We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 1017, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% by Booking Now!
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Napa, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here on our second-to-last day in Costa Rica for some much needed rest and relaxation between adventures. The staff were extremely friendly and accomodating and could communicate in both Spanish and English excellently.

The room was very spacious, luxurious, and seemingly held to a much higher standard than is typical in Costa Rica (not that the rest of Costa Rica wasn't amazing enough!).

The breakfast in the morning was huge! They offered everything from eggs, waffles, yogurt, and fresh fruit to traditional beans and rice as well as a large assortment of juices and other beverages.

We don't typically stay in American hotels while abroad but it was everything to be expected from a standard Hampton Inn and Suites back in the States!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMfoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
154 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This property is a stone's throw to the San Jose airport with free and reliable shuttle service that runs every 20 minutes. It's a typical Hampton Inn -- rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, amenities are limited. There is a nice, full breakfast included with the room. Free Wi-Fi and unlimited, free calls to the US are welcome perqs.

The hotel says it provides guests a chance to buy the required exit visa but not once in 3 years of staying here has the form been available. The adjacent Holiday Inn Express (same owner) is usually able to accommodate.

The hotel is an easy walk from both Denny's and Rosti Pollo -- both average but reliable food outlets. Less than two blocks away is a nice Peruvian restaurant called Limon. Worth the walk and much better food than the chain outlets.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LudwellMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baraboo
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Checked in for 2 nights and was given room directly across from elevator. When I made the reservation 4 months earlier I requested exactly the opposite. But ok, we thought we would try it, settle in, and not say anything. About an hour later could not stand the noise. Showed the very polite lady at the front desk my request, which I had printed, and asked if I could move the following day since we had already occupied the room for awhile. "No problem, we will find another room for you right now" was her answer. And she did! We like Hampton's for many other reasons but they always seem to fine the best people who really care about TCB with lots of TLC!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyBaraboo_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Met our needs for our accomodation on the night we arrived in CR, and the day before our departure to the US.
The room was clean, good water pressure for a nice shower, AC, and delicious breakfast included. They provide services like free Wifi, free long distance calls to US, money exchange, departure tax ($4 more than at the airport if you don't want to be in line at the airport, please note that if you use credit card at the airport to pay departure tax ,it's considered a cash advanced. We used our Wells Fargo debit/atm card and there was no service charge.)
The hotel manager Daniel was very friendly, circulating during breakfast, even helping clean up tables, and asking how we are, sharing Costa Rican culture and food.
The shuttle service to and from the airport is much appreciated (quick ride). The night we arrived, we didn't have to call for them to get us, they just come on a regular schedule.
Because of these amenities, we recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucyza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Our very early morning flight from the San Jose airport required us to stay near the airport. They provide 24 hour shuttle service as well as a bagged breakfast available at the check out counter consisting of a muffin, water, fruit bar and an apple. It will do for a 4:00 am departure from the hotel. If you have a later flight, they do have a complementary breakfast bar. Since we arrived the night before, we were able to walk to the nearby Denny's restaurant for dinner. Convenient but just a Denny's. The hotel does not have a restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ida M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I chose this hotel for airport convenience and familiarity before an early AM flight. From the efficient shuttle driver to the gracious reception staff to our comfy, sparkling room and fresh, tasty breakfast, this ranks as the nicest Hampton Inn I've visited. They have a mini-store adjacent to reception that offers snacks, wine and beer - very handy if you just want to chill in your room vs. eat out. They also feature a gift shop with a diverse, quality mix of jewelry and souvenirs, making it easy to trade surplus colones for last minute gifts!

Room Tip: Reserve a suite. It's just a bit more, but you get a mini-frig, microwave, bar sink and sofa. Mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I only had 4 full days in Costa Rica and the Hampton Inn was exactly what I needed for the end of a 16 day trip in South America. It was so nice to have all the comforts of Hampton--super comfortable bed with plenty of pillows; a great bathroom with excellent water pressure, lots of hot water, plenty of plush towels; a laundry facility; a nice little outdoor pool; good breakfast selection; a tour desk with a great concierge who help me set up all my tours. The only complaint was that the day I left, a Saturday morning, they don't provide the take-away breakfast brown bag. Even though the hotel is close to the airport, the flight noise was not too bad. The airport shuttle service was great. Nice to have a couple restaurant choices within walking distance. If I go back to San Jose, I would definitely stay at the Hampton again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laGuera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.0 of 5 stars 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#17 of 31 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
3.6 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#3 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 1,945 reviews
1.8 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Address: Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 1017, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport hotel with everything you need...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San José - Airport. If you're looking for a hotel in the Central Valley, home of San José, Costa Rica’s capital city, look no further. Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton™ is the most conveniently located hotel in the area, just five minutes away from the International Airport, one block away from rental car return centers, and with easy access the Inter-American Highway (which transports you to beautiful beaches, national parks, and free trade areas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Hampton Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing