We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was clean and nice.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 1017, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% by Booking Now!
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Room was clean and nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed only one night here as that is all I required. The room and the property are very nice and clean. I did have a small problem but the manager and staff solved it for me. Little expensive but very upscale and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaybirdrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Hello Jaybirdrob!
Warm greetings from Hampton Inn, Costa Rica.

Fist of all we want to thank your for choosing us as your hotel during your visit to our country.
We are glad to know that our staff helped you solving your problem , for us hospitality is more than just a clean room is a friendly service too.

Thank you again for taking the time to visit our TripAdvisor profile. We look forward to have the opportunity to be your hotel in future trips to Costa Rica.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here for a night before catching a flight out of SJO. The hotel is 5 mins from airport and their shuttles run 24 hrs, every 10 mins. The rooms are big and nice. Toilet was clean, and the beds were comfortable. The included breakfast buffet was vast: scrambled eggs, rice and beans, waffles, fruits, cereal. yoghurt, etc.

There are a few car rental agencies such as Thrifty, Toyota right across so it is convenient if you have a rental car to pick up or drop off. Unfortunately, we rented from Avis which is quite a distance from this hotel.

Overall. a nice hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dukkar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for you time visiting our TripAvisor profile.

Here at Hampton we understand the needs of our guests and we encourage our team to give the best service in every detail. Thank you for your comments related with our breakfast items, part of our commitment is to provide you and your family with quality items and fresh local products. We are glad to know that you had a nice stay at our hotel.

We are looking forward to the opportuniy to serve your next visit to Costa Rica.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The location is super close to the airport, staff extremely helpful, food choices are limited, but a awesome little to go breakfast if you leave before six a.m. Nice overnight stop on way to the pacific resorts.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ltropea13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Hello!
Warm greetings from the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton family, Costa Rica.

We want to thank you for making us part of your hotel selection in our country. We appreciate your time visiting our Trip Advisor profile. It is always a pleasure to know about your comments regarding our breakfast to go, clean rooms and service.

We are glad to know that we were an strategic point during your visit to our country.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Tennessee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Room is nice, new bedding. Staff is friendly. Advice: do not recommed using the hotel taxi service, rates are 40-200% more than local services. Took hotel taxi to Walmart - 3mil colonies; return trip with local taxi - 1 mil colonies; hotel taxi to dinner - 15 mil colonies; return trip with local taxi - 8700 mil colonies.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for the time visiting our TripAdvisor profile.
For us your feedback is very important, our main goal is to give you the best services and facilities always in every visit.

Regarding your comments of the taxi service, we are located in Plaza Aeropuerto. The taxi company work directly with the owners of the Plaza. We are not related with that company, however I will extend your thoughs.

Thank you again for sharing your review. We hope to have the opportunity to be part of your hotel selection in the future.


Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslum
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very pleasant stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites San Jose Airport. Very friendly and welcoming staff, nice room, excellent breakfast. Very close to Juan Santamaria airport and in the area with all car rental agencies.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerok72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Hello!
Thank you choosing Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton, Costa Rica.
We appreciate your time visiting out TripAdvisor profile.

We are glad to know that our clean rooms, friendly staff and breakfast area filled your expectations. Our close location from Santamaria Airport and the car rental agencias can be very helpful and easy to access.

We stand by the opportunity to be your hotel in your next trip to our country.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
134 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel is extremely close to the airport, has a shuttle pick-up at the airport and was very clean, with spacious rooms. Perfect for our family of five and the great hot complimentary breakfast was just absolute icing on the cake. We would highly recommend this hotel, with the only proviso being that there is not much else close to the hotel but car rental places.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ace65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing us as your hotel during your visit to our country.

For us is very important the perception from our guests and your review give us an opportunity to improve our service. Our main goal is to give you and your family a confortable stay, clean rooms, a good breakfast and an efficient suttle service to the airport. And we are happy to know that you and your family had a great time at Hampton.

We appreciate your comments, and hope to have the opportunity to be your hotel in future trips to Costa Rica.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLACKSTONE,MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

this is a great strating point for a trip to costa rica, close to airport free shuttle. reasonable rates. full breakfast some car rentals in same parking lot. security is good and rooms are clean. staff is very friendly. close to dennys and walmart

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KITKAT60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments.


It always a pleasure to receive good reviews from our guests.
We are more than happy to know that me made your stay easier with our service, clean rooms, shuttle and location.

Thank you for your time visiting our TripAdvisor profile. We look forward to the opportunity to be your hotel in your next trip to Costa Rica.


Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.0 of 5 stars 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#17 of 31 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
3.6 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#3 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 1,951 reviews
1.8 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Address: Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 1017, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport hotel with everything you need...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San José - Airport. If you're looking for a hotel in the Central Valley, home of San José, Costa Rica’s capital city, look no further. Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton™ is the most conveniently located hotel in the area, just five minutes away from the International Airport, one block away from rental car return centers, and with easy access the Inter-American Highway (which transports you to beautiful beaches, national parks, and free trade areas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Hampton Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing