We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, convenient, affordable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 1017, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% by Booking Now!
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Santa Clara, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Clean, convenient, affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Met our needs for our accomodation on the night we arrived in CR, and the day before our departure to the US.
The room was clean, good water pressure for a nice shower, AC, and delicious breakfast included. They provide services like free Wifi, free long distance calls to US, money exchange, departure tax ($4 more than at the airport if you don't want to be in line at the airport, please note that if you use credit card at the airport to pay departure tax ,it's considered a cash advanced. We used our Wells Fargo debit/atm card and there was no service charge.)
The hotel manager Daniel was very friendly, circulating during breakfast, even helping clean up tables, and asking how we are, sharing Costa Rican culture and food.
The shuttle service to and from the airport is much appreciated (quick ride). The night we arrived, we didn't have to call for them to get us, they just come on a regular schedule.
Because of these amenities, we recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    195
    45
    7
    17
See reviews for
180
198
51
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Our very early morning flight from the San Jose airport required us to stay near the airport. They provide 24 hour shuttle service as well as a bagged breakfast available at the check out counter consisting of a muffin, water, fruit bar and an apple. It will do for a 4:00 am departure from the hotel. If you have a later flight, they do have a complementary breakfast bar. Since we arrived the night before, we were able to walk to the nearby Denny's restaurant for dinner. Convenient but just a Denny's. The hotel does not have a restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I chose this hotel for airport convenience and familiarity before an early AM flight. From the efficient shuttle driver to the gracious reception staff to our comfy, sparkling room and fresh, tasty breakfast, this ranks as the nicest Hampton Inn I've visited. They have a mini-store adjacent to reception that offers snacks, wine and beer - very handy if you just want to chill in your room vs. eat out. They also feature a gift shop with a diverse, quality mix of jewelry and souvenirs, making it easy to trade surplus colones for last minute gifts!

Room Tip: Reserve a suite. It's just a bit more, but you get a mini-frig, microwave, bar sink and sofa. Mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I only had 4 full days in Costa Rica and the Hampton Inn was exactly what I needed for the end of a 16 day trip in South America. It was so nice to have all the comforts of Hampton--super comfortable bed with plenty of pillows; a great bathroom with excellent water pressure, lots of hot water, plenty of plush towels; a laundry facility; a nice little outdoor pool; good breakfast selection; a tour desk with a great concierge who help me set up all my tours. The only complaint was that the day I left, a Saturday morning, they don't provide the take-away breakfast brown bag. Even though the hotel is close to the airport, the flight noise was not too bad. The airport shuttle service was great. Nice to have a couple restaurant choices within walking distance. If I go back to San Jose, I would definitely stay at the Hampton again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peace River, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

After charging a lot more than other hotels in the area that we have stayed at, this hotel had the balls to charge us an additional fee of $20.00 for our lawyer to come to our room for 15 minutes to sign some papers. When asked, the front desk staff said it was "Policy". I explained who we were expecting and suggested that we would NOT be having a party - it was Policy - no exceptions. We found this experience to be rude and almost degrading. For this Policy, I won't stay there again and won't be suggesting it to friends or family'

Room Tip: Prepare to pay more if you want to have guests visit you in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear 61Cathy61,

I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I understand that you were disappointed and that we came short of delivering what you are accustomed to expect from us. I truly apologize if this was the case and I can assure you that I will definitely keep your feedback in mind to improve our in-property experience.

We appreciate your business and sincerely apologize that we did not provide you with the level of quality that you are accustomed to receive from us. We do everything we can to ensure our guests enjoy our hotel. With that said, I assure that your comments are incredibly important to us and I will definitely take them into consideration.

Again, I thank you very much for your review and sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity and stay with us in your future visits to our country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Nice cosy hotel close to the airport. We stayed one night before our departure. Stuff was helpful and friendly, good internet coverage, 5 min to the airport.
Breakfest was good, unfortunately all the dishes, cups, cuttlery everything made of plastic :(

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linn Creek, Missouri
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at the Hampton Inn the night before our early morning flight. The hotel is very clean, and the staff is polite as well as professional. The bilingual staff was more than happy to direct us to shopping and advise us about hopping the shuttle to the airport at 6 AM on Sunday. The Hotel made sure an appropriate number of busses and vans were available to enable all of us to get to the airport on time. The rooms are spacious, quiet, and offer all the modern conveniences. Breakfast is served beginning at 6 AM, and several carafes of coffee are always available in the lobby. Be it business or pleasure Hampton Inn, San Jose Airport will certainly make you feel at home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We thank you for your time visiting our TripAdvisor profile and for sharing your experience with the travel community.
Our goal is to offer high value for your money by offering quality accommodations, friendly service and a clean and safe environment, on a consistent basis.
For us, it is very important to know your perception on our hotel and services, and we are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay. We appreciate your comments in reference to our staff; this encourages us to give our best every day.

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts and for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton-San Jose Airport. If you return to Costa Rica someday, we will be happy to serve you again and try to make you feel at home.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Address: Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 1017, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport hotel with everything you need...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San José - Airport. If you're looking for a hotel in the Central Valley, home of San José, Costa Rica’s capital city, look no further. Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton™ is the most conveniently located hotel in the area, just five minutes away from the International Airport, one block away from rental car return centers, and with easy access the Inter-American Highway (which transports you to beautiful beaches, national parks, and free trade areas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport
Hampton Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.