We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, 20 minutes to Poas, 20 minutes to airport” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Buena Vista

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Buena Vista to your Saves list
Hotel Buena Vista
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Across from catholic church, Pilas, Alajuela, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Good location, 20 minutes to Poas, 20 minutes to airport”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Positives
Airport shuttle service
views of the city
Garden
Pool
Great breakfast fruits and bread (filling)
Rooms have beautiful carved wood doors and nice beds
15-20 minutes to airport
15-20 minutes to Poas (get up to Poas by 800 Opening if you hope to see the crater)

Negatives
Staff indicated we could get a shuttle at 445AM. Actual did not leave till 505AM. Made it rushed for a 700 flight
Rooms need screens. A few bugs and mosquitos got in a night. A mosquito kept me up one of the nights I stayed.
No air conditioning although it was not needed if the door was opened, but then then some bugs got in. Not a lot of them just a few.

Overall I would stay there again

Room Tip: Get a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaAlajuela, Owner at Hotel Buena Vista, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
I am very sorry that somehow our shuttle was late. I assure you this is not a frequent event. Our policy is for the driver and vehicle to be in our entrance 10 minutes before departure. On rare occasions something is going to go wrong and in this case obviously it did. On the subject of screens, temperature and insects I would like to clarify a couple things. Costa Rica has many insects but altitude has a LOT to do with it. We are at 4500 feet and the number of insects here is a small fraction of the tropical jungle areas at sea level. Also, the temperature here is considerably cooler than the lowlands, perhaps 15-20 degrees F (9 to 12 C) cooler. Typically you will need to use the light blanket on the bed as the temperature at night is in the low to mid 60's F. (approx 18 C.) There are no seasons in Costa Rica so the temperature is constant year round. This guest mentions we need screens. You can be sure Hotel Buena Vista has screens on EVERY window in the hotel. This guest is referring to a lack of screen doors from your room onto the outside balcony. Our balcony doors are wood with glass panes and glass sidelights in an arch shape(basically French doors). We do not want to add screen doors because the screens will obstruct the amazing views from your room to the valley, mountains, the gardens, the pool etc. We do not want to compromise the views from the rooms with screen doors onto the balconies. Mosquitoes are almost unheard of here because of our altitude and the breeze. I have owned this hotel for 3 years and honestly I have never seen a mosquito yet. Our guests dine outside on the pool deck with no mosquitoes or biting insects. I also live in Florida where mosquitoes bites are very common. I am not saying we did not have a mosquito just that it is very uncommon, practically zero. Please visit us, you will not need insect repellent spray. I want to thank these guests for staying with us and I personally invite them back. Again, I apologize for the late shuttle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    126
    34
    14
    5
See reviews for
136
158
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redruth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The room when you walk is a delight, two big beds, a clean bathroom, nice shower, it's a good hotel. Outside there's a pool, a garden, a coffee walk, great views, it really is a good hotel and frankly could be a 3 1/2 star. We were let down by the food, being veggies we had a breakfast served with ham, even though we'd both had the veggie burger (same staff) for dinner. The waiter then very pointedly tried to find the reference to ham in the menu item (huevos rancheros) which was offensive on top of the 20 minute delay and their mistake. We didn't fancy what would follow so left. You should also bear in mind the food was the most expensive we found in Costa Rica, by a distance but then we avoided the big resort hotels, my guess is that was the Buena Vista's price point. It was telling as on the drive there (on a Sunday lunchtime) all the restaurants we passed were completely rammed) yet on arrival at the Buena Vista the restaurant was empty.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaAlajuela, Owner at Hotel Buena Vista, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
I'm sorry this guest was dissatisfied with our restaurant. Apparently he had a vegetarian dish at night and expected the waiters to remember this in the morning. This is really not a reasonable expectation. The hotel is full a lot and even with only 30 rooms we often serve 40 to 90 dinners (plus the bar and poolside guests). The waiters rotate shifts so chances are your waiter in the morning is not the same individual as the prior evening (but could be). We serve Juevos Rancheros with or without ham and a simple mistake was made by accidently serving this vegetarian guest ham. I am not sure of the ensuing conversation with the waiter but our policy with a food problem is to do whatever the guest wants, such as replace their meal etc. We don't argue with a guests about food or hopefully anything else. If this guest feels his service was not acceptable, I apologize. As to our restaurant being expensive, I do not agree. I am not sure where this guest ate which was so much cheaper? Costa Rica is by far the best country to visit in Central America but it is not cheap. Prices here are comparable to U.S.A. and Europe. Our dinner entrees run from $10 for Spaghetti Pomodoro to $20 for Filet Migon. Our side salads for example are not the usual iceberg lettuce with one stale crouton. A side salad here consists of lettuce, tomatoes, avocado, heart of palm, onion, carrot, cucumber etc. Also, we buy our meat and seafood from the MOST expensive provider in Costa Rica, the