBerg

Thank you very much for leaving your comments about your experience with us.

We are happy to know that our location was convenient for your trip and that you enjoyed our shuttle service and hot breakfast. Thank you very much for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - San Jose Airport for your Costa Rica stay.

About aour Biodegradable Utensils and Containers :

Tater Ware products are 100% biodegradable and 100% compostable utensils, plates, cups and napkins that are safe for the environment. Like the name implies, Tater Ware products are made from potatoes, specifically from potato starch and limestone, according to a description at wholelattelove.com.

The company Biodegradable Food Service (BDFS), LLC, makes these great Tater Ware products that are environmentally-friendly and safe for the environment. They also manufacture other types of Earth-friendly products.

We are looking forward to having you with us in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    192
    43
    7
    16
See reviews for
180
197
49
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grants Pass, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Not a resort, but rather a very clean room near the airport while vacationing in Costa Rica. Smallish rooms with free international calls. At o'dark thirty this is a very convenient location to catch a flight a kilometer or two across the road. One can turn in a rental car near the front entrance and there is a shuttle to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear. Tracker557

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton – San Jose Airport in Costa Rica and for the time you took to review our Trip Advisor profile. We are pleased to learn that you found our beds, rooms and staff friendliness satisfactory throughout your stay. In addition, we are really happy to know that you enjoyed our free shuttle to the International Airport. We are aware that every guest has a choice when traveling and we thank you for choosing our hotel.

Looking forward to your next stay,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here on the first and last night of our trip on a family vacation. Staff were helpful, pleasant and efficient. Breakfast was very good as well. Nice touch to have coffee and tea waiting along with a bowl of apples upon our arrival. Rooms were fine - internet service could be a bit better - also the free international calls is a plus! Shuttle to the airport in the morning was easy and without hassle. Overall a very positive experience and would stay there again.

P S Fitness center could use a little improvement

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton – San Jose Airport in Costa Rica and for the time you took to review our Trip Advisor profile. We are pleased to learn that you found our beds, rooms and staff friendliness satisfactory throughout your stay. In addition, we are really happy to know that you enjoyed our free shuttle to the International Airport. We are aware that every guest has a choice when traveling and we thank you for choosing our hotel.

Looking forward to your next stay,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We are well familiar with Hampton Hilton hotels but this one excelled compared to many others.
Was this one different? It had free coffee with a range of coffees, free fruit, free cookies, free internet, free local calls, free international calls and a free 24 hour shuttle service to the airport. It also has a small outside swimming pool which is most refreshing after flights in.
The added bonus was the staff were so pleasant – all of them!
The room was clean and adequate for our brief one night stopover. As the room included a fridge and microwave it would be ok as a base for a couple of days. It's location so close to the airport is really good and airport noise was not an issue.
As a one -night-stop at the start or conclusion of a trip this hotel can be recommended.

Room Tip: As the lift sounds are quite frequent and a bit noisy - move away from the elevators. Rooms at the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear. DrDWR

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton – San Jose Airport in Costa Rica and for the time you took to review our Trip Advisor profile. We are pleased to learn that you found our beds, rooms and staff friendliness satisfactory throughout your stay. In addition, we are really happy to know that you enjoyed our free shuttle to the International Airport. We are aware that every guest has a choice when traveling and we thank you for choosing our hotel.

Looking forward to your next stay,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, ct
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here 1 night with family upon arrival in San Jose (note: the airport is not in San Jose proper but in Alajuela; if you are looking at hotels, be aware that the city is not that close and that there can be a lot of traffic). They arranged connecting rooms. The hotel is as good as one could imagine a Hampton Inn being. This is not a Grand Hyatt, but everything is nice, new, and clean. Even the breakfast is ok. Staff very helpful. Shuttle waiting already when we exited baggage claim. Convenient to what appears to be all possible rental car companies. Took advantage of pre-paying the departure tax there when beginning 2-week vacation. For a stay before or after a flight, look no further.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear. HAPPAH

Thank you very much for visiting our Trip Advisor profile and for leaving us your comments about your experience at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton, Costa Rica.

On behalf of our staff, we want to thank you for choosing our facilities while you were in the country. We are happy to know that everything was convenient for your overnight stay.
We realize that every guest has a choice when traveling and thank you for choosing our Hampton Inn & Suites hotel.
We look forward to serving your future travel needs.

Sincerely,
________________________
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Its too pricey. The staff are thieves. The local tico guests are even ruder than the staff which tell you everything. The only thing good about the place is its location to the airport...find somewhere else. That's my advice.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear former guest,

We constantly strive to offer our guests value and good service, which is why we are really sorry to hear that you found our hotel overpriced and that during your stay we weren't able to meet your expectations. We are surprised to hear your comment about our staff and appreciate if you could send us further details. Please, contact us at dcubero@gmhis.net.

Best regards,

Daniel Cubero.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

It's okay but there are much newer options at the same or even lower pricepoint. If everything else is full go ahead and give it a try. Rooms are a bit dated, plain and worn around the edges. Great location near the airport but nothing else in particular to recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Address: Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 1017, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport hotel with everything you need...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San José - Airport. If you're looking for a hotel in the Central Valley, home of San José, Costa Rica’s capital city, look no further. Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton™ is the most conveniently located hotel in the area, just five minutes away from the International Airport, one block away from rental car return centers, and with easy access the Inter-American Highway (which transports you to beautiful beaches, national parks, and free trade areas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport
Hampton Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;