We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 1017, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% by Booking Now!
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed here on our first night in Costa Rica. The airport transportation is good. We stayed our first night and then took a tour to Tortuguero. They allowed us to leave some of our luggage until we returned, which was extremely helpful. We stayed a second night after our tour. Very normal Hampton Inn, nothing fancy but with all the comforts of a regular, American Hampton Inn. They claim to have free long-distance calling, but we never could get it to work. It wasn't a big deal, just a little bit of a bummer. Overall, nice, clean hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Sky13-99,

Thank you very much for visiting our Trip advisor profile and for leaving your comments about your experience at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton, Costa Rica.

I am really happy to know that we could help you with your bags while you were enjoying the beauty of our country, in reference to the free International phone calls it is a shame you did not have the option of using this service, I do not know what could had happened however we will check it out.

We realize that every guest has a choice when traveling and we thank you for making Hampton Inn & Suites your choice.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

The Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    212
    48
    7
    17
See reviews for
192
210
52
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grant, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here on our last night to be near the airport. We had spent the previous 9 days on the coast and although I loved it there it was so nice to get to a Hampton Inn. It happened to be the 4th of July when we checked in, and they played a little game where you could win prizes. It was one of the nicest Hampton Inns I've been to, and the staff was very helpful. Our room was large, and the bed was great. It was very clean, and we did make a few free international calls. We asked at the desk where we could get a good Costa Rican dinner, and they gave some good suggestions, then called the free shuttle to take us there. They also told us to call when we finished and they would pick us up. I would definately stay here again. We left too early to try their breakfast, but did get the sack breakfast, which was fruit, a muffin, and some kind of breakfast bar. The only negative was that there weren't really any shops or attractions nearby, or within walking distance, but it was a great place to just relax and get ready to leave.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear toni07grantmi,

Thank you very much for leaving your comments about your experience at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Costa Rica and for visiting our profile.

We are happy to know that our location was convenient for your trip and that you enjoyed our shuttle and the unlimited international phone call service.

The staff will always do the best to ensure you have a comfortable perfect stay. They are great answering any question you may have, and if they do not know the answer they will look it up for you.

We are looking forward to your next stay, we would love to have you here again.

Sincerely,

The Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton – Costa Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos Ski Valley
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have used this hotel many times over the last 10 years and recently had a mixed experience there. It is about as close to the airport as you can get for the early departure and the free shuttle is large and reliable. The rooms are very nice (so nice to have good pillows after traveling around CR for a week or so) and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. But our air conditioner did not work and in fact probably made the room warmer. When I mentioned this in the morning, they asked us to fill out a form and stood by their 100% guarantee- there was no charge.

Room Tip: check that the ac works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear mtnsurfer,

We really appreciate you took the time to share with the world the experience that you had when visited Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton, Costa Rica.

We want to thank you for leaving your comments and for visiting our Trip Advisor profile.
We are very happy to know that you enjoyed the comfort of our bed, the cleanliness of the room, the service of all our staff and our convenient shuttle service.

We are looking foraward to your next stay because we love having you here.

Sincerely,

Than Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Staff - Costa Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed here at both ends of our trip to Costa Rica. They have a shuttle that runs every 15 minutes or so to pick you up from the airport, with a 5 minute drive to the hotel. So arriving late or leaving early makes this an ideal location. The rooms were clean, comfortable beds, including the pullout sofa that I slept on both times. The staff is very friendly and willing to help out with whatever you need. With a 7:00am flight, staying here meant no traffic in getting to the airport, and a bagged breakfast on the way out the door because the main breakfast wasn't set up. Will stay here again when I go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Awor,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton – Costa Rica. We really appreciate the time you took to review our Trip Advisor profile and we thank you for choosing us.

We are happy to find that our beds, rooms and staff were satisfactory throughout your stay.
In addition, we are really happy to know that you enjoyed our breakfast bags and free shuttle to and from the International Airport.

We realize that every guest has a choice when traveling and we thank you for making Hampton Inn & Suites your choice.

We are looknog forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,

The Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Staff – Costa Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We were looking for a clean hotel close to the airport. This property was predictable and pleasant. The room was clean. The beds were comfortable and the complimentary breakfast was as good as you get at a comparable property.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear WorkTwoTravel,

Warm greetings form Hampton Inn & Suites - San Jose Costa Rica.

We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your time at our Hotel, it is very important for us to know your perception.

Thank you for all your comments about our beds and our breakfast, it is our main goal to offer you a great service and to make you feel like at home.

We love having you here,


The Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed here on our last night. It's a typical Hampton Inn with clean rooms, comfortable beds and clean bathrooms with soap and shampoo. They provided guests to make free international phone calls in each room. Staff tries to help you when they can but they are not as friendly as in the United States. The manager that was working when we checked in was the most friendliest and helpful and told us if we needed anything, don't hesitate to call on them. She even called our room to make sure that everything was good. Left too early in the morning to try their breakfast but they offered a bagged snack to take that contained a bottle of water, fruit and muffin.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna E, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear trotdaworld808,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton – Costa Rica. We really appreciate the time you took to review our Trip Advisor profile and we thank you for choosing us.

We are really happy to know that you enjoyed our free international phone calls and our shuttle to the airport. It is sad to know that you did not have time to enjoy our free breakfast, we hope to have the opportunity to offer you that service in the future.

Best regards,

The Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

This is a typical Hampton Inn that is conveniently located VERY near the airport. There is an airport shuttle and you can walk to Rosti Pollo and Denny's for meals. We arrived about 8:30 PM and checked in and ate at dennys. The staff was good and our room was clean. We began and our trip there. but since we only booked night 1 here when we tried to book our last night before departure here the price skyrocked up and we choose a different location. As an added bonus, the internet worked great here and the breakfast was great before our 8am departure into the jugle of arenal

Room Tip: get breakfast it is a nice spread
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna E, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Dear drjonesphd,

Warm greetings from Hampton Inn – Costa Rica.

Thank you very much for visiting our profile and sharing with us your perception.

I am really happy to read that you found our shuttle from and to the airport helpful. In addition, for dinner options, if you arrive really late and do not want to go out those two places you mentioned offer room service.

Our main goal is to make you feel like at home and I am very pleased to know that our staff was nice and the rooms were clean.

Thank you for choosing our hotel,

We love having you here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport

Address: Hwy 1 Airport Blvd, Alajuela 1017, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport hotel with everything you need...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San José - Airport. If you're looking for a hotel in the Central Valley, home of San José, Costa Rica’s capital city, look no further. Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton™ is the most conveniently located hotel in the area, just five minutes away from the International Airport, one block away from rental car return centers, and with easy access the Inter-American Highway (which transports you to beautiful beaches, national parks, and free trade areas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport
Hampton Inn Alajuela
Alajuela Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.