same company which supplies Marriot Four Seasons. I can get meat for a third the price we currently pay. We serve premium Gouda cheese at breakfast, four times the price of the local cheese. This guest complained that the breakfast bread was to sweet. He referred to it as "American bread". Well, I'm American so he is probably correct. The breakfast breads he did not care for are fresh baked Banana Bread, homemade Cinnamon Raisin buns and wheat toast. No place has more (or better) pastries than Europe so I am not sure what this guest is looking for? Lastly, the writer mentions we are not busy at lunch. This is correct but not due to price or quality. We are on top of a mountain off the main road. Our restaurant is not really public, more for guests of the hotel. We are in the vicinity of the famous "Poas" volcano also La Paz Waterfall Park, the Canopy (zip line) tours etc. Our guests do not typically stay around the hotel during the day. This is a very active area for sight seeing so almost all our guests leave the hotel for the entire day. Most of the popular attractions are about 40 minutes away with many restaurants right there, (even within the various parks). To drive back to the hotel would waste an hour and a half in the middle of the day plus gas, very inconvenient. We are packed for dinner and breakfast but are not convenient for lunch if you are touring the most popular attractions. I regret we did not satisfy this guest and hope he will return and try us again. We always strive to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here one night on a stopover from Puerto Jiminez. The hotel was recommended by Lyn of Casa Bambu Resort in the Osa Peninsula. The hotel was clean and beautiful. We stayed in the most expensive room (a villa) because everything else was booked. The room was so fantastic so I didn't mind the price.
We arrived late and left very early. I am bummed we didn't get to spend more time there. We did have dinner in the restaurant, and it was quite excellent.
We had to leave very early in the morning, before they served a continental breakfast for other guests. Hotel staff knew we had to leave prior and were kind enough to set out our very own continental breakfast complete with everything, fruit, pastries, OJ and coffee. It was such a nice touch and very thoughtful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We were only in Alajuela for one night, but our experience made us want to stay longer. The hotel had great views of San Jose and Alajuela and is only 15 mins from the airport. We met the owner and he was very helpful and accomodating. The room was beautiful, very Spanish-like. Not too much in the surrounding area but it is easy to get around. Food at the hotel was great, and the bed was the comfiest we had for the whole trip. Free shuttle to the airport which was great! They also provide tours that you can do in the surrounding attractions (which unfortunately we did not get to do). There is a small coffee trail that you can take around the property which was nice. We didn't stay in them, but they have villas on the property which looked magnificent, and had stunning views to the valley below. You can see Poas volcano from the front of the hotel as well. There is a small pool in the back which was nice as well.
We would definitely stay here again if we go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We are currently sitting by the pool here & it is perfect! This is the last night of our trip (San Jose Airport is only 10-15 mins away) and this is a fabulous ending! The rooms have recently been renovated and the whole property is gorgeous. We love how it feels so peaceful and elegant. We will for sure recommend this gem to anyone coming thru San Jose! (& breakfast is included)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have stayed here 4 times now in the hotel and will continue to use this as my first night after flying in to Costa Rica and as my last night before flying out of Costa Rica. The staff are very helpful and speak English. Some have worked here for years which shows me that they are treated well and like their job. This is a somewhat small establishment situated on the top of a hill with beautiful views of the city. The short cofffee trail is nice for stretching your legs and seeing some birds. I have not stayed in the new villas but they look exceptionally nice (and expensive). The hotel although not cheap is still a good value. They provide a shuttle to and from the airport ( from 5 am to 11 pm but check on the times). Food is good. They are doing some remodeling of the rooms so some will be more updated than others but all are good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had a wonderful experience staying here. We stayed in the budget room, which is simple but very clean and comfortable. If you'd like to spend more, the suites and villas look incredible. We had a delicious Costa Rican dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and loved the food. Wonderful, helpful staff. Perfect location for access to Alajuela, Sarchi, Volcan Poas, and La Paz. We enjoyed our evening out under the stars enjoying the spectacular view of the Alajuela/San Jose valley. The grounds are lovely and there is a short "coffee trail" that is definitely worth doing. The pool area is also very lovely.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buena Vista

Address: Across from catholic church, Pilas, Alajuela, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Buena Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comment ofter heard in this hotel is, "We feel like we are at home." This is exactly the impression the management and staff of the Buena Vista strive to create. We are high on the summit of a mountain with a climate of eternal spring yet only fifteen minutes drive from the International Airport below. We will pick you up there and show you the wonders of this exotic country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Alajuela
Hotel Buena Vista Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Buena Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.