We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here 2 nights - hotel staff were amazingly helpful when I got sick the 2nd night.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 1017, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% by Booking Now!
Ranked #3 of 29 hotels in Alajuela
Bailey, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stayed here 2 nights - hotel staff were amazingly helpful when I got sick the 2nd night.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here the night of our arrival and the night before an early departure. The 2nd night I became very ill and it was scary to be sick in a foreign land and knowing I HAD to make my 7AM flight the next morning. The hotel staff - one person in particular (manager?) was incredibly helpful - she really went above and beyond - found an English speaking doctor to come to the hotel within about a half hour. One hour later I had been diagnosed, medicated, and in bed. Then, because most of our cash had been stolen the day before, she arranged for the doctor to be paid by the hotel and charged our credit card. Room was clean, beds very comfortable and breakfast much better than the usual free hotel breakfasts.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Costa Rica with the Trip Advisor community.

Our mail goal is to provide you with the best service, clean rooms, convenient location and facilities. We want you to make you feel more than a guest, we want to make you feel like a friend and part of our motivation is to go farder in every detail. We are happy to know that one of our co-workers made this possible calling the doctor and helping you in every moment and you never felt like in a foreing land, we hope that everything went fine flying back home.

We will share your review with all the staff and we stand by the opportunity to be part of your hotel selection in future trips to our country.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    285
    177
    36
    8
    15
See reviews for
156
187
43
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BAY SHORE
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We arrived in CR @ 8:30 PM, and by the time we had collected our luggage & gone through customs, it was just ideal to get on the Hampton Inn shuttle. We were in our quiet, immaculate room by 9;30 PM and had a great night's sleep on their comfortable bed. We woke up refreshed and ready to tackle the dicey drive to Los Suenos in daylight. The breakfast was excellent.
Suggestion: supply shower caps
PS charging $2 dollars for a can of coke is obscene!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your toughts via Trip Advisor!
We understand that after a flight and customs the only thing you want is to arrive to the hotel as soon as possible. That is the reason why our main goal is to provide you with an efficient shuttle service, clean rooms and comfortable bed during your visit.

We appreciate your comment regarding our breakfast, we hope you enjoyed our hot breakfast area as well as a friendly service. We will follow your recommendation related with the shower caps ans suite shop. Thank you again for your review, this give us the opportunity to give our best everyday.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

An agent placed us in this hotel which is close to the airport and we were very pleasantly surprised. The rooms are clean, large and nice, it has a small pool, good breakfast, free wi-fi and very friendly staff. Can't ask for more. And there's no noise from the airport inside the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank your for the time sharing your review via Trip Advisor.

We are very glad to know thar we were a pleasend surprise during your visit to our country.
Our staff is always regarding to give the best service, clean rooms and facilities. For us being a hotel close to the airport is not enough we want to go farder in every stay.

Your toughts are very important because they give us a honest and clear opinion of our service.
Also we are happy to hear that you tasted our waffles or typical breakfast selection.

Thank you again for your time, and we spect to have the opportunity to make more surprises for you in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurmala, Latvia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

we are buddy pass travellers and stayed two days in Hampton while waiting for our flight back to the us. A very nice place to stay an overnight or more. Close to some attractions in Costa Rica. We have had an unplanned trip to La Paz Waterfalls and Gardens: a really best we have ever seen in Costa Rica

Room Tip: we were stayed in a double with extra bed for our kid. Quite enough space in a room. A very good opt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the arrival and tale end of our trip to Costa Rica. It is not a particularly glamorous hotel but then you wouldn't expect that from a place across the road from a run way. For what we needed thought it was excellent. Staff were friendly, we found the 'pick up guy' pretty easily outside the airport, slightly away from the general scrum that hangs around outside tourist airports offering rides and timeshares. On the way out there was coffee in the foyer for us, even at 5am which was great.

No frills but clean and met our needs. Only draw back was there is no bar but they do have a shoppe in the lobby. Not well stocked with beer and if they run out there it seems to be it.

Would stay there again if arriving from a late flight or leaving on an early one.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us via TripAdvisor.
We are are happy to know that we filled your confort and quality expectations.
For us helping you to arrive to the hotel as soon as possible is very important we know how tired a flight and the airport can be, we try to make our shuttle service efficient and easy to recognize.

We will work in your comment regarding the stock of our suite shop to offer more products, thak you again for your review. This give us the opportunity no improve every day.

You and your family will be always welcome at Hampton Inn & Suites, Costa Rica.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Extremely convenient for early morning departures. 24 hour shuttle great and quick to airport. The lobby is large and comfortable. Comfortable beds, nice linens, clean! Very nice hotel! Denny's is across the street. Wish we had explored more for a dinner option.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your toughts truer our Trip Advisor profile.

We are glad to know your comments about our lobby, it was completely improved two months ago with a new concept wich is Perfect Mix Lobby giving more confort and space.

We know how important is for our guests to be on time even when we are located just 5 min from the airport we try to make our shuttle service efficient 24 hours.

Clean rooms and a friendly service are part of our main goal, than you again for making Hampton Inn & Suites part of your experience in Costa Rica.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed here after a late arrival into San Jose. A courtesy bus collects you outside the main airport doors. Try not to be intimidated by the taxi drivers and keep your eyes peeled - it comes around every half an hour or so and parks close to the taxis. It also stops at holiday inn (I think). We were greeted by a friendly staff and quickly made our way to a very clean and comfortable (and pretty generic) room. There's no restaurant or bar at night time, but there are a couple of eating places e.g. Denny's, nearby, so you'll not go stuck. Breakfast was wonderful. We wouldn't hesitate to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for your time visiting our Trip Advisor profile and for sharing your comment with the community.
Your advice is very important, at the arrivals gate from the Santamaria Int. Airport there are always taxi drivers, or pelople offering rides or transfers. You can easily recognize our shuttle by the Hampton Inn & Suites logo, shuttle arrives every 15min it can be delayed 10min by the traffic at the airport exit however it will always arrive.

We are happy to know thar our breakfast, clean rooms and friendly service filled your expectations. We hope to have the opportunity of being your hotel in future visits to our country.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Address: Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 1017, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport hotel with everything you need...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San José - Airport. If you're looking for a hotel in the Central Valley, home of San José, Costa Rica’s capital city, look no further. Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton™ is the most conveniently located hotel in the area, just five minutes away from the International Airport, one block away from rental car return centers, and with easy access the Inter-American Highway (which transports you to beautiful beaches, national parks, and free trade areas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Hampton Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.