We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 1017, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% by Booking Now!
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our first night & last night & both times were pretty good. No complaints. It's location is pretty good. There is a Denny's nearby & but we wanted traditional food and walked to a little resturaunt nearby that was really good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    189
    41
    7
    16
See reviews for
177
195
47
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed at the Hampton for 1 night when leaving Costa Rica due to an early flight. I picked the hotel because they have a 24 hour shuttle, which runs 24 hours back and forth between the hotel and airport. When I arrived, I found that my bank had frozen my account and, as I spent hours calling them trying to get it figured out, the staff was so friendly to me and really showed they cared. One thing I was surprised about but delighted to find was that they make sack breakfasts for the customers who have to leave before breakfast to catch their flights, it was a very nice treat!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night at the beginning and again for 2 nights at the end of our holiday. It was recommended to us by a friend that travels yearly to Costa Rica to see family. The location is ideal. Our kids were very tired after a long day of plain rides and customs. A shuttle was available to drop us 2 minutes away at the hotel. The hotel was clean and identical to Canadian hotels of the same chain. Breakfast was diverse, fresh and tasty. The rental car companies are right across the road making for easy price comparison and pick up of a car. We left mid day to drive up towards Arenal for our next hotel and it was an easy drive.

On our return 3 weeks later we flew up to San Jose from Manuel Antonio and stayed two nights before heading home. We went up to the Poas Volcano for the last day of our trip and stopped at the Botanical Park up that way as well. It was a spectacular finish for our trip and again was not difficult driving although we had trouble starting our rental car after Poas.

Was actually 2008 when we went last.

Enjoy!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Great place to stay for first or last night in Costa Rica. Located near the airport, this hotel offered very comfortable beds, decent bathrooms, a pool (which we did not use), a free shuttle service to the local restaurant area in the evening for dinner and a very well equipped hot breakfast that was included in the cost of the room. Not much necessarily around the hotel per say but the shuttle for dinner worked out brilliantly. Staff was very nice and the hotel itself was very clean and decently decorated as one would expect of a chain hotel. A good, safe bet!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The moment you set foot into the Hampton Inn, you could be anywhere.You could just as easily be in Dayton, Ohio, Jacksonville, Florida or Austin, Texas. I say this as a positive virtue. Everything is comfortably familiar The Hampton Inn has all the amenities one would expect-big screen TV, elevator, in room coffee, clean pool(although the Holiday Inn pool was a bit larger).This is the ideal kind of place to either prepare for, or perhaps recover from, some of the idiocyncracies of Costa Rican hostelry. We stayed here the first night after flying down from JFK. We also stayed at the Holiday Inn Express, located in the same complex, before our flight out a week later. Both places delivered essentialy the same quality lodging experience. However, the Hampton Inn had what I thought was a much better breakfast buffet in a nicer dining area. The Hampton Inn also had a small concession in the lobby where on could purchase pre made sandwiches, beer, wine and soda. The Holiday Inn did not. Other than that, they use the same super efficient airport shuttle and because they are both pretty much the same price, you can't go wrong with either one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here on our second-to-last day in Costa Rica for some much needed rest and relaxation between adventures. The staff were extremely friendly and accomodating and could communicate in both Spanish and English excellently.

The room was very spacious, luxurious, and seemingly held to a much higher standard than is typical in Costa Rica (not that the rest of Costa Rica wasn't amazing enough!).

The breakfast in the morning was huge! They offered everything from eggs, waffles, yogurt, and fresh fruit to traditional beans and rice as well as a large assortment of juices and other beverages.

We don't typically stay in American hotels while abroad but it was everything to be expected from a standard Hampton Inn and Suites back in the States!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This property is a stone's throw to the San Jose airport with free and reliable shuttle service that runs every 20 minutes. It's a typical Hampton Inn -- rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, amenities are limited. There is a nice, full breakfast included with the room. Free Wi-Fi and unlimited, free calls to the US are welcome perqs.

The hotel says it provides guests a chance to buy the required exit visa but not once in 3 years of staying here has the form been available. The adjacent Holiday Inn Express (same owner) is usually able to accommodate.

The hotel is an easy walk from both Denny's and Rosti Pollo -- both average but reliable food outlets. Less than two blocks away is a nice Peruvian restaurant called Limon. Worth the walk and much better food than the chain outlets.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Address: Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 1017, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport hotel with everything you need...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San José - Airport. If you're looking for a hotel in the Central Valley, home of San José, Costa Rica’s capital city, look no further. Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton™ is the most conveniently located hotel in the area, just five minutes away from the International Airport, one block away from rental car return centers, and with easy access the Inter-American Highway (which transports you to beautiful beaches, national parks, and free trade areas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Hampton Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.