We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kindness abounded in clean, neat hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 1017, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% by Booking Now!
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Kindness abounded in clean, neat hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed for only one night here, but when our flight was delayed for five hours out of DFW, the staff waited with my wife, who was already there and waiting for me and my two sons to arrive and made a special shuttle trip to get us. After 9 hours in an airport and another three hours on a plane, that kindness was not wasted on us.

The hotel is tidy and provides a big breakfast of eggs, cereals, sausage, waffles, fruit and some if the best coffee on the planet. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for you time visiting our TripAvisor profile.

Here at Hampton we understand the needs of our guests and we encourage our team to give the best service in every detail. Thank you for your comments related with our breakfast area, part of our commitment is to provide you and your family with quality items and fresh local products.

We are looking forward to the opportuniy to serve your next visit to Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    256
    58
    8
    18
See reviews for
230
270
56
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We flew in at 9PM and stayed at Hampton's overnight before taking off in a car to three destinations. I'be stayed here once before and it's as clean and efficient as I remember it. Everything is spotless and the staff very friendly. The morning breakfast which is included has lots of choices and is perfect for a quick morning bite, I think the eating area has been redone it looks new. The bed and pillows were a bit hard for our liking but that was the sole negative. None the less I'd stay here for a night again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Summit 4321,

Greetings from Hampton Inn & Suites staff.

Thank you for your visit to our TripAdvisor profile. Your feedback is very important for the entire staff, this give us the opportunity to improve in every detail.

We are happy to know you found convenient our location and facilities. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to be your hotel in next visit to Costa Rica.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loomis ca
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
125 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed two nights, arrival and night before departure home.
What we liked:
Frequent free shuttle service to and from airport-every 10-15 minutes. Hotel 5 minutes from the airport.
Generous breakfast complete with hot food items and fresh fruit. Staff kept buffet service area very clean.
Breakfast bag to go for those with early flights, beginning at 530am.
Nice to have refrigerator and microwave in the rooms
Comfy beds, nice linens
Free wifi in the guest rooms and free use of computers in business center
What we didn't like
No restaurant on site. Two nearby options within walking distance leave alot to be desired. We chose Denny's and paid over $30 for 2 chicken sandwiches and two diet cokes. Mediocre food, high prices. The chicken restaurant close by looked like modified fast food but we didn't dine there.
Need better communication regarding Costa Rica departure tax. There is a kiosk inside the hotel selling this for $32 per person, but if you purchase at the airport it is $28. The $4 service fee per person seems a bit much. Very easy and fast to purchase at the airport, even with a line. They prefer US$, but will accept colones.
Would we stay again? Absolutely. Unless there is a reason to stay in San Jose it is much easier to find your way out of town from this area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear ernieLoomisCa,

Warm greetings from Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Costa Rica!

We want to thank you for your visit to our TripAdvisors profile. We are happy to know that we were a nice part of your trip in Costa Rica. Our main goal is to provide you with clean rooms, complemented with a friendly service and facilites. It always important to receive feedback from our guests, that give us the chance to improve everyday.

We hope to have the opportuty to help you in your future stays in Costa Rica.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We needed a place to stay after getting in late in San Jose and taking an internal flight from Sansa early the next morning. Inexpensive, clean, great complimentary breakfast, and very quick and frequent airport shuttle. Couldn't have been better for what we needed it to be.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on the recommendation of a friend who travels to CostaRica regularly, and I'm glad that we took her advice. We flew in late at night, and had no trouble finding the hotel shuttle at the airport. Within minutes, we were checking in at the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the hotel, including the room, was spotless and modern. Our room was designed to accommodate people with wheelchairs, so of course it was large and roomy. Pleasant surprise: international calls (Canada and US) are free from your room, so you can call home to say "we arrived!" before continuing on your Costa Rican adventure. The complimentary breakfast is, as we've come to expect from Hampton Inn, way more extensive than "continental". All in all, a great way to start our vacation. We'll be back on our way home.

Room Tip: Our room (designed to accommodate people with disabilities or using wheelchairs) was extremely spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Sandra A.


Thank you for your comments.

I am gland to know that you found convenient our location, services and facilities.
In the name of the entire staff we thank your friend for recommending to you, this comments encourage us to bring our best everyday.

I am happy to know that you were able to call back home with our free international phone calls facility. It is our pleasure to be part of your experience in our country.

We are going to be waiting for you with a smile and a friendly service in your way back to home.

Best wishes during your trip in Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed here for just one night after a long flight from UK. Very close to the airport and free shuttle service was very straightforward (important for us as we arrived after 11pm). Staff on check in was friendly and made us welcome. Room was large, comfortable and clean for our short stay. Breakfast was adequate offering American and Costa Rican style breakfast.

Prior to arrival I checked that we could leave our luggage at the hotel whilst we did a two day package tour elsewhere. We had made it clear that we would only be returning to the hotel to collect our luggage. I had email confirmation that this was ok. On check out as we were preparing to drop our bags off at the hotel we were told that this was not possible as we were not returning to stay at the hotel as there had been "issues". After a little panic as we could not take our bags with us on the tour, the receptionist reluctantly allowed us to leave our bags. Although everything worked out ok this was a disappointing introduction to travelling in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Chartly,

Thank you for taking the time to visit our Trip Advisor profile.

We really appreciate your comments as an opportunity to improve our service in every detail.
I am glad to know that your found convenience our rooms, breakfast area and facilities, at the same please receive my apologies for the situation caused by your luggage storage.

Thank you again for selecting us as your fist hotel during your trip to Costa Rica. We will be looking forward to give you the best service during your future visits to our country.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Hampton is very close to the airport and the shuttle ran frequently. The place is very clean and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The staff are extremely courteous and helpful. There is no reason to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hola Pike57!

Thank you very much for taking time to visit our Trip Avisor profile! We are glad to know that we made your stay a remarkable moment during your visit to Costa Rica.

Clean comfortable rooms and a friendly service are always our main goals. Thank you again for your feedback.

We stand by the opportunity to be your hotel during your next visit to our country.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Address: Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 1017, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport hotel with everything you need...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San José - Airport. If you're looking for a hotel in the Central Valley, home of San José, Costa Rica’s capital city, look no further. Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton™ is the most conveniently located hotel in the area, just five minutes away from the International Airport, one block away from rental car return centers, and with easy access the Inter-American Highway (which transports you to beautiful beaches, national parks, and free trade areas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Hampton Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.