We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option for an airport stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 1017, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% by Booking Now!
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Belfast
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great option for an airport stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed here after a late arrival into San Jose. A courtesy bus collects you outside the main airport doors. Try not to be intimidated by the taxi drivers and keep your eyes peeled - it comes around every half an hour or so and parks close to the taxis. It also stops at holiday inn (I think). We were greeted by a friendly staff and quickly made our way to a very clean and comfortable (and pretty generic) room. There's no restaurant or bar at night time, but there are a couple of eating places e.g. Denny's, nearby, so you'll not go stuck. Breakfast was wonderful. We wouldn't hesitate to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for your time visiting our Trip Advisor profile and for sharing your comment with the community.
Your advice is very important, at the arrivals gate from the Santamaria Int. Airport there are always taxi drivers, or pelople offering rides or transfers. You can easily recognize our shuttle by the Hampton Inn & Suites logo, shuttle arrives every 15min it can be delayed 10min by the traffic at the airport exit however it will always arrive.

We are happy to know thar our breakfast, clean rooms and friendly service filled your expectations. We hope to have the opportunity of being your hotel in future visits to our country.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    204
    45
    7
    17
See reviews for
186
201
52
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was my second stay at the Hampton Inn in by SJO in the last 6 months. The location is right by the airport and the hotel is quiet, safe, clean, comfortable and includes a free breakfast at a reasonable price.

They also have an honest and professional staff. I accidently left my brand new iPhone 5 charging in the lobby when we left at 6 am for a Pacuare River rafting adventure. I realized this very early on, called the hotel and the hotel staff found the phone and put it in safekeeping until I was able to pick it up several days later.

Don't hesitate to stay here for your short stay. The overwhelming majority of positive reviews on this site are spot on!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hola!
Thank you for your review, it is very important for us to know about your toughts because that keep us improving our service in every detail.

Your loyalty is very important to us, and we are happy to be once again part of your hotels selection in Costa Rica.

Our mail goal is to offer your clean rooms, friendly environments and the best quality in our facilities. Thank you again for recommending us and for your time visiting our TripAdvisor profile.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed only one night here as that is all I required. The room and the property are very nice and clean. I did have a small problem but the manager and staff solved it for me. Little expensive but very upscale and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Hello Jaybirdrob!
Warm greetings from Hampton Inn, Costa Rica.

Fist of all we want to thank your for choosing us as your hotel during your visit to our country.
We are glad to know that our staff helped you solving your problem , for us hospitality is more than just a clean room is a friendly service too.

Thank you again for taking the time to visit our TripAdvisor profile. We look forward to have the opportunity to be your hotel in future trips to Costa Rica.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here for a night before catching a flight out of SJO. The hotel is 5 mins from airport and their shuttles run 24 hrs, every 10 mins. The rooms are big and nice. Toilet was clean, and the beds were comfortable. The included breakfast buffet was vast: scrambled eggs, rice and beans, waffles, fruits, cereal. yoghurt, etc.

There are a few car rental agencies such as Thrifty, Toyota right across so it is convenient if you have a rental car to pick up or drop off. Unfortunately, we rented from Avis which is quite a distance from this hotel.

Overall. a nice hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for you time visiting our TripAvisor profile.

Here at Hampton we understand the needs of our guests and we encourage our team to give the best service in every detail. Thank you for your comments related with our breakfast items, part of our commitment is to provide you and your family with quality items and fresh local products. We are glad to know that you had a nice stay at our hotel.

We are looking forward to the opportuniy to serve your next visit to Costa Rica.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

The location is super close to the airport, staff extremely helpful, food choices are limited, but a awesome little to go breakfast if you leave before six a.m. Nice overnight stop on way to the pacific resorts.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Hello!
Warm greetings from the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton family, Costa Rica.

We want to thank you for making us part of your hotel selection in our country. We appreciate your time visiting our Trip Advisor profile. It is always a pleasure to know about your comments regarding our breakfast to go, clean rooms and service.

We are glad to know that we were an strategic point during your visit to our country.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Room is nice, new bedding. Staff is friendly. Advice: do not recommed using the hotel taxi service, rates are 40-200% more than local services. Took hotel taxi to Walmart - 3mil colonies; return trip with local taxi - 1 mil colonies; hotel taxi to dinner - 15 mil colonies; return trip with local taxi - 8700 mil colonies.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for the time visiting our TripAdvisor profile.
For us your feedback is very important, our main goal is to give you the best services and facilities always in every visit.

Regarding your comments of the taxi service, we are located in Plaza Aeropuerto. The taxi company work directly with the owners of the Plaza. We are not related with that company, however I will extend your thoughs.

Thank you again for sharing your review. We hope to have the opportunity to be part of your hotel selection in the future.


Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslum
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very pleasant stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites San Jose Airport. Very friendly and welcoming staff, nice room, excellent breakfast. Very close to Juan Santamaria airport and in the area with all car rental agencies.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Hello!
Thank you choosing Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton, Costa Rica.
We appreciate your time visiting out TripAdvisor profile.

We are glad to know that our clean rooms, friendly staff and breakfast area filled your expectations. Our close location from Santamaria Airport and the car rental agencias can be very helpful and easy to access.

We stand by the opportunity to be your hotel in your next trip to our country.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Address: Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 1017, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport hotel with everything you need...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San José - Airport. If you're looking for a hotel in the Central Valley, home of San José, Costa Rica’s capital city, look no further. Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton™ is the most conveniently located hotel in the area, just five minutes away from the International Airport, one block away from rental car return centers, and with easy access the Inter-American Highway (which transports you to beautiful beaches, national parks, and free trade areas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport
Hampton Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.