We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Buena Vista

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Buena Vista to your Saves list
Hotel Buena Vista
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Across from catholic church, Pilas, Alajuela, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Clinton, WI
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

We stayed at the Buena Vista for 3 nights at the end our our two week tour of Costa Rica. The location is on top of a mountain overlooking San Jose and the view is great. The neighborhood around the hotel is quiet an uncongested, yet the airport is only about 15 minutes away. The room was clean and comfortable, with plenty of hot water and the first carpeting that we had seen in two weeks. The food in he restaurant was very good, and the steaks were outstanding. What made the place great for us was the staff. We booked the room in desperation after we arrived in Costa Rica. We had planned to bookend our trip at another nearby hotel, but the first night's stay at that hotel was so disappointing that we frantically searched for a new place. We booked the Buena Vista with David over the phone. He even emailed a detailed map to me to make it easier to find when we returned from the Caribbean. From the Buena Vista we had easy access to visit Poas, Cafe Doka, Sarchi, Grecia and Escazu. On one of the nights we arrived from our adventures after the dining room had closed. Harlem and Coco, the two guys on staff, sent up room service steaks anyway. A little while later Coco came back with cake and ice cream. Apparently my son had told them when we checked in two days earlier that it was my birthday, and they remembered. Thanks guys, you gave my family a special night. This is the only place that you should stay at the beginning and/or end of a trip to Costa Rica.

  • Liked — The staff and the location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    126
    34
    14
    5
See reviews for
136
158
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on arriving in Costa Rica and 1 night before leaving. Both times the Hotel provided a shuttle bus to pick us up/drop us off. The staff were exceptionally helpful in helping to organize things for us, like taxis to nearby towns, soccer games, etc. Our rooms were very clean and comfortable and the food in the dining room was good. The views from the property were great even though not all the rooms had views.
All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel as a place to stay away from the hustle and noise of the city.

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2008

Best hotel for the price with very friendly and accommodating staff. Good food in the restaurant. Great beds. Beautiful grounds and view. Gave us a very comfortable feeling being there. The owner is there a great deal of the time making sure all runs smoothly. A great base for exploring the central valley and for arrival and departure night.

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2008

This hotel exceeded our expectations. The entire staff was friendly and knowledgeable. They made sure we had no trouble planning any activities and truly sought to make sure our stay was enjoyable. The location is outstanding in terms of the view of the central valley, proximity to the airport, and attractions of the natural variety (Poas, La Paz, Canopy tours).

Likewise, it is in a more rural setting away from the noise of the major highways. Don't even think about sticking with a chain hotel because you know them better. Marriot, best western, etc. Let the Ticos show you what Costa Rican hospitality is all about.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Water pressure in the shower
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

I was recently in Costa Rica and stayed at the Hotel Buena Vista for 1 night before leaving to spend a week with my family on the Pacific side of the country. I enjoyed the hotel so much that I decided to extend my stay for another 5 days after my family left.
I immediately felt like I was at a home with family rather than visiting a hotel. The warmth and consideration of the staff was unsurpassed! This was the first time I have ever traveled alone, and the staff eased any trepidations I may have had. The day tours from the hotel are fantastic and they will customize them to wherever you want to go with very friendly and knowledgable guides. I can't wait to return to Costa Rica and stay with my friends once again at the Hotel Buena Vista!

Stayed November 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2008

my boyfriend and I stayed at Buena Vista hotel for one night on our way to the Osa Peninsula.
It came highly recommended by the owner of the house we were renting on the beach in the Osa.
It was a great way to start our trip. After flying many hours from San Francisco, through Houston to SJO, we were way ready to relax.
This property is set up above alajuela (near the airport), up in the lush coffee bean covered hills, and had awesome views all around. The grounds were beautiful, and we got our first glimpse of the incredible flora that CR is famous for. There's a well cared for trail that has coffee plants and lots of other exotics.
Transportation is easily arranged, and currency/ money can be exchanged for local currency.
The best part about BV s the people though. Everyone was really friendly, spoke English, and had lots of entertaining stories about CR life. Have some Guaro Sour, and the stories get even funnier.
Im sure we'll be coming here again in our next visit to CR.

Stayed November 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil, IN
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

The Hotel Buena Vista has a fantastic view of the central valley. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The owner was very nice and helpful also. We plan to stay here again. My only negative comment was the lack of pressure in the shower.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — water pressure in the shower
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buena Vista

Address: Across from catholic church, Pilas, Alajuela, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Buena Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comment ofter heard in this hotel is, "We feel like we are at home." This is exactly the impression the management and staff of the Buena Vista strive to create. We are high on the summit of a mountain with a climate of eternal spring yet only fifteen minutes drive from the International Airport below. We will pick you up there and show you the wonders of this exotic country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Alajuela
Hotel Buena Vista Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Buena Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.