We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thieves!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 1017, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% by Booking Now!
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Thieves!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Its too pricey. The staff are thieves. The local tico guests are even ruder than the staff which tell you everything. The only thing good about the place is its location to the airport...find somewhere else. That's my advice.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear former guest,

We constantly strive to offer our guests value and good service, which is why we are really sorry to hear that you found our hotel overpriced and that during your stay we weren't able to meet your expectations. We are surprised to hear your comment about our staff and appreciate if you could send us further details. Please, contact us at dcubero@gmhis.net.

Best regards,

Daniel Cubero.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    195
    45
    7
    17
See reviews for
181
198
51
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

It's okay but there are much newer options at the same or even lower pricepoint. If everything else is full go ahead and give it a try. Rooms are a bit dated, plain and worn around the edges. Great location near the airport but nothing else in particular to recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our first night & last night & both times were pretty good. No complaints. It's location is pretty good. There is a Denny's nearby & but we wanted traditional food and walked to a little resturaunt nearby that was really good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed at the Hampton for 1 night when leaving Costa Rica due to an early flight. I picked the hotel because they have a 24 hour shuttle, which runs 24 hours back and forth between the hotel and airport. When I arrived, I found that my bank had frozen my account and, as I spent hours calling them trying to get it figured out, the staff was so friendly to me and really showed they cared. One thing I was surprised about but delighted to find was that they make sack breakfasts for the customers who have to leave before breakfast to catch their flights, it was a very nice treat!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night at the beginning and again for 2 nights at the end of our holiday. It was recommended to us by a friend that travels yearly to Costa Rica to see family. The location is ideal. Our kids were very tired after a long day of plain rides and customs. A shuttle was available to drop us 2 minutes away at the hotel. The hotel was clean and identical to Canadian hotels of the same chain. Breakfast was diverse, fresh and tasty. The rental car companies are right across the road making for easy price comparison and pick up of a car. We left mid day to drive up towards Arenal for our next hotel and it was an easy drive.

On our return 3 weeks later we flew up to San Jose from Manuel Antonio and stayed two nights before heading home. We went up to the Poas Volcano for the last day of our trip and stopped at the Botanical Park up that way as well. It was a spectacular finish for our trip and again was not difficult driving although we had trouble starting our rental car after Poas.

Was actually 2008 when we went last.

Enjoy!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Great place to stay for first or last night in Costa Rica. Located near the airport, this hotel offered very comfortable beds, decent bathrooms, a pool (which we did not use), a free shuttle service to the local restaurant area in the evening for dinner and a very well equipped hot breakfast that was included in the cost of the room. Not much necessarily around the hotel per say but the shuttle for dinner worked out brilliantly. Staff was very nice and the hotel itself was very clean and decently decorated as one would expect of a chain hotel. A good, safe bet!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The moment you set foot into the Hampton Inn, you could be anywhere.You could just as easily be in Dayton, Ohio, Jacksonville, Florida or Austin, Texas. I say this as a positive virtue. Everything is comfortably familiar The Hampton Inn has all the amenities one would expect-big screen TV, elevator, in room coffee, clean pool(although the Holiday Inn pool was a bit larger).This is the ideal kind of place to either prepare for, or perhaps recover from, some of the idiocyncracies of Costa Rican hostelry. We stayed here the first night after flying down from JFK. We also stayed at the Holiday Inn Express, located in the same complex, before our flight out a week later. Both places delivered essentialy the same quality lodging experience. However, the Hampton Inn had what I thought was a much better breakfast buffet in a nicer dining area. The Hampton Inn also had a small concession in the lobby where on could purchase pre made sandwiches, beer, wine and soda. The Holiday Inn did not. Other than that, they use the same super efficient airport shuttle and because they are both pretty much the same price, you can't go wrong with either one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Address: Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 1017, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport hotel with everything you need...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San José - Airport. If you're looking for a hotel in the Central Valley, home of San José, Costa Rica’s capital city, look no further. Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton™ is the most conveniently located hotel in the area, just five minutes away from the International Airport, one block away from rental car return centers, and with easy access the Inter-American Highway (which transports you to beautiful beaches, national parks, and free trade areas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport
Hampton Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.