We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand name hotel with world class staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 1017, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% by Booking Now!
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
USA
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Brand name hotel with world class staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My wife and I arrived to get some of the SIBU chocolatewith no intention of staying. We met with Gustavo who made us feel welcome and like we had stayed there before, like we were returning guests. My wife bought all of the choclate but needed more so Gustavo promised he would work on getting us more. We felt so welcomed and it was sincere, we stayed and were happy that we did. We got a studio, free wifi and a good breakfast with the rate. Room was large, shower was great and they have face towels. Bed a very comfortable with great sheets.
Every staff person we met in the halls or wherever we were greeted with the typical Tican kindness and cheerful greeting. Who ever trained the staff did a great job. What you can't train is sincerety and enthusiasm, which we got from every staff person. Never mind the hotel brand name, how much you pay or how many stars the hotels has, it somes down to the service and the staff. This hotel has it. Best stay in two weeks in Costa Rica, no doubt. Like the other posts state, it is far away from other things but the staff will organize a way to get you there.
We stayed because of Gustavo and Henry at reception. They went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable, so much so we cancelled our second night downtown to return our last night.

The night staff did not seem to be as friendly, or engaging. At checkout we couldn't even find the reception guy but we were good to go anyway. Over all a great stay.
Good job Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear bulldogtwo:

Hola!
First of all we are happy to know that we helped you to get the SIBU chocolate bars!
Gustavo our receptionist was very concern from the very start and he told the A.G.M. to help you with this special request.

Also we are glad to know that you were looking for chocolates and at the end you stayed with us. Its our main goal to offer you comfortable clean rooms and a good service in all our facilities. Thank you again for your comments.

I gave your greetins and feedback to Gustavo, Henry and all our staff. In the name of every department in the hotel we thank you and we wish the opportunity to serve you in a future trip to Costa Rica.

Best regads,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    210
    48
    7
    17
See reviews for
191
209
52
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle, washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here the night before our early morning flight. The staff was very friendly and great customer service.

FYI...aside from a casino, a Rosti Pollo, and Denny's, there is nowhere to go within walking distance. So you need a car or taxi if you plan to do any sight seeing. The hotel will help arrange this.

The shuttles run 24 hours and arrive every 15 minutes or so. This was really convenient and made it simple to get to the airport the next day.

You get free breakfast, which included a good variety of items to choose from (eggs, bacon, "make your own waffles", fruit, cereal, coffee, tea ...)

And get this....you get free international calling from your room. Yes, that's right......free international calling!!! This really came in handy for us because while we were there, a small earthquake occured. We were easily able to call family/friends back home to advise we were alright.

The rooms were very comfortable and clean. Wifi worked well in the room. It is exactly what you would expect a Hampton Inn to be.

Overall, this is the perfect hotel for your stay either once arriving or departing out of San Jose.

Room Tip: Pick the 3rd floor and a room away from the elevator for reduced noise. We were in room 320 which wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear bossychihuahua:

Hello! Greetings from Hampton Inn & Suites Costa Rica!

Thank you for taking time to visit our Tripadvisor profile and sharing your comments. I am glad to know that our location, shuttle service and complementary breakfast made much more easier your next day flight.

Also I am happy to know that you were able to communicate with your family and friends after the small earthquake true our free international calls facility . All the staff was in the best disposition to help during the emergency.

We appreciate your comments because they give us the opportunity to improve our service every day.


Thank you again for giving us the opportunity to share with your last night in Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Short business stay, good hotel overall, no room service due to size, but very comfortable, right across the airport, only drawback is you need a cab to go find a local place to eat and need one to get back obviously, so you have to hire one to either drop you off and come back for you, or ask them to wait for you. You need to also get a cab to cross into the airport. Nice if you are in and out, but if you are heading to San Jose, then this is not the place to stay, as it is quite a way from the city. Overall, good place. Breakfast is included and all good. Smoking allowed, good thing for us that smoke.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Hello tiredreamer!

Thank you very much for leaving your comments about your experience at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Costa Rica and for visiting our profile.

We are happy to know that our location was convenient for your trip as well as our breakfast area and facilities.

