We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Airport Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 1017, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% by Booking Now!
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect Airport Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We booked this hotel for a stay to catch an early morning flight. It worked great. Buy your Departure Tax stamps here ($4 extra). Very clean. Good breakfast. Right by airport and free shuttle. Only negative is not a lot of dining options close by - Dennys and a Chicken place which was just OK. But for a night stay to be near airport its the way to go!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear okatty !

Warm greetings from Costa Rica.
We really appreciate you took the time to share with the world your experience during your visit to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton, Costa Rica.

Thank you for leaving your comments and for visiting our Trip Advisor profile.
We are very happy to know that you enjoyed the comfort of our bed, the cleanliness of the room, the service of all our staff and our convenient shuttle service. For us it is always a pleasure giving you our best service in all the possible ways.

We are looking forward to your next stay.




Sincerely,

The Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    189
    41
    7
    16
See reviews for
177
195
47
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Issaquah, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed here with my family for one night before flying out from San Jose. This hotel is very close to the airport and they have free airport shuttles to take you there. The rooms are nice and clean. There is a Dennys across from the street and another restrurant in walking distance which was a nice thing to have for a quick dinner.

They have free international calling to any country included which was a nice feature. The breafast in the morning was good. The staff while checking out gave a nice balloon in the shape of a monkey to my son which kept him occupied in the airport. We didn't use the hotel service for paying departure tax and found the lines in the airport to be moving very fast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Hello! MASSeattle!

Thank you for your comments! For our staff giving an excellent service is the most important priority. I am glad to hear that our rooms and facilities made your last day in Costa Rica a moment to remember.

At Hampton Inn Costa Ricakids are very important guests, and we love to make them feel that they are staying in more than a hotel. I am going to extend your comments to our breakfast staff members, it is always a pleasure making you feel like at home.

We hope to have again the opportunity be part of your experience in Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed at the Hampton Inn & Suites for a total of four nights, 3 at the start of my trip and one at the end. When I arrived the airline had lost my baggage with all my clothes and wash kit. The hotel provided all the essentials so I could at least shower and clean my teeth when I arrived.

The hotel is quiet and the staff are all happy, friendly and helpful.

Breakfast - good, but some days the hot part could have been a bit better quality.

Onlt downside is that there are very limited services near by, no local shops in walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear divingmikeCambridge,

We really appreciate you took the time to share with the world your experience during your visit to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton, Costa Rica. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and service.

We are going to give additional attention to your comments about breakfast area. This kind of information help us always to improve our service.

Thank you again for your comments. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

The Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This was a welcome rest after touring the country for 10 days. We were welcomed at the front desk with no problems. The staff was friendly and personable and asked about our visit to the country. The room was comfortable and clean. Good quality continental breakfast in the morning with lots of variety. Reasonable rates and free shuttle to the airport every 15 minutes. A perfect place to land before going home the next morning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Hello! PaloAltobaby!

Thank you very much for leaving your comments about your experience at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Costa Rica. We are happy to know that our location was convienient for your trip and that you enjoyed our quality and services. I am going to extend your commets to our staff members.

We are looking forward to your next stay, we would love to have you here again.

Sincerely,

The Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton – Costa Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We arrived in San Jose after flying for almost 24 hours. Check in was speedy (thank you) room was more than adequate, very comfortable, big and plenty of space. Room had a desk too.

All staff were friendly, free breakfast was more than adequate

Thank you.

Room Tip: No noise detected in our room, however, too tired to notice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear inca186338.

I am happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations providing you a good and efficient service.
Thank you for your comments about our rooms quality and standards.

We are looking forward to your next stay.

The Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

If you are arriving late or leaving early from San Jose airport in Costa Rica, this hotel is almost right across the street and very convenient. The shuttle runs 24 hours a day every 10 or 15 minutes. There is delicious coffee and fruit available at all times in the lobby. The rooms are pretty much like any other Hampton Inn in the States. The front desk was very welcoming when we arrived. We paid about $160 with taxes for a room with two double beds, which is a little pricey, but the location is prime. You can't get closer to the airport and the hotel is also very close to many car rental places.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Hello! MangoMama11!

It is always a pleasure to hear comments from our guests.
I am happy to know that we made you feel as comfortable as possible during your visit to Costa Rica. I am going to give your comments to our lobby and breakfast staff members.

Thank you for your comments. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Hampton Inn, Costa Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Like most travelers, we stayed at the Hampton Inn the night before leaving Costa Rica. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. I was impressed with the room size. We had a double queen bed room and there was plenty of space for all the luggage. There was even a large desk to setup a laptop and read emails.

The room included A/C, flat screen TV, small refrigerator, a microwave, and the other usual items. We left too early to get the breakfast but they have coffee, tea, and fruit 24/7. The coffee was very good and I was happy to enjoy three Granadillas before leaving Costa Rica. Check them out if you've never had one -- they had the usual apple and oranges, too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maucrc, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Ms JSuar.

Thank you very much for visiting our Trip advisor profile and for leaving your comments about your experience at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton, Costa Rica.

I am glad to know that your stay at Hampton Inn Costa Rica was pleasent. We are happy to know that you found our staff friendly and helpful. It is our main goal to make you feel as comfortable as possible.

Thank you for your comments about breakfast area. This kind our reviews encourage us to work harder everyday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Address: Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 1017, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport hotel with everything you need...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San José - Airport. If you're looking for a hotel in the Central Valley, home of San José, Costa Rica’s capital city, look no further. Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton™ is the most conveniently located hotel in the area, just five minutes away from the International Airport, one block away from rental car return centers, and with easy access the Inter-American Highway (which transports you to beautiful beaches, national parks, and free trade areas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport
Hampton Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.