The staff will always do the best to ensure you have a comfortable perfect stay. In addition let me inform you that have no longer smoking rooms available, since September 2012 because of the new Costa Rican legislation for smoke free public areas.

We are looking forward to your next stay, we would love to have you here again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

After two weeks of traveling all over Costa Rica, we stayed here the night before our early morning flight. The staff were incredibly friendly and helped explain how the early morning shuttle (runs every 15 minutes or so) ran, and how the departure tax worked. To make this even easier, and for a small fee, they will coordinate the Costa Rica departure tax for you right at the hotel, saving you precious time and confusion once you arrive at the airport. This was priceless and allowed us to sleep another 30 minutes, while avoiding any headaches at the airport.

The rooms were very comfortable and clean, and the on-site business center with internet access was a nice bonus to be able to check online for a few things once we arrived.

The location is very close to the airport, and like anything around the airport--the roads and routes are a bit odd. Regardless, this wasn't an issue.

Overall, this is the perfect hotel for your stay either once arriving or departing.

--Justin S

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Justin S,

Warm greetings from the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton family, Costa Rica!

It is always a pleasure to hear good comments from our guests. We are happy to know that we were part of your great experience in our country. I am going to share your comments with all the staff.

Thank you again for your time visiting our Trip Advisor profile. We are looking forward to your next stay, we would love to have you here again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Maryland
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

If you get in very late or leave early this is a great option. Hotel is a typical Hampton Motel with decent breakfast and good Internet connection. No restaurant but there is a Denny's and Rostipollo (rotisserie chicken) franchises across the parking lot. However if you use this hotel as your base for meetings in San Jose, travel times into town in the morning and late afternoon could be over an hour long and US$30 each way.

Room Tip: Ask for miny suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Mon Gourmet,

Thank you very much for visiting our Trip advisor profile and for leaving your comments about your experience at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton, Costa Rica.

I am glad to know that your stay at Hampton Inn Costa Rica was pleasent. We are happy to know that you found a good service in our breakfast and internet facilities. It is our main goal to make you feel as comfortable as possible.

This kind of reviews encourage us to work harder everyday.


Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusk, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Great room, all amenities one would expect in the USA. Caters to Americans and serves a very good breakfast, Has shuttle to airport 24 hours a day and runs every 15 minutes or so. On-site departure tax location costs an additional 4 dollars but may be worth it in high season. We didn't avail ourselves of the service since we were leaving before the office opened (it opens at 7 a.m.). Be sure to get a free "to-go snack" when you check out. It has water, a piece of fruit and a Otis Spunkmeyer muffin. Also, be sure to eat it all before you get to the plane, since they search you in the Jetway and take your water away from you. This has nothing to do with the hotel, it's just a warning to fellow travelers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Doug I !
Warm greetings from Costa Rica.

Thank you very much for leaving your comments about your experience at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Costa Rica and for visiting our profile.

We are happy to know that our location was convenient for your trip and that you enjoyed our breakfast and shuttle service. It is always a pleasure giving you the best.


We are looking forward to your next stay, we would love to have you here again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, CA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on the first and last nights of our vacation. It was just what we needed, it was spotless, quiet and so close to the airport. When our flight arrived, the free shuttle was there at the airport waiting for us. The beds were very comfortable. The free breakfast was delicious. All the staff were so helpful except one, who appeared to be having a bad day. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Hello vaykayam!

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton – Costa Rica. We really appreciate the time you took to review our Trip Advisor profile and we thank you for choosing us. This kind of comments always help us to improve our service.

We realize that every guest has a choice when traveling and we thank you for making Hampton Inn & Suites your choice. We are happy to know that we were part of your vacations in our conuntry.

We are looknog forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,

The Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Staff – Costa Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Address: Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 1017, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport hotel with everything you need...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San José - Airport. If you're looking for a hotel in the Central Valley, home of San José, Costa Rica’s capital city, look no further. Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton™ is the most conveniently located hotel in the area, just five minutes away from the International Airport, one block away from rental car return centers, and with easy access the Inter-American Highway (which transports you to beautiful beaches, national parks, and free trade areas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport
Hampton Